We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's American Bar & Grill

311 Mishawum Rd, Woburn, MA 01801-2021
+1 781-935-7200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 117 restaurants in Woburn
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Grill, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Washington
Description: Joe's American Bar & Grill was opened back in 1984. The concept is simple...serve fresh, homemade traditional American food at a reasonable price without compromising quality. We strive to have an elegant, yet casual feel that is welcoming to all.
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's American Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    18
    36
    29
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
naugatuck
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

After arriving in the Boston area my husband and I went looking for a place for dinner. We happened upon Joe,s hidden in the back of a shopping center. The inside was done very nicely kind of remind me of a old English pub. The food was good desert even better and to top it off they had my favorite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friendly staff and food that wasn't entirely out of a microwave or freezer. Good enough for me for a night while staying at hotel next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Treasure Island, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is not a bad place but it's not a great place. The salads are big and creative. The rest of the menu is what you would expect from this type of place If you're in the area it's worth trying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for dining with us while you were staying in the area! I regret that you didn't find much on our menu that excited you, however I wanted to let you know that we do update our menu a few times a year and hope that next time you are up in our neck of the woods... More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The restaurant was so dark I used my flashlight to order, but it was clean, well air conditioned, and comfortable. The food was top notch. I'd recommend it to others, for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thanks so much for giving us such a great review! We love to hear about the wonderful experiences our guests have while dining here. Our French dip is so good because we make it with prime rib, next time you should give our prime pork sandwich a whirl. Hope you will visit us again soon! Gary Silver Manager More

Rego Park, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This location need major renovation and cleaning. I used to go to Joe's for Prime Ribs but looks like is not longer available. The food was overcooked and cold. The bathroom in this location is located almost by the hotel and is a long walk to get there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at Joe's Woburn. We do try to make our business run better everyday and it is through reading and understanding all feedback, positive and negative that helps us accomplish this. I did, however just want to let you know that at... More

Chester, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had high hopes of Joe's. It was an inviting atmosphere and the staff seemed pleasant and attentive. However, it has to be said that the food disappointed. It was fairly busy when we got the as it was father's day, but the staff seemed not to be flustered and coping well. We ordered appetizers, which appeared pretty quick and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Peter, While I am glad you were happy with your service, I am sad that your expectations in the food department were not up to par. We strive to leave every guest we have raving about how fantastic their total experience was! I can assure you that we do not try to give anyone the impression that we are trying... More

Milton, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our waitress was Angelee and she REMEMBERED us from last year. LOVE HER. Kelly F waited on us the day before Mothers Day and she was a delight as well. The food is DELICIOUS and it feels so comfortable in the lounge or the dining room. WE WILL BE BACK JUNE 14th ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Angelee and Kelly were both so thrilled to see you mentioned them in your fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your great experience with the Trip Advisor community, our online reputation means a lot to me and I am glad your enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again when you are down in... More

Denton, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

When I first drove up to Joe's my son said it would be a noisy sports bar and if I wanted quiet this wasn't the place. The good news is that yes they do have a sports bar on one side with the widescreen television and noise but they also have a very nice dining room that is comfortable yet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thanks so much for visiting and taking a moment to write such a nice review about your experience! I certainly hope that next time you are up in the area you will stop by again. Gary Silver Manager More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The meal was as you might expect at a casual-dining, mass-appeal chain restaurant. The service was friendly and attentive, and the food decent but a bit inconsistent. I had the ahi tuna salad. The ahi tuna itself actually was surprisingly good, with an nicely-done aoli preparation. The field greens with it were just so-so, with under-ripe and not very tasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

I would like to start out by thanking you for taking the time to review your experience at Joe's. I always enjoy reading about what people think of the time they spent visiting with us. While I am certainly glad that we left a positive impression with you overall, I am disappointed to hear that your salad was not up... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was during school vacation week (this past Apr) and brought my son to work with me for the day. Thought we'd go to Joe's in Woburn and meet my dad for lunch. Service was good and food OK, but unfortunately found a metal pipe the lenght of two tooth-picks and just as thin... in my cole-slaw. I didn't eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary S, Manager at Joe's American Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Shawn, I would like to apologize that we left you with the feeling that we didn't do everything we could have done to make up for our mistake. I would like to ensure you that it was not our intent to make you feel as if the kitchen was denying culpability for the object being in your cole slaw. We... More

Travelers who viewed Joe's American Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe's American Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's American Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing