We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach and Horses

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
01923774457
Website
Add hours for The Coach and Horses and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Families with children
Outdoor seating
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 96 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 31
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Big Disappointment

I have been to this pub before and enjoyed the experience very much. On this visit I was very disappointed. The food was ok and the staff very friendly. However on one of the coldest days of this Winter their heating was not working and there was no form of heating in the whole pub. It was... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 6, 2015
JoBloggs771
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I have been to this pub before and enjoyed the experience very much. On this visit I was very disappointed. The food was ok and the staff very friendly. However on one of the coldest days of this Winter their heating was not working and there was no form of heating in the whole pub. It was absolutely freezing! Everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ana R, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is only due to the feedback of our customers that we are able to detect and correct any shortcomings that may impact our guests journey in a negative way. We apologise for the heating issue you have experienced at The Coach and Horses. There was... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My wife and I often struggle for places in and around the Watford area so I'm pleased we stumbled upon this place. Was a quiet Tues lunchtime so the test will be when it's busy but it was very friendly, staff appeared very genuine and our fish and chips were delicious and fresh. Will be back for sure and now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We have used the sister restaurant to the Coach and Horses - the Artichoke - on a very regular basis over the last six months. But when I phoned to book for a Sunday lunch they said they were full and I decided to give the Coach and Horse a try. Very pleased I did. From the moment I phoned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Dinner for 6 last night and it was good. Food good but slight moan, why cant you do a burger medium rare? Table at 6pm and service was ok as they got busy. I think sometimes people expect too much for what is a nice pub, good staff and quallity. Value, service and local we will continue to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Good but not a real pub anymore, more like another eating pub shame as they do have the artichoke for this but this is meant to be the family pub..... the other is very corporate shame both on the green.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We came here as a group of 16 (7 adults and 8 children) and had a fantastic meal. The children (aged 4-6) were in heaven in the adventure playground until the meals were served - the food was so tasty they all sat perfectly well behaved. The service was friendly and extremely helpful (especially concerning the children). We will definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

I went there with my friends and have to say the food was amazing and the staff was nice and friendly. Wold highly recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The 'Coach & Horses' is certainly the place to dine. Good food, great selection, friendly service, and nice surroundings. I had a Bacon & Beef Pie special, which was delicious. I will definitely recommend to my family, and friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Our team from work chose this restaurant for our Xmas lunch. We phoned in advance and the staff were very friendly and advised us to pre order to save time once we arrived (we had a maximum of 2 hours only). We arrived to a lovely looking oldy worldy pub that was very snug and inviting. The waitress was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ana R, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear Lana, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughtful and honest feedback. We would like to start by apologising for your food experience. At the Coach and Horses, we strive to achieve great levels of customer service as well as great value food. It is deeply upsetting that on this occasion we missed the opportunity... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked for a largish party (20 or so in total) for a Christmas lunch and couldn't have been happier...we were given the use of the whole of the restaurant where the kids were able to be as loud as they like...the food was awesome and the service truly outstanding and ,refreshingly, the service charge is left to your discretion (which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Croxley Green
  • Phone Number: 01923774457

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?