We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackwater Lounge

231 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
218 740 0436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Black Water Lounge is Duluth's premiere martini lounge. With a full bar, hand-crafted cocktails, exquisite lounge food, live jazz music and lady's night, Black Water is the finest upscale martini bar in the Duluth-Superior area. Black Water Lounge is located in Duluth's Old Downtown and was once the home of the Black Bear Lounge in the historic Greysolon Plaza. Host an event at Black Water's Manhattan Room - perfecy for Anniversary Parties, Engagement Parties, Birthdays & Corporate Gatherings! Rent the entire lounge on a Sunday for your larger group!
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Black Water Lounge is Duluth's premiere martini lounge. With a full bar, hand-crafted cocktails, exquisite lounge food, live jazz music and lady's night, Black Water is the finest upscale martini bar in the Duluth-Superior area. Black Water Lounge is located in Duluth's Old Downtown and was once the home of the Black Bear Lounge in the historic Greysolon Plaza. Host an event at Black Water's Manhattan Room - perfecy for Anniversary Parties, Engagement Parties, Birthdays & Corporate Gatherings! Rent the entire lounge on a Sunday for your larger group!
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    28
    20
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Chose this restaurant based on a local's recommendation, but regretted it. Ingredients were missing out of my meal. The service was extremely slow, and not very friendly. Someone in my group ordered a "strawberry salad." It literally came with 2 small slices of strawberry on it. When she asked if she could have more strawberries in her salad, the waiter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your honesty and review of Black Woods Grill & Bar. We greatly appreciate your feedback from your experience. Our mission is to exceed every guests' expectations and sincerely would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for your review. More

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Okay so I went to a birthday party, I showed up like two hours later with a crew of four. We went into the bar area and I ordered a total of 4 drinks for $40 (hey actually it's not as bad as I thought it sounded except all the drinks were weak tasting, but whatever). My friend, the birthday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for your honesty. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our Director of Operations, Julie Thoreson, would like to speak with you directly in regards to your experience. Can you please provide us with your phone number? Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to speaking with you soon Sincerely,... More

Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I always make a point to come here when I'm in Duluth. Come during happy hour for a great deal on the BEST martinis I've ever had!!! If you like spicy try the "pool boy" but honestly all the martinis are SOoo good. The bacon wrapped dates are worth ordering (yummy). The atmosphere makes it really special. I love when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! We greatly appreciate your business to Black Water Lounge. We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Duluth! Thank you! More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Was up from Minneapolis for a quick getaway and stumbled upon this gem. Excellent food and even better service. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We are so excited to have you back to Duluth soon - thank you for visiting Black Water lounge! More

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a really nice place to have in Duluth and is quite unique vs other places in Duluth. Presentation of the food and beverage is very cool and classy. Live music is always good. We always order a few appetizers to share and have never been disappointed. My favorite is the tenderloin medallions, although not quite as good this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Clarksville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at Blackwater. We were unsure where to go when we arrived. No signs saying where to sit or if someone will seat you. We had 3 different waitresses in the course of an hour. One seemed offended when we would ask for something of another waitress. She was a bit cold to us and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Black Water Lounge. We greatly appreciate your honesty and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Blackwater Lounge is a great Martini bar. They have all types of Martinis to offer. The food is great and the atmosphere is superb. Perfect place to relax with friends and listen to music. our favorite was the cucumber martini and the chocolate martini.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of Black Water Lounge! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Bartlett, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Blackwater has a great atmosphere and friendly staff while still having a sophisticated yet casual vibe. Nice place to have some drinks and unwind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Black Water Lounge. We greatly appreciate your feedback and comments. Our entire staff looks forward to having you back at the lounge again soon! More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This establishment is always fun to come to. They have great service and food. Bathrooms, however, could use more regular cleanings. But I will continue to visit this lounge...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at Black Water Lounge again soon. More

Hermantown, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The atmosphere is a lot of fun, and the service was great. Black water is a great place to go for a night out on the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you at Black Water Lounge again soon! More

Been to Blackwater Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwater Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing