We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toasted Oak Grill & Market

27790 Novi Rd, The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, Novi, MI 48377
(248) 277-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 166 Restaurants in Novi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reserve with OpenTable
Toasted Oak Grill & Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $30
Hours:
Sun 7:00 am - 11:30 pm
Mon - Thu 6:30 am - 11:30 pm
Fri 6:30 am - 12:00 pm
Sat 7:00 am - 12:00 pm
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Voted "2011 Top 10 Best New Restaurants of Detroit" by Hour Magazine readers "Handsomely presented and well-executed dishes." - Sylvia Rector, Detroit Free Press Toasted Oak’s cozy dining room offers an exceptional restaurant experience highlighting locally sourced, quality ingredients - from fresh fish to wild morel mushrooms. Signature menu items include Chef Grostick’s House-made Charcuterie Platter with pickled vegetables & mustards, Faygo Root Beer braised short rib and the award winning Porchetta. The inviting space features a sophisticated décor of rustic indulgence created by noted restaurant designer David Ashen, plus a spacious outdoor patio
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW via mobile

This looks like a cool and hip place. Good for drinks, grab a meal, hang with friends, but if you have a have gluten and shellfish allergy. Not good at all. Only a couple things on the menu I could eat. Had the fries, Kielbasa, tomato salad, and veggies. I asked if all the food was gluten free and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Toasted Oak is one of my favorite restaurants in Novi. The service the wine the food all good. Can't go wrong here. A bit loud and not suited for kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lebanon, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Looking on line and at the design, I expected a really good appealing meal. I had 'fresh fish'. It was so fresh it was not above room temperature. It was cooked but cooled. The portion was minimal and the sides were non-existent. We ordered some appetizers, or I would have left hungry. We got no bread until we asked. Once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelsea M, General Manager at Toasted Oak Grill & Market, responded to this review

William, I'm so sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We love our decor and our eclectic atmosphere but we always want it to be our food an service that really leaves our guests with a lasting impression. We never want a guest to leave feeling as if they did not get their money's worth. I hope that maybe you will... More

Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had dinner here recently while visiting friends in the area. On the plus side it is much, much better than your standard hotel restaurant, which usually serves grossly overpriced and poorly executed fare. They also have a policy of offering wine at retail pricing plus a corking fee, which is a welcome departure from the standard practice of inflating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelsea M, General Manager at Toasted Oak Grill & Market, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate all the positive things you had to say about our restaurant and we are always ready and willing to learn from our mistakes. We will definitely take a look at our sangria recipe and see what we can do to tweak it. We are disappointed you left feeling like your experience didn't... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Loved our late night/early morning visits to Toasted Oak last weekend. Great champagne selection and prices, along with a Boursin on the cheese plate that was phenomenal. Chicken and Waffles in the morning and a Brunch BLT with pork belly was delicious. Great service. Love the selection in the wine shoppe!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelsea M, General Manager at Toasted Oak Grill & Market, responded to this review

Thank you, Susan! We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us! More

Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here on a Friday night. The food is mostly locally sourced and wonderfully fresh. Nice presentation and great flavors. Really nice appetizer menu. Try the smoked fish spread. Very nice. There is also a nice selection of wines. It was quite busy and service was a bit slow. We were okay with that since the four... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
732 helpful votes 732 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great breakfast place, great service, cool venue and a very solid dinner place as well. I highly recommend it...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have to admit that the food was wonderful, but the noise level makes it difficult to hear others at the table. However, don't let this discourage you....maybe it's just me! Give it a try, and be sure to grab a nice bottle of wine on the way in!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We went here for something different than the norm...and could not have been happier. The farm to table approach is outstanding. The fresh green, yellow, red tomato with fresh cheese salad was incredible. Between the fish, the steak, and the chicken...there was not a single bad meal at our table of 5. The wait staff is knowledgable, friendly and kind...well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Love this place! Been twice now and have been so impressed with the food - some of it (all of it?) locally sourced). Wish they had a cocktail/martini menu. Had their burger and french onion soup and cheese board both times I went and it was all SO good! Love the ambiance, dark, with a roaring fireplace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Toasted Oak Grill & Market, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn: Thanks so much for coming to The Baronette again! We really appreciate your lovely review. The french onion soup is one of my favorites as well. We'll definitely consider adding a martini menu. We looking forward to seeing you on your third trip! Take care, Kimberly Greene General Manager More

Travelers who viewed Toasted Oak Grill & Market also viewed

 

Been to Toasted Oak Grill & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toasted Oak Grill & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing