We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach and Horses

English
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
01923774457
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Coach and Horses and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Families with children
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 102 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 35
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Disappointed :((

Normally go to the Artichoke where I find service and food to be excellent but they were filming on the day of our visit so we popped to the coach. Service as ever was amazing. Food.. awful. Two burger meals were the buns were tough as nails. Third diner had ribs and they were lovely. Spent £80... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
MrC1977
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I have been to the “The Coach and Horses” several times before and have always had a pleasant experience whether I was having a meal or a casual drink with friends, unfortunately this was not one of those times. I booked a table for 1pm on Good Friday as a treat for my girlfriend’s birthday and my parent’s anniversary. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

There was just two of us and we popped in for lunch, the welcome was excellent and we were served really quickly. We both had the Cajun chicken wraps with chips, top class. the food was well cooked and generous in portion size. The staff really did seem to like to serve you and were happy to inform us of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Normally go to the Artichoke where I find service and food to be excellent but they were filming on the day of our visit so we popped to the coach. Service as ever was amazing. Food.. awful. Two burger meals were the buns were tough as nails. Third diner had ribs and they were lovely. Spent £80 for a lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I have been here a few times now; they food is fresh and tasty, but the serviced is second to none. A real effort is made to ensure that the kids are looked after, whilst they remain part of the restaurant experience. The C&H cannot be faulted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Had a very nice meal here with friends on a Friday night. Food was really good and the service was excellent! I will definitely be going back and would fully recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Had a lovely sunday lunch with my partner and 7 year old daughter great atmosphere good food great alll round cant wait for the new pub to open at patchetts green

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I have been to this pub before and enjoyed the experience very much. On this visit I was very disappointed. The food was ok and the staff very friendly. However on one of the coldest days of this Winter their heating was not working and there was no form of heating in the whole pub. It was absolutely freezing! Everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ana R, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is only due to the feedback of our customers that we are able to detect and correct any shortcomings that may impact our guests journey in a negative way. We apologise for the heating issue you have experienced at The Coach and Horses. There was... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My wife and I often struggle for places in and around the Watford area so I'm pleased we stumbled upon this place. Was a quiet Tues lunchtime so the test will be when it's busy but it was very friendly, staff appeared very genuine and our fish and chips were delicious and fresh. Will be back for sure and now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We have used the sister restaurant to the Coach and Horses - the Artichoke - on a very regular basis over the last six months. But when I phoned to book for a Sunday lunch they said they were full and I decided to give the Coach and Horse a try. Very pleased I did. From the moment I phoned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Dinner for 6 last night and it was good. Food good but slight moan, why cant you do a burger medium rare? Table at 6pm and service was ok as they got busy. I think sometimes people expect too much for what is a nice pub, good staff and quallity. Value, service and local we will continue to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Croxley Green
  • Phone Number: 01923774457

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?