We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
151 Main Street, Gloucester, MA 01930
978 283 3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 127 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $29
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Asian, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 NEW

Chef Enx Dadulus is a genius. His dishes include improbable combinations that are delicious. A tempura shrimp sushi roll including mushroom, asparagus, tobiko and dynamite butter. A Caesar salad like no other having not only an inimitable dressing but also an unexpected fried poached egg. Every course is fun and delicious. The wine list is interesting and moderately priced. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I have to give this restaurant 5 stars as this was truly one of, if not the, best meals I've had in Gloucester, and that includes eating at Duckworth's, Passports, even the White Rainbow when it was in business. That being said, we were glad that we were eating with friends with whom we wanted to enjoy a leisurely meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very proud of the food and presentation. Slow service is not usual but we are happy that you enjoyed everything. We look forward to serving you again. All the best. More

Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Very good food and nice quiet atmosphere. A quiet alternative to The Franklin or Passports. Kitchen is one level below so you're not quite sure what's going on below. The main complaint is the waitress we had was totally disconnected from her job. Our party of 4 walked in(we had a reservation) and she seemed irritated that we had decided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We are thrilled that you liked the food and the atmosphere. We appreciate the comments concerning the service as it is of prime importance for patrons to have a total dining experience. We are working hard to train (and hire new) staff to make service a top priority. We look... More

Washington D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Nice, calm environment, very good food with creative menu selections. Back room has good view of the working harbor. Management and staff made an effort to be friendly. Service was good, not perfect. Overall another very good option for eating on Cape Ann.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We sincerely appreciate your patronage. We are very proud of the creative food which we offer and are constantly looking to provide a complete excellent dining experience in all respects. We look forward to serving you again. More

Geneva, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner. The food was creative, delicious, and priced fairly for what we received. My only "complaint" is that it was hard to choose what to order, there were several interesting options that caught our fancy, and we tend to be picky. Service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Tasteful, contemporary interior. Professional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about Ohana. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to serving you again. All the best. More

Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to main st for the block party this past weekend and decided to try Ohana for dinner. First we were sat at a table that could not accommodate a high chair, when we asked to move we were told that the table just needed to be cleared. After standing around looking lost for 5minutes we finally just sat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

We are very sorry for your experience. That is not the way we run the restaurant or treat our guests. Please give us another chance as our guests. Please contact us at info@ohanacapeann.com to make the arrangements. More

Lincoln, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After seeing Jacques Brell at the Gloucester theater (and knowing Duckworth was not open on Sundays), we decided to try Ohana's. The food is unbeliveably delicious and interesting. Each of the four of us had a different starter and a different main course and each of us was delighted. And I took some home and was delighted the next night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for trying us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that your party tried a variety of dishes so you could see the many flavors that we use. We look forward to your next visit and please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you. Warmest... More

Holden, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Food was very good. We felt it was well worth the price, and the drinks as well. Little bit of a bummer that we were the only people in there, but that may have just been our odd timing. I do recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about Ohana. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food and drinks. We look froward to serving you in the future. All the best. More

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I have eaten at Ohana a number of times but tonight we came to the realization that it is the best restaurant on Cape Ann. The food is always fresh, innovative and beautifully presented. The front of the house is much better as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Ohana. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and will continue to strive to give you our very best. Kind regards. More

Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Gloucester doesn't lack for excellent restaurants but none offer Ohana's superior level of quality, service and setting ( plus pretty easy parking) !! My wife and I have fully enjoyed our several visits to this little gem. Food is a wonderful combination of creative and comfort. Its always beautifully presented, perfectly portioned and oh sooo tasty. The menu offers many,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We pride ourselves in making sure the entire dining experience is complete in every way. We greatly appreciate your visits and looking forward to your patronage. All the best. More

Travelers who viewed Ohana also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana

Address: 151 Main Street, Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone Number: 978 283 3200
Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Ann  >  Gloucester
Open Hours:
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 20 - 29
Cuisine: American, Asian, Hawaiian, Fusion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing