We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Oxford Restaurants

The Robert Morris Inn

314 North Morris St, PO Box 40, Oxford, MD
410 226 5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Returned to Robert Morris after a year and had another magnificent lunch. Enjoyed the Butternut Squash Soup and the Crab Spring Roll! Service was attentive and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We ate dinner and breakfast at the Robert Morris Inn. The food was superb. We ate inside for dinner and breakfast outside. If the weather is nice, you should eat outside. The food was superb but a bit pricey. Service was excellent as well.The waitress recommended a few places at ST. MIchael's that were excellent. It was a pleasure to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Great food at reasonable prices. Old world charm with stone and wood atmosphere. Chef does a great job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We were staying in Oxford and walked to the Inn for breakfast; the food and service were both good. We would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

My wife had wanted to go to this place for years. However, we didn't stay at the Inn, instead staying at Sandaway, which had been spun off from the Inn. We were both pleased with the food overall. I was especially pleased with my combination seafood platter. I wish I'd known the cream of crab soup I got on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South West
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We ate here mid-week with friends and found it a really positive experience – friendly and helpful staff, high quality food and interestingly furnished.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The dining room is very comfortable. Table setting with cloth napkins, etc. The seafood was terrific Two of our party had the seafood platter. Very best crabcake ever. The soup also wonderful. The beer-battered cod was tied for best in my experience - the other top cod was at the harbor in Marken, Holland. Really fresh. The other persons had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This restaurant is resting on past laurels. The food was slightly above average. Both entree's were acceptable, however the seafood sampler was instructive. The crab cake was well below average, the crab salad was unimpressive in flavor. The cold shrimp was excellent....it's hard to hurt plain cooked shrimp. The salmon plate was remarkable for the great vegetables, but not much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear AH Thank you for visiting our historic Tavern. I am so sorry I did not meet you and I really wish you had said something at the time as I would happily have changed your dishes or cooked you something different. I am here most of the time and happy to respond to any customer request. We really do... More

oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We had friends visiting from New Jersey and wanted good crab cakes. So we took them to the Inn. However, they were a little disappointed in the size of the crab cake and whatever it was that came with the crab cake. When you pay $30.00 for one crab cake it should be outstanding. I had salmon and the portion... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear mazz4qb Thank you for supporting the Inn. We really appreciate and value our local customers more than any other, but so disapointed you did not feel the plates were big enough. Please do not be put off coming back and if youre not happy just ask for me personally, I'll simply cook you some more specially. Regards Mark More

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I hate to be critical of the restaurant at the inn, because the food was so great. But unfortunately, I have to report that there was a bug problem on the night I visited in early September. I had planned to contact the owner about this (I asked and the owner was not on-site that evening), but decided to provide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our Tavern and I am delighted that over all you really nejoyed your visit but so sorry to read of your wine disapointment. This time of year as it cools the flies and mosquetoes seem to get a new lease of life and they are hard to control. Once customers go outside there is little we... More

Travelers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 North Morris St, PO Box 40, Oxford, MD
Phone Number: 410 226 5111
Location: United States  >  Maryland (MD)  >  Oxford
Average Prices: USD 16 - 48
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing