We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Splashing Rock Restaurant

2862 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616
(218) 834-3796
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 24 restaurants in Two Harbors
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
6 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    30
    7
    20
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

We had a family celebration dinner here and it was definitely a mixed experience. The food: fairly expensive which is fine if the quality is there. Some our entrees were good, some not so good and didn't merit the price. Service: friendly for sure, but salad dishes were still on the table when dessert was being served. I actually had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

Recently my partner and I were at the Splashing Rock and had a wonderful time, the service was exceptional, the servers were professional, and in particular one host Ethen was spectacular! We were attending a wedding and Ethen went out of his way to be sure we were happy with the accommodations, running upstairs several times, checking in with us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chisago City, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 NEW

See our Grand Superior review; our waitress, Page was wonderful! The food - a delicious pizza - and drink were grand!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Britt, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I ate here on Wednesday Aug 6, 2014 (my Birthday). This was our first time dining at this location. We waited 5 minutes to be seated, although the restaurant was not busy. We discussed leaving while we waited (wish we had). Our server was a bit sassy, seemed overburdened, and was not particularly friendly, attentive or helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
old fort
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stopped here to get an early dinner. The outside patio offers amazing views of the lake. We almost didn't stay because the menu is expensive but hey, we were on vacation and all of us wanted some fresh Walleye. OMG that pan fried walleye was some of the best fish we have ever had. The service was great and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Location, location, location. This location is great! The dining room has spectacular views of Lake Superior with a great deck overlooking the shoreline. We were staying at the resort so we decided to eat dinner there on our last night. My husband never got the soup he ordered but the rest of the food was good. Dining room was understaffed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had duck bites and walleye. Wife had duck. Felt terribly ill the entire next 24 hrs. Same owners as one we loved the night prior but no where near same quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Herb G, I am sorry to hear that your wife did not feel well after eating her Duck Bites, I know those are very rich and with both duck and bacon they have a high fat content but although we have served dozens this weekend we have had no other complaints. We also have looked at the product and... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Save your money and eat in Two Harbors. Way over priced for the service you receive...waited 40 minutes for wine (got my food before my drink), soup came with the meal instead of before...never got bread and when we asked for a credit we got "well bread is just something we give out." Oh, but it's included in the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Pam N, I apologize for the horrible service last Sunday, we clearly did not plan well or work as a team to take care of our customers that day and I am sorry. I would really like to make it up to you if you contact me at nick@grandsuperior.com I would love to make it worth your while to... More

Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had great food both times we ate here-walleye and wild rice dishes and breakfast also very tasty, loved the lake views too. Our server both times was Cara, at the first meal she told us that she was" officially only one working" -- not sure what that meant but saw 2 other servers taking care of guests. She forgot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear LaRee H, Thank you for the positive comments on the food, we do get a lot of great feedback on breakfast. I am so sorry about the service last Sunday, we clearly did not anticipate how busy we were, and the AC was out so it was not a good day in the restaurant. Please feel free to contact... More

Andover, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had dinner at the splashing rock restaurant on June 27, 2014. The salmon cooked on a plank was very good, cooked to perfection and very favorable. The broiled walleye was bland and not very appealing visually. The rice served with the meal was under seasoned. The vegetables served with the meal were over seasoned to the point of not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Splashing Rock Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dave H, Thank you for sharing your feedback as it is the only way to truly know how we are doing! I am pleased you enjoyed the salmon and can only truly apologize for the service last Sunday, We know we did not properly staff for that day and by the time we could respond/adjust it was too late.... More

Travelers who viewed Splashing Rock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Splashing Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splashing Rock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing