We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brick Oven

207 Center St, Hannibal, MO 63401-3529
573-221-1288
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Tue - Thu 4:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Tue - Sat 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Fri - Sat 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

Nice ambiance, very clean, excellent staff, but too overpriced for the casual traveler. $20 pizza was very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review

Sorry you felt $18.00 was expensive for a wood fired brick oven pizza with fresh never frozen toppings and hand made dough daily. Our small pizza is $9 and the large is 18.99. Pappa Johns and Domino's have $10 specials all the time and you get to take it home or have it delivered so you can eat it on... More

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

We were on our way to St. Louis last weekend and needed to stop somewhere to eat. Looked up restaurants on Trip Advisor--and, as usual, TA doesn't do me wrong! We just ordered a large pizza, half pepperoni, half meatballs. It was delicious. And I'm NOT a pizza eater--I hate "chain" pizza. I will only eat private, "mom & pop-restaurant"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review

Thank you More

Hannibal, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I've had numerous friends and relatives who have told me over time that I need to try The Brick Oven. For as long as this restaurant has been in Hannibal, I had never been there — until tonight! My wife and I decided to do something different than the usual, so we decided to check it out. As soon as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
forsyth, mo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We came there Tuesday evening Aug 5th with another couple. A local said she had some not so good news about it so I went on line to see reviews, should have listened to the local. We arrived a little after 5 and host was on cell phone we asked if we could set he said no so finally after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review

We are not perfect but this scenario did not happen. Another questionable review from a first time trip advisor. More

Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stopped here for supper based upon TA reviews. We were not disappointed. The place has nice decor...sort of a warehouse with Italian decor. Clean and comfortable. The waitstaff was very friendly. We were there on a weeknight so service was fast. There were several other patrons...maybe 35% full...not bad for 7pm on a Wednesday. We ordered a small pizza... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place is trying to be a restaurant and they are almost there. We just kind of chuckled through the entire time. The staff: The staff is friendly, but not very professional. They need to put a door or curtain in between the kitchen and the dinning room. We got to enjoy the kitchens conversation through our entire meal. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review

Not sure which of these supposed issues to respond to....I'll just say that all our menu items are prepared fresh daily...homemade meatballs, Italian sausage, freshly prepared chicken breast sautéed in olive oil, white wine, fresh herbs, and fresh garlic...not from a jar but freshly peeled whole garlic. Pizza dough made fresh daily and hand tossed and our pizza sauce starts... More

Roanoke, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The evening meal was a shared pizza from the Brick Oven. We were stuffed before we got to the end, so bring your appetites. The Italian food smelled wonderful as it passed by our table to other diners...and their oohs and aahs made us know it is an excellent place to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we continue to do our best everyday to satisfy every guest. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We really loved our pizza! I was excited to have the roasted garlic cause most places don't have it on the menu and it was just ok. The atmosphere was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linn Creek, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the best we had in the town , wonderful food , great service, and really beautiful place inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I respect other people's right to differing opinions, but it's hard to imagine anyone giving a poor rating to the Brick Oven! We, too, have traveled extensively and have spent a great deal of time in Italy. The pizza we had last night at the Brick Oven ranks alongside the best pizza we've ever had in Grava, Tuscany a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and we are so happy to hear that we are doing a good job. I am returning to Italy in September and hope to return with fresh ideas and special wines. I hope you will return and allow us to serve you again. Your business is greatly appreciated! More

Travelers who viewed The Brick Oven also viewed

 

Been to The Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brick Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing