We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 89 Grand Haven Restaurants

The Grill Room at The Kirby House

2 Washington, Grand Haven, MI 49417
+1 616-846-3299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #23 of 89 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Price range: $5 - $40
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harbor Drive
Description: The Kirby House is the place to meet and eat in Grand Haven. A community favorite for excellent food, live entertainment, and simple relaxation with friends and family. Formerly a historic hotel of note, The Kirby House retains its old world charm, while providing all the pleasantries of new world fare and hospitality. Within walking distance of the shores of Lake Michigan, The Kirby House transcends the level of simple restaurant, and is the destination in Grand Haven for all things fun. The primarily American influenced menu is incredibly diverse and is exemplary in its attention to culinary detail and passion. Good times and laughter are located within.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My wife & I ate at the "Kirby Grill Room" on Dec. 8, 2014. Understand that the Kirby Grill Room is in a separate room in the Kirby Grill. Much more upscale than the Kirby Grill area. We had the lamb shank and a manhattan steak. Both were great, cooked to perfection. The waiter service was also the best. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us earlier this month. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Zionsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

The Grill Room is a high end dining experience compared to Kirby House. If you are looking for something nicer and good chops this is where to go in Grand Haven. The food is prepared well and the service is excellent. I have been here several times and it never disappoints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us another review. It is great to hear you enjoy our restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The specials are generally the best value, so each of us had one. My wife's risotto was average: not hot enough, and a bit bland. My fish was excellent, light and flaky with a nice tropical salsa. The server was good, and very polite. He was a little too busy, though, and spent more time on his large tables, making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review. If you are ever not fully satisfied with one of your dishes please don't hesitate to alert someone so we can make your visit better. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Wayland, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We had a wonderful dining experience at the Kirby this past weekend. We sat out on the back porch and watched the traffic and people go passed as we ate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

It is great to hear you enjoyed your labor day weekend with us. Thank you for writing a review, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Really enjoyed the food. Liked sitting in the back area where sides are opened and exposed and you can feel the breeze from being outside without the worry of the sun beating down on you or getting wet if it rains. Great sangrias!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

It is great to hear about your recent dining experience with us, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Thanks for writing a review. More 

Oswego, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Dinner for 4 adults in very cramped booth. Other party member's food was mediocre. Mine was awful. Steak was over cooked to shoe leather. I sent it back and server acknowledged that it had been prepared improperly. I had to wait for a new meal while others in my party were nearly finished when it arrived. Felt rushed the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your poor dining experience with us. We work hard to prepare food how are guests ask. Sorry to hear that we didn't do that with your steak. We would also never want someone to feel rushed. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. More 

Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here last night. Lovely restaurant, fine dining. Even though it was a Monday evening, not usually a busy night, the restaurant was full. Great buzzy atmosphere. Good place for family, couples, and groups. Lovely food- a more European menu than many American restaurants- a nice change. Very good service too. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are glad to hear about your experience dining with us. We hope you'll stop by again if you are ever back in town. More 

Spring Lake, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Avoid this restaurant. The bouncers are not trained. A bouncer dragged a woman up two flights of stairs who was carrying a glass of water coming out of a bathroom on August 1. The police were called and the woman suffered multiple bruises. The bar is too crowded and the staff is not trained to manage guests nor knows how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Took my Wife & two family members to the Grill Room for my Wife's Birthday. Excellent food & very nice dining experience! We split Caesar & iceberg lettuce salads and salmon & prime rib king cut entrées. Horseradish sauce & sautéed mushrooms w/ the prime rib were excellent! Drinks & wine were very good too! Only negative, it took awhile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us. We are glad to hear you had a great experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. More 

Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Pretty good food on the higher end of the scale of both price and quality. Atmosphere was classy and quiet which we really enjoyed. Service was TOP NOTCH! Over all I would say you get elegant food ant a fair price. I would definitely go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time and meal with us, we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for taking time out of your day to write a review. More 

Travelers who viewed The Grill Room at The Kirby House also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to The Grill Room at The Kirby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grill Room at The Kirby House

Address: 2 Washington, Grand Haven, MI 49417
Phone Number: +1 616-846-3299
Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Ottawa County  >  Grand Haven
Open Hours:
Sunday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 5 - 40
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Grill Room at The Kirby House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?