We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Oxford Restaurants

The Robert Morris Inn

314 North Morris St, PO Box 40, Oxford, MD
410 226 5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    49
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

My wife had wanted to go to this place for years. However, we didn't stay at the Inn, instead staying at Sandaway, which had been spun off from the Inn. We were both pleased with the food overall. I was especially pleased with my combination seafood platter. I wish I'd known the cream of crab soup I got on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South West
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We ate here mid-week with friends and found it a really positive experience – friendly and helpful staff, high quality food and interestingly furnished.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The dining room is very comfortable. Table setting with cloth napkins, etc. The seafood was terrific Two of our party had the seafood platter. Very best crabcake ever. The soup also wonderful. The beer-battered cod was tied for best in my experience - the other top cod was at the harbor in Marken, Holland. Really fresh. The other persons had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This restaurant is resting on past laurels. The food was slightly above average. Both entree's were acceptable, however the seafood sampler was instructive. The crab cake was well below average, the crab salad was unimpressive in flavor. The cold shrimp was excellent....it's hard to hurt plain cooked shrimp. The salmon plate was remarkable for the great vegetables, but not much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear AH Thank you for visiting our historic Tavern. I am so sorry I did not meet you and I really wish you had said something at the time as I would happily have changed your dishes or cooked you something different. I am here most of the time and happy to respond to any customer request. We really do... More

oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We had friends visiting from New Jersey and wanted good crab cakes. So we took them to the Inn. However, they were a little disappointed in the size of the crab cake and whatever it was that came with the crab cake. When you pay $30.00 for one crab cake it should be outstanding. I had salmon and the portion... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear mazz4qb Thank you for supporting the Inn. We really appreciate and value our local customers more than any other, but so disapointed you did not feel the plates were big enough. Please do not be put off coming back and if youre not happy just ask for me personally, I'll simply cook you some more specially. Regards Mark More

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I hate to be critical of the restaurant at the inn, because the food was so great. But unfortunately, I have to report that there was a bug problem on the night I visited in early September. I had planned to contact the owner about this (I asked and the owner was not on-site that evening), but decided to provide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our Tavern and I am delighted that over all you really nejoyed your visit but so sorry to read of your wine disapointment. This time of year as it cools the flies and mosquetoes seem to get a new lease of life and they are hard to control. Once customers go outside there is little we... More

Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We enjoyed sitting outside having dinner one night and again outside for a breakfast. The inside seemed a little dark, but it was a beautiful couple of days when we were in Oxford, so sitting outside was the way to go. Dinner food was well prepared and service was very good considering our server had only been there a week.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear devog14 Many thanks for your kind words, much appreciated by me and my team. This has been an awesome late summer/early fall with sunny yet cooler days. Perfect for outdoor dining and entertaining yes, but watch these pesky mosquitoes as light falls. Regards Mark More

Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Historic Oxford's Robert Morris Inn is in a beautiful setting, adjacent to waterfront that is serviced by a ferry that transports cars/bikes/people to a location not far from also lovely St. Michaels. Each previous meal at RMI's restaurant was terrific and this time was no exception. We enjoyed crab rolls, a crab cake, a grilled chicken sandwich with avocado and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ichi-ban_Food_Kritik Thank you so much for visiting our historic Inn and delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your return and thank you for sharing with fellow travellers. Regards Mark More

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Went for my hubbies birthday as a recommendation from a coworker. Hubby is a big Renn Fest fan and I thought he would enjoy the Celebration Package, and did he ever! The choreography was amazing and even the horses looked like they enjoyed the cheering. Food was way better than Renn Fest fare and served in large portions - big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Our party of 5 had a very good lunch over the Labor Day Holiday weekend. This Inn was built in 1710 and is a great place to have lunch or dinner. Great crab cake sandwich, chicken salad sandwich and cream of crab soup. Wait staff/bartender always friendly and accommodating .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear Harpo208 Thank you for your kind words and generous comments, were were so pleased that your family had such a great time. Ours is such a charming and historic Inn and Tavern, we love to share. Many thanks and we look forward to your return. Regards Mark More

Travelers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 North Morris St, PO Box 40, Oxford, MD
Phone Number: 410 226 5111
Location: United States  >  Maryland (MD)  >  Oxford
Average Prices: USD 16 - 48
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing