We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fountain on Locust

3037 Locust, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Grand Center / Midtown)
314-535-7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,526 restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    112
    49
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

What a fabulous restaurant!! They have everything from handmade fountain sodas to unique cocktails as well as apps and excellent food!! The staff are outstanding and friendly. The atmosphere is comfortable and reminiscent of an “old" soda fountain hangout!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The food, the atmosphere, and the ice cream... all delicious! I highly recommend the coconut almond joy ice cream! Sometimes the wait is very long, whether you're waiting to be seated or waiting on a waiter to get to your table. Last time I was there, the waiter took our drink order... then forgot to bring them! But I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us (and your patience ;)! We appreciate you taking the time to post and hope you come back and see us the next time you're in the area. More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Sandwiches, soups, salads, and others, plus desserts that are yummy! I've had lunch or dinner here several times with family and everything has been excellent . The food has tasty little extras - had the pick two yesterday with pulled pork - great chutney - and a wonderful sweet potato/coconut/ginger soup. My daughter's chicken pesto sandwich was very good, too.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

So glad to hear your family are all fans of our menu! Thanks for coming in and taking the time to post about your experience. Come back soon! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Loved this place. Took my 8,9,10 yr old. The kids menu is brief, but really good. Everything is tasty with a twist. Our waitress, Lacey, was extremely patient. The kids loved her. The dessert options are too many! And all that we tried were great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

Thanks so much for coming in with your family and taking the time to post about your visit! We hope you all come back and see us again soon :) More

Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We came in search of ice cream yesterday and were not disappointed at all. It's not plain ol' ice cream, the menu is really creative and the main meals looked fab too, looking forward to going back to try them and of course some more ice cream! We tried to come today in fact but forgot they closed on Mondays!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

Thanks for coming in and posting about your visit! We look forward to having you back again soon to enjoy our made from scratch meal options too! More

Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife, my two children, ages 12 and 3, and I came here on Thursday night (more on that in a second). I ordered a brownie sundae in a cup. A homemade brownie, vanilla ice cream, hot fudge, and pecans in a coffee cup. It was really good. The brownie was hot and soft. My wife ordered the pineapple right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

Thanks so much for bringing your family in for dessert while you were in the area. We're sorry you had to rush your visit, but we do indeed have Burlesque Bingo the first Thursday of each month. We do hope you come back again for a longer visit the next time you're in town! More

Le Sueur
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were only in St Louis for a few hours and decided to stop based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere is art deco and the food is unique, who would have thought that apples go well in a grilled cheese?! It is not a big, and fancy, just fun and delicious. My family of 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

Thanks for bringing your family in and posting about everything you tried! We wish you lived closer too ;) We look forward to having you back as guests the next time you're in the area. More

Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Besides the location (some shady characters nearby), I loved this little place. The interior is fun, the ice cream is delicious, and the portions are large. I ordered a panini with a side of salad, and I could only eat half the sandwich and a bite of salad (I took home the rest for dinner). My young son had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you and your son enjoyed your lunch with us! Thanks for taking the time to post about your visit and we hope you will join us again the next time you're in the area! More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Four of us went after dinner at Blue Berry Hill to the Fountain for ice-cream. All of us had some form of a two scoop hot fudge sundae. What's unique is that they have a large variety of ice cream and toppings to choose from. The choices are great, but I think the serving sizes could be a little bigger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

Thanks so much for coming in for dessert with your four-some! We look forward to having you back to try out the rest of our menu :) More

St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My friend and I were in the area around the noon hour so we stopped in for lunch. Our service was excellent, and both of us really enjoyed our lunches. My friend got a soup/salad combo, while I opted for the Hot Roast Beef Melt and seasoned potato chips. Sadly we did not save room for dessert, so I want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlastl, Director of Sales at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review

So glad you and your friend stopped in for lunch and took the time to post about it. We look forward to having you back soon so you can try our amazing desserts too! :) More

Travelers who viewed Fountain on Locust also viewed

 

Been to Fountain on Locust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain on Locust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing