We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Splashing Rock Restaurant

2862 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616
(218) 834-3796
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 24 restaurants in Two Harbors
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Most recent review
- Jul 25, 2014
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    27
    7
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

Location, location, location. This location is great! The dining room has spectacular views of Lake Superior with a great deck overlooking the shoreline. We were staying at the resort so we decided to eat dinner there on our last night. My husband never got the soup he ordered but the rest of the food was good. Dining room was understaffed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had duck bites and walleye. Wife had duck. Felt terribly ill the entire next 24 hrs. Same owners as one we loved the night prior but no where near same quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Herb G, I am sorry to hear that your wife did not feel well after eating her Duck Bites, I know those are very rich and with both duck and bacon they have a high fat content but although we have served dozens this weekend we have had no other complaints. We also have looked at the product and... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Save your money and eat in Two Harbors. Way over priced for the service you receive...waited 40 minutes for wine (got my food before my drink), soup came with the meal instead of before...never got bread and when we asked for a credit we got "well bread is just something we give out." Oh, but it's included in the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Pam N, I apologize for the horrible service last Sunday, we clearly did not plan well or work as a team to take care of our customers that day and I am sorry. I would really like to make it up to you if you contact me at nick@grandsuperior.com I would love to make it worth your while to... More

Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had great food both times we ate here-walleye and wild rice dishes and breakfast also very tasty, loved the lake views too. Our server both times was Cara, at the first meal she told us that she was" officially only one working" -- not sure what that meant but saw 2 other servers taking care of guests. She forgot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear LaRee H, Thank you for the positive comments on the food, we do get a lot of great feedback on breakfast. I am so sorry about the service last Sunday, we clearly did not anticipate how busy we were, and the AC was out so it was not a good day in the restaurant. Please feel free to contact... More

Andover, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had dinner at the splashing rock restaurant on June 27, 2014. The salmon cooked on a plank was very good, cooked to perfection and very favorable. The broiled walleye was bland and not very appealing visually. The rice served with the meal was under seasoned. The vegetables served with the meal were over seasoned to the point of not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dave H, Thank you for sharing your feedback as it is the only way to truly know how we are doing! I am pleased you enjoyed the salmon and can only truly apologize for the service last Sunday, We know we did not properly staff for that day and by the time we could respond/adjust it was too late.... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place never disappoints! Amazing views of Lake Superior and the food is incredible. I recommend ordering the crab stuffed rainbow trout. One of the best meals I've ever enjoyed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear lpashca, I am so glad you found something you really enjoyed on our menu and even more thankful you took to Trip Advisor to share your experience. Please come try something off of our new summer seasonal menu that starts this week or just say hi! Nick More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I usually don't eat at hotels or resorts, but the selection of good restaurants is lackluster on the North Shore. We always have a good view, good atmosphere and good food. We have been coming for 10 years. We went for Mother's day brunch, wow was that ever a delicious experience. The staff made me feel very special and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a late dinner. We were originally going to try the Rustic Inn but it was closed at a little after 8:00. We saw that the Splashing Rock Restaurant was still open. We were pleasantly surprised! The bartender/waitress was so friendly and had great recommendations regarding the menu. We tried the duck appetizers which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cameron
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoy eating at Splashing Rock restaurant. It is handy when staying at Grand Superior Lodge. The food is great and we feel reasonably priced. Great variety in the menu. Watching the hummingbirds is a plus....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Karenskaar, We truly appreciate your feedback and the time you took to share your experience. Hope to see you soon! Nick More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The atmosphere is great but the food leaves little to be desired. My husband had walleye, full of bones and very bland in flavor. I had the strudel. Doughy and full of onions. Would have loved another round of drinks but never had the opportunity because our server didn't stop back until we were ready to go. Not what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Bethanneplattner, I am sorry for the experience you had from a service and quality standpoint. Please know that we have made some changes in our staffing and our chef received your feedback. Also if you contact me at nick@grandsuperior.com I would like to make it up to you if you will give us another chance. Nick More

Travelers who viewed Splashing Rock Restaurant also viewed

Been to Splashing Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splashing Rock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing