We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barley Neck Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Beach Road, Orleans, MA 02643
+1 508-255-0212
Website
Improve this listing
Today
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Wed - Sat 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Description: The Barley Neck Inn is a popular dinner restaurant on the way to Nauset...
The Barley Neck Inn is a popular dinner restaurant on the way to Nauset Beach. Great spot for a family party, rehearsal dinner or wedding. Reservations happily accepted. Wine Spectator Award winning wine list. Chef Michael Jacek prepares New American with lots of local flourishes and Asian accents. Check under functions for special events and promotions.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 296 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 137
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
New owner brought improvement

The restaurant is a bar restaurant setting, like a ski chalet. The food was delicious, the service was good. The menu ranged from pizza and hamburgers to finer culinary. We had brussel sprouts which were great.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
HarryR37
,
Chatham, Massachusetts
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orleans, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best Brunch on the Cape. Roast beef hash crazy good! Atmosphere and service, tip top A#1! Great place to go with friends and family...so welcoming

Helpful?
Thank Hmauke
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So my wife, daughter and I went out just for some apps. and cocktails on New years Eve to BNI. No regular menue, just an Extremely Over Priced menu. My wife convinced us to stay any way. Price for apps started at $21. and entrees started at $40. My wife got the sword fish for $51. you would have expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
Andrew V, Public Relations Manager at Barley Neck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pass your thoughts on. We wish we would have been notified of your concerns that evening, and our kitchen would have done what ever was necessary to meet your expectations. We apologize and hope that you will be back for dinner this winter. You may be pleased to know that we have a... More 

Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant is a bar restaurant setting, like a ski chalet. The food was delicious, the service was good. The menu ranged from pizza and hamburgers to finer culinary. We had brussel sprouts which were great.

Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We went for NYE - mostly to be in a place where there would be some young people and music, as our 19-year old son was with us. It was also my husband's birthday. The food was quite mediocre. Our bib salads consisted of a small pile of lettuce leaves with some slices of canned pear. The swordfish 'chop' was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
Andrew V, Public Relations Manager at Barley Neck Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, We’re very sorry your special events were not what you had hoped. We will make sure that your remarks are thoroughly discussed with our culinary team and make the necessary adjustments. Please note that our NYE menu was not our regular menu, and was designed specifically for the holiday event. We would love to invite you back to... More 

Connecticut
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Loved the Restaurant. Great ambiance. Use to be called Joe's American; learned it sold; now BNI. Visited in November. Food still good; was told Chef didn't change. However, the pricing did! Wow...so expensive!! Heard several complaints

Helpful?
Thank EastCoastReviewerNCE
Andrew V, Manager at Barley Neck Inn, responded to this review

We're glad your memories are fond, and we are careful to make sure that your regard remains just as positive. With the latest menu refresh we did update some of the dishes, however largely our pricing has remained consistent. We're sorry to hear you don't agree. Positive or not, we welcome all feedback and look forward to a chance to... More 

New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

We stayed at a B&B up the road, and Barley Neck, formerly "Joe's" was recommended to us, particularly since it was walking distance. Apparently there has been a management change, and not being familiar with the former "Joe's", I have no comment on the differences. One can only hope that the new owners will dispense with some of the specialty... More 

Helpful?
Thank ej54
Andrew V, Manager at Barley Neck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. Under new ownership, we are considering several updates and your feedback about the menu and attention are appreciated. Thank you again for joining us and we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Our birthday party of six people were underwhelmed by the overpriced dinner and drinks we received on Saturday night. We ordered three Cosmos yet two were different in taste and color from the third. The Artichoke Mum featured an artichoke bottom filled with a mushroom and crabmeat mush with little flavor. Surrounded by an arrangement of loose, dried out artichoke... More 

Helpful?
Thank NancyNordicrun
Andrew V, Public Relations Manager at Barley Neck Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry our menu items didn't live up to your expectations. You'll be seeing lots of exciting new changes this season and we also invite you back to try our brand new menu that we have just released. If you are unsatisfied with your experience, please do not hesitate to reach out to a manager so that we can address... More 

Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

It was about 5 on a warm fall evening. We had our dogs with us. We parked our truck underneath a tree so they would have shade and get the breeze off the water, so we wanted to sit by the open door or window so we could see our vehicle. The place had maybe two tables that had customers... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Polly N
Andrew V, Public Relations Manager at Barley Neck Inn, responded to this review

Dear Polly, We're very sorry your seating preference was not accommodated. Had your concerns been brought to a manager's attention, we would have been happy to find a suitable table for your evening. It's great to hear that you wanted to keep an eye on your dogs. We hope that can have an opportunity to have you back, and would... More 

East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We long time customers know it as "Joe's" but it's now under new management, and the beat continues. The menu is a step or two above typical 'tavern fare", and the menu is interesting for both adults and their children. It's a toasty, dependable spot for quick or relaxed dining in the Fall and Winter, and always packed in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lordrob44
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
223 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Local favorite for casual dinning. Eclectic menu and a great bar. Different size tables to accommodate from couples to groups. Had flank steak that was cooked and cut perfectly. Running half price sale on bottles of wine which was a plus. Waiter was pleasant and attentive. Good go to restaurant year round. Glad to see that the new owners are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy011351

Travelers who viewed Barley Neck Inn also viewed

 

Been to Barley Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 5 Beach Road, Orleans, MA 02643
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Orleans
  • Phone Number: +1 508-255-0212

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 27
  • Cuisine: American, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups

Description

The Barley Neck Inn is a popular dinner restaurant on the way to Nauset Beach. Great spot for a family party, rehearsal dinner or wedding. Reservations happily accepted. Wine Spectator Award winning wine list. Chef Michael Jacek prepares New American with lots of local flourishes and Asian accents. Check under functions for special events and promotions.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Barley Neck Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barley Neck Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?