We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ohana

151 Main Street, Gloucester, MA 01930
978 283 3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 129 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $29
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Asian, Hawaiian, Fusion
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Very good food and nice quiet atmosphere. A quiet alternative to The Franklin or Passports. Kitchen is one level below so you're not quite sure what's going on below. The main complaint is the waitress we had was totally disconnected from her job. Our party of 4 walked in(we had a reservation) and she seemed irritated that we had decided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We are thrilled that you liked the food and the atmosphere. We appreciate the comments concerning the service as it is of prime importance for patrons to have a total dining experience. We are working hard to train (and hire new) staff to make service a top priority. We look... More

Washington D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Nice, calm environment, very good food with creative menu selections. Back room has good view of the working harbor. Management and staff made an effort to be friendly. Service was good, not perfect. Overall another very good option for eating on Cape Ann.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We sincerely appreciate your patronage. We are very proud of the creative food which we offer and are constantly looking to provide a complete excellent dining experience in all respects. We look forward to serving you again. More

Geneva, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner. The food was creative, delicious, and priced fairly for what we received. My only "complaint" is that it was hard to choose what to order, there were several interesting options that caught our fancy, and we tend to be picky. Service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Tasteful, contemporary interior. Professional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about Ohana. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to serving you again. All the best. More

Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to main st for the block party this past weekend and decided to try Ohana for dinner. First we were sat at a table that could not accommodate a high chair, when we asked to move we were told that the table just needed to be cleared. After standing around looking lost for 5minutes we finally just sat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

We are very sorry for your experience. That is not the way we run the restaurant or treat our guests. Please give us another chance as our guests. Please contact us at info@ohanacapeann.com to make the arrangements. More

Lincoln, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After seeing Jacques Brell at the Gloucester theater (and knowing Duckworth was not open on Sundays), we decided to try Ohana's. The food is unbeliveably delicious and interesting. Each of the four of us had a different starter and a different main course and each of us was delighted. And I took some home and was delighted the next night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for trying us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that your party tried a variety of dishes so you could see the many flavors that we use. We look forward to your next visit and please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you. Warmest... More

Holden, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Food was very good. We felt it was well worth the price, and the drinks as well. Little bit of a bummer that we were the only people in there, but that may have just been our odd timing. I do recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about Ohana. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food and drinks. We look froward to serving you in the future. All the best. More

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I have eaten at Ohana a number of times but tonight we came to the realization that it is the best restaurant on Cape Ann. The food is always fresh, innovative and beautifully presented. The front of the house is much better as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Ohana. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and will continue to strive to give you our very best. Kind regards. More

Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Gloucester doesn't lack for excellent restaurants but none offer Ohana's superior level of quality, service and setting ( plus pretty easy parking) !! My wife and I have fully enjoyed our several visits to this little gem. Food is a wonderful combination of creative and comfort. Its always beautifully presented, perfectly portioned and oh sooo tasty. The menu offers many,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We pride ourselves in making sure the entire dining experience is complete in every way. We greatly appreciate your visits and looking forward to your patronage. All the best. More

Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I LOVE Ohana. I had an early dinner there last Saturday with a friend and we both enjoyed it immensely. The scallop dish was scrumptious as was my friend's salmon. the presentation was very creative, and the service very well-paced. . The restaurant has a lovely feel to it, with soothing colors and comfortable seating. Only problem was there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Ohana. We look forward to serving you again soon. All the best. More

South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This small, intimate restaurant is a nice change from some of the bigger, louder places in town. The ahi appetizer and the scallops entree were both very good, as was the Hawaaiian cake for dessert. Portions were reasonably sized. Hoping this place gets some attention, as it deserves it,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing and we are thrilled that you liked the food and our restaurant. We look forward to serving you again at your next visit. Have a great summer. . More

Travelers who viewed Ohana also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing