We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Pheasant

Certificate of Excellence
$$
American, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
905 Route 6A, Dennis, MA 02638
508 385 2133
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tue - Sun 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Creative and Classic Cuisine in the charm of a 200 year old barn on Cape...
Creative and Classic Cuisine in the charm of a 200 year old barn on Cape Cod. Fresh flavors and local ingredients are our hallmarks.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 216 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 136
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Fabulous

We came here oddly because we couldn't get in right away at other places. We weren't sure what we were getting into but upon entering the atmosphere was very nice and welcoming. We had the best food in Cape Cod that we have had in a week, and we've had very good food elsewhere. Our server was... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 20, 2015
Medblond
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

this was our favorite restaurant at the cape last year (2014) but too many things were not right this last visit. service slow- seemed overwhelmed by just 10 tables or so. lamb way too fatty and greasy. quality of other cuts, and sides is just not the same as last visit. no need to return to this one any time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were not happy with your last visit. Can you send me a private message so i can look into the details? There were several orders of Racks of Lamb sold Sunday. It is one of our house specialties and we did not hear of any complaints. We are concerned things were less than perfect. More 

West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

It appears if you do not look like a local the reception and service is icy. which helps with the over salted food. This place was not worth the trip and I wish I did not tip 20%.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are welcoming to everyone though it is true after 37 years we have many repeat customers who have been coming for generations and we great them like family. More 

Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

We came here oddly because we couldn't get in right away at other places. We weren't sure what we were getting into but upon entering the atmosphere was very nice and welcoming. We had the best food in Cape Cod that we have had in a week, and we've had very good food elsewhere. Our server was great. Very friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

So glad you "discovered" us! We have been the same family of owners since 1977! Come back soon! More 

Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Partner's family waited until last minute to find a restaurant for the "fancy" dinner during week at Cape Cod. The Red Pheasant was able to accommodate our large group for an earlier seating. The room is kind of dark (not sure what the old building used to be). Everyone was pretty pleased with their food. The waiter did not let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary Gougere (cheese puffs!) Our barn was once a Ship's Chandlery on Corpration Beach, used to build boats in the 1800's and moved here as the Carriage House for Scargo Manor when it was build in 1889. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

This has been our favorite restaurant on the Cape over many years. We have never had a bad meal. In fact, I think they could cook shoe leather and make it taste wonderful. We highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty! you make me smile! More 

Buffalo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

The Red Pheasant is one of our favorite restaurants, so that's where 12 of us had a special dinner during a recent family reunion. The restaurant was once an historic barn, and the period décor in the cozy dining room adds to the warm ambience and a sense of the old Cape. It's nice to see the same wait staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

"Trifecta" what a great word, thank you! We have had raves on this summer's Strawberry Shortcake, glad you loved it! More 

pomona, new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

At here on a weekday night on the advice from Trip Adviser. It was quite busy and needed a reservation. My husband had a pasta with lobster dish which was excellent. We shared the calamari appetizer which was light and crunchy; very good. I ordered an onion tart and a field green salad with a delicious viniagrette. We were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you next time you are on Cape Cod! More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
456 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We reserved an early table for three on a weekday and were seated by the windows....a lovely view of wild garden. Our drinks -- I got a Lime/Vodka, & Thyme concoction that was tremendous -- were very tasty. The bread with olive oil was okay, but less than thrilling (totally fresh?). Our meals ranged from excellent (a sensational Salmon tempura... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience and hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

The last time we were at The Red Pheasant was 15 years ago. We hoped that it would be as wonderful a meal and experience as we remembered it to be. We were not disappointed. If we were staying in the Cape another day, we would have gone back again. If you are a foodie, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

So glad you returned and were just as happy as 15 years ago! Thank you! More 

Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Wow, one of the best cape meals ever and I am a food snob! Gorgeous garden view too. Service was superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

Thank you! We love that we met your expectations!! More 

Travelers who viewed The Red Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to The Red Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 905 Route 6A, Dennis, MA 02638
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Dennis
  • Phone Number: 508 385 2133

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 32
  • Cuisine: American, International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Doing business

Description

Creative and Classic Cuisine in the charm of a 200 year old barn on Cape Cod. Fresh flavors and local ingredients are our hallmarks.
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Red Pheasant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?