We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at The Chequers Inn

$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Froggatt edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
+44 (0)1433 630231
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Restaurant at The Chequers Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 96 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 40
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Christmas meal

Food ok apart from the vegetables were not cooked to my liking. Sprouts seemed to taste of mustard. They could do with a seating area for relaxation after the meal for guests staying at the hotel.

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 21, 2015
Cheryle A
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

From booking over the telephone to paying the bill, the staff were superb and extremely friendly. The menu was superb. Both the AA rosette offerings and the pub classics - you couldn't ask for more in a country pub. We opted for the Sunday roast - wow! The veg was fantastic, well cooked meat, tasty gravy and an amazing Yorkshire... More 

Helpful?
Thank vix758
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Took advantage of a fabulous offer of £100 bed, breakfast, and evening meal to the value of £25 each. Food was exceptional, head chef Lindsey is so talented. Menu isn't huge but caters for most tastes. All food is cooked fresh to order and most produce is locally sourced. Atmosphere of pub is relaxed, warm and inviting, owner is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank kjclegg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would thoroughly recommend eating here. The food is outstanding. Service was very attentive and nothing was too much. The politeness of the staff was lovely to see. Loved it all.

Helpful?
Thank MerylJane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Food ok apart from the vegetables were not cooked to my liking. Sprouts seemed to taste of mustard. They could do with a seating area for relaxation after the meal for guests staying at the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryle A
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review.Sorry you were not fans of our vegetables. We do have plans in the pipeline to put in some easy seating...watch this space! More 

sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Called in last Saturday after a walk round Longshaw. We pleased to find it wasn't too busy. I had a halibut dish off the specials board which was absolutely delicious. DH had had the Steak and Ale pie which was also good. 2 glasses of wine and 2 coffees finished off our lunch. Lovely.

Helpful?
Thank yorkshireterrier18
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to review your visit - pleased you enjoyed it! More 

Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

We've just dined at The Chequers Inn for a family birthday celebration. Front of house Debbie, together with her incredibly polite, attentive team and excellent chef Lindsay, made for a delicious meal, quality food, in a relaxed atmosphere. We had a light lunch last week and dinner with friends last Friday evening. Very good value for money if you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank alir0se
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you so much! Your comments are very much appreciated and, as always, are circulated amongst the staff. Thank you for your support - we dont always get it right but like to think we are good at what we do! Look forward to welcoming you back 3 times next week!! More 

Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

My friend and i had lunch here on a Saturday, staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Portions were small and food very average. They are very arrogant and have a very high opinion of themselves. I see from the other reviews that they don't like any negative feedback and do not accept what customers say and i found that same attitude... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pummy123
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

I find this review somewhat nasty. Unfortunately you are not specific in what you were unhappy about, so am unable to comment. We are generally very proud of our staff, who work very hard to produce food and service that is the best we can do. You are correct that we dont like negative comments - who would. We dont... More 

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

If you're looking for substandard food served very slowly by surly staff in a beautiful location then the Chequers Inn is the place for you. The interior was cosy but and the menu had some fancy dishes as well as "pub classics". Myself and 3 friends all ordered a main course. After waiting 40 minutes for our food I asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank sekret_skwirrel
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read your comments. As all our dishes are cooked to order, it may take a little while for your food to be served, especially if you opt to go straight to a main course. Our burgers are 100%rump steak and are very thick, consequently this dish does take longer to cook than almost anything else... More 

Herrington-Burn, Tyne Wear
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

we stayed for a night here and this place is a gem of a find, from the moment we walked in the welcome was great, the room was so nice and the food for our evening meal was great, just wish i could have tried all the menu, breakfast was super and it set us up for the day, next... More 

Helpful?
Thank tommy_transit
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your very kind comments - as always, these have been circulated amongst our staff. More 

LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

My wife and I took my father to the Chequers for lunch last thursday ( 24th sept 15) It was my first visit to this inn for several years ;having been a regular in the 70's and 80's We were all very disappointed.The Inn has retained its outward charm and the interior is spacious and well furnished . The problem... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELLINGMAN538
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at Restaurant at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read your comments following your visit. We try very hard to offer a diverse and interesting menu, but apologise if you were not happy on this occasion. More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Chequers Inn also viewed

Froggatt, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Froggatt edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Froggatt
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1433 630231

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 61
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant at The Chequers Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?