We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plaza Morena

160 26th St. NE, Owatonna, MN 55060
+1 507-413-0819
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Owatonna
Price range: $4 - $20
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Good for: Families with children
Description: Mexican, Tex Mex and American Restaurant
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Mexican, Tex Mex and American Restaurant
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

we have been here many times, always very good owner is very friendly and usually is on premises good selection of tap beers and wine nice bar area and also 2 outside ares to dine one of our favorites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owatonna, MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We always enjoy our meals at the Plaza - friendly atmosphere - family oriented. Fun place to have a meal and cocktail!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Just because the menu says one price, the actual amount on bill may be higher and they don't care. We asked about the difference and they really couldn't explain clearly as to the variance and would not change the bill. We paid and left and will not return again. Wish the old Plaza was still open

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very accommodating & wee have some picky eaters! Some in our family just don't prefer onions & spicy food but enjoy the Mexican favors, they live near the restaurant & we live in Chicago so we love it all! The server was more than accommodating & visited our table several times, the owner stopped by to check on us &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We generally go to Plaza with family and I have never had a bad experience there. We are usually a large group with small children. We order a variety of different dishes from Tex-Mex to American and I have never heard anyone from our group complain. The service is always excellent as well. I would also add that the new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were here about 1 yr ago, and thought we would try again, being our son wanted to try it. 6 people in our group. 1 had crack in glass of beer, that he could see easily before taking a drink. Food service was slow and not all served at same time. 2 children, and they were served 5-10 min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jose H, Owner at Plaza Morena, responded to this review

We really apologize that you got a cracked glass, sometimes glasses like plates get cracked and is our foul that sometimes we don't detect this kind of problems right away, specially when we are very busy, but we really appreciate your comment. Thanks. José Herrera. We will be more careful. More

Owatonna, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I expected it to be FANTASTIC because it was number 1 on this website. I have never been there until a week ago and I will never go there again. My friends who have went there a few times said that I had to try their new restaurant ( They weren't to fond of the old one I guess )... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jose H, Owner at Plaza Morena, responded to this review

I'm really sorry to here that you had a bad experience in our restaurant, I hope you can change your mind and visit us again. We are working hard to be more productive and make as much positive and happy experiences. Our goal is to offer you the best experience, not the opposite. José Herrera. More

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The fajita burrito was phenomenal...although it was big enough for two people! The staff was attentive and friendly. The restaurant (and restrooms) was clean and cheerful. I will definitely go back to try the rest of the items on their extensive menu!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chaska, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have been going to Plaza Morena since it first opened south of Owatonna. Now that they have a wonderful new Plaza Morena north of Owatonna, we are happy to say it is even better due to the atmosphere and space. Of course, the Mexican food is as always THE BEST! I normally order Chicken enchiladas or Vallarta Especial and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a great dinner with friends, the food and the service was great! Plaza fajitas are fantastic and our server Kami did a great job, I look forward to stopping again the next time we are in owatonna.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Plaza Morena also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Morena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Morena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing