We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oma's Restaurant

One Covered Bridge Lane, Frankenmuth, MI
989-652-6627
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 38 restaurants in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: American, German, Hamburgers, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: Oma's Restaurant is a quaint Bavarian theme Restaurant serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Oma's (Meaning Grandma's) is located within the Bavarian Inn Lodge and hosts locals and day trip visitors as well as hotel guests. It is a "best kept" secret for having short or no waits at lunch time in Frankenmuth when other restaurants are lined out the door. American and German fare are served and pizza is made from scratch to your liking! Enjoy some of the most FUN servers in the region with great food.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: Oma's Restaurant is a quaint Bavarian theme Restaurant serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Oma's (Meaning Grandma's) is located within the Bavarian Inn Lodge and hosts locals and day trip visitors as well as hotel guests. It is a "best kept" secret for having short or no waits at lunch time in Frankenmuth when other restaurants are lined out the door. American and German fare are served and pizza is made from scratch to your liking! Enjoy some of the most FUN servers in the region with great food.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    131
    58
    21
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southgate, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

Oma's is a wonderful restaurant located at Bavarian Inn.A menu full of delicious food ,it reminded me of being back in germany.The staff was very helpful and friendly,it was like you were dealing with family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton, GA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

We only ate there for breakfast and enjoyed the breakfast buffet....not huge in size but many selections and very tasty. The sausages were especially good, as well as the French toast and banana nut bread.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 NEW

Ate at Oma's for breakfast two days, happy and full tummies for all. Good choices, friendly customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha_Pippert, Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sunshine Thank you for dining with us at Oma’s Restaurant. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your food and your service. Sincerely Martha Pippert Dining Room Manager More

Maineville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were staying at the Bavarian Inn and decided to come here for breakfast. They have a buffet, but we opted to order off the menu. The food was ok, restaurant not very big and it seemed kind of dark in there. Not a bad place, just ok. Food was good, but nothing spectacular or really worth writing about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha_Pippert, Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Theresa Thank you for your constructive comments. I’m very sorry to hear that you did not like the lighting of our restaurant. I guess I’ve never been told by a guest that it seems a little dark. My guests usually want their chandler that is over their booth turned off. Next time you dine with us ask your Server/Hostess... More

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The''Stollen'' french toast and bratwurst were OK BUT besides that EVERYTHING was just your typical breakfast buffet food for $10.00. I should have tried there potato pancakes but, I thought they were too expensive at $8.95. I thought the buffet was a better value BUT I DID JUST GET A BUFFET you could get ANYWHERE and I was in Frankenmuth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha_Pippert, Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear jeep057 I’m sorry that you were disappointed in our prices. Our prices are right in line with our competitors. We do have an American Breakfast Buffet and a German Breakfast Buffet. We do alternate between the two. We also have a nice German Selection on our Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner menus. Sincerely Martha Pippert Dining Room Manager More

Monclova, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went for the breakfast buffet and it was wonderful! Everything was hot and delicious! Staff was excellent, never met a person there without a smile on their face!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martha_Pippert, Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tina I’m so happy to hear that your Breakfast Buffet was hot and tasty. We all have smiles on our faces because we truly enjoy taking care of our guests. Sincerely Martha Pippert Dining Room Manager More

Belding, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The breakfast buffet, had a lot of different foods to choose from. The staff took real good care of us, Our drinks were always full and they made sure we had all we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha_Pippert, Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Deankl Thank you so much for your compliments on the food and also the service. I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Breakfast and your server. We also have a full Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner menu that I’m sure you also would enjoy. Sincerely Martha Pippert Dining Room Manager More

Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The buffet had hot and fresh food to accommodate anyone. It wasn't huge, but had a lot of great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha_Pippert, Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ken Thank you so much for your great compliments. I do have to agree that we have a very nice buffet. Our executive Chef “Jason Wellnitz” does a great job with our Buffets and our menus. Sincerely Martha Pippert Dining Room Manager More

Bad Axe, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I always love this restaraunt. The staff is always friendly. The breakfast buffet is pretty bland. Normal fare like pancakes, waffles, sausage, fresh fruit. But always good. Anything you order off the menu is always good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dap, Thank you for your return visits to Oma's Restaurant. We enjoy coming up with new items and keeping our traditional fare on the menu year round. Thanks for your business! Sincerely, Jim Engel, C.O.O. Oma's Restaurant and Bavarian Inn Lodge More

West Valley City, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ambiance and wait staff were very good. German food was what I consider as just average. I could recommend this establishment based on it's atmosphere rather than it's food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear A. Luckart, Thank you for taking the time to share your insights and compliments on the service you received in Oma's Restaurant. We would recommend that you see if you might enjoy the German fare at Bavarian Inn Restaurant on main street as these are menus developed over 55 years by Dorothy Zehnder - Co-Founder of Bavarian Inn. We... More

Been to Oma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oma's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing