We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bonefish Grill

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
82 Market St, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-6532
240-631-2401
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Bonefish Grill and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 148 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 57
    Excellent
  • 62
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fresh fish well prepared

Consistently high quality seafood with a few meat dishes for the carnivores in your group. The bang bang shrimp as an appetizer are always a highlight. The fish is fresh and is served with a variety of sauces. Meal includes a tasty salad and very good bread with a dipping sauce that are a real... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
Lenny L
,
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Consistently high quality seafood with a few meat dishes for the carnivores in your group. The bang bang shrimp as an appetizer are always a highlight. The fish is fresh and is served with a variety of sauces. Meal includes a tasty salad and very good bread with a dipping sauce that are a real treat. You get a choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenny L
USA
Level Contributor
640 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow is this place busy! It is definitely better than the typical chain restaurant. The ambiance is relatively nice but nothing amazing with way too many tables. Our chairs kept getting smacked by people walking by. I guess I would say it is not a calming, relaxing place to eat. But it is nice and there is decent but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlendaleCA
Cleveland, Oh
Level Contributor
946 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, it is part of a chain, with dozen restaurants in Florida and in other cities, but it is uniformly very good. The standard for food, service and wine is elevated and each restaurant has some unique offering based on the local fish availability in the area and the expectation of the locals. This is as good as any I... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcopolo111
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have eaten there many times. Food is always fantastic. Definitely the best fish in the region. You will need a reservation and can make it online. Also very nice and popular bar that you can eat at. Always satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank danrezzy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I came for dinner. The staff was snooty and acted like the were doing us a favor by letting us eat. The food was very average and overpriced...we haven't been back.

Helpful?
Thank Derek I
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was not too thrilled when I heard we were going to a chain restaurant 3000 miles from home and we have one in our own town. I wanted something good. And different. I was very pleasantly surprised by this spot. The food was very good. I recommend the crab cakes- not too bready. I was disappointed by their wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank pinkpepper9
Rockville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice meal. Had a ahi tuna bowl, which was tasty enough. Don't sit ìn a raised booth, however, because you risk falling out. My wife fell out of one in a different restaurant and needed emergency surgery, even though, as a rule, we used to like such booths.

Helpful?
Thank Don L
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

No complaints about the service. The food was just okay compared to the other bonefish grills I had visited. Especially the bang bang shrimp was not comparable.

Helpful?
Thank Madhu Varthana J
Amy F, Manager at Bonefish Grill, responded to this review

Hello, We always want your food to be fantastic and we're sorry we let you down. We'd like to review this further if you could please take a moment to send me an email at customerservice@bonefishgrill.com with the subject "TripAdvisor Review - Store 8104". We can then correspond directly over email. Sincerely, Amy Bonefish Grill More 

Washington DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

I have been there twice in the past month with friends for lunch. Both time, the service was good, but not really friendly. I had to ask for bread both times. We received the bread the first time and was informed that bread was not provided during lunch during our second visit. However, we saw another table of guests receiving... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReviewDC
Amy F, Manager at Bonefish Grill, responded to this review

Hello, We're very sad to hear about your lunches with us. We always want things to go smoothly, but when they don't, we appreciate hearing your feedback. We'd like to review this further if you could please take a moment to send me an email at customerservice@bonefishgrill.com with the subject "TripAdvisor Review - Store 8104". We can then correspond directly... More 

Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Love their Ahi Tuna, fresh and well presented. The atmosphere is nice, not too noisy as bar food place and not too formal as could not talk loud..

Helpful?
Thank adac1121

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 82 Market St, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-6532
  • Location: United States  >  Maryland (MD)  >  Gaithersburg
  • Phone Number: 240-631-2401

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20 - 25
  • Cuisine: Seafood

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bonefish Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?