We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Dry Dock & Inn

357 Main St, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679-4404
(207) 244-5842
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    47
    56
    26
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

I go to the drydock whenever i am thirsty, hungry for a decent meal at relatively decent prices or I want to spend time with the locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are the place where the locals go, when they go out for drinks and dinner. On any given night there are fishermen, lawyers, chefs from area restaurants, and tourists at our bar and enjoying our meals. Our menu includes many items from the waters around this island and out of our gardens. Thanks... More

Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW via mobile

Enjoyed lunch here with my wife, her sister and b-i-l. Two lobster rolls, very generous amounts, a French dip, tasty and a blackened chicken, pretty good. Service was pretty quick and the food was good, if little pricy. Average for south west harbor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sell a lot of lobster rolls and for the amount of meat in them, we keep them competitively priced. The French dip is smoked by us here weekly and is the second largest selling sandwich for lunch. We use quality meat purchased locally and then smoke it for hours outside on our smoker. This... More

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Came in for a late lunch while driving down to Seawall. Should have read the other reviews. While our server was polite and friendly, we were really bummed with the food. The warm and wilted salad started things off - even the vinaigrette was bad. The crab quiche was best described as mushy crabmeat in a loaf of grease. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

The internet has enable us to do a lot of things, but it has also given people the place to hide when they need be. If there was as many things wrong with your meals wouldn't be easier to address them at the time? You like to complain to us while hiding behind your computer instead of a person to... More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Fine food but for the area you can find much better for the price. Decor was dated and food was just adequate. Would not visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not like our restaurant, but being from New York City you have probally been to a few. I saw the great reviews you gave to a coffee shop that serves just coffee and muffins, not much of a challenge in that with their 2 maybe 3 employees. Then you reviewed an ice cream shop that... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was one of three restaurants we ate in during our recent trip to Acadia National Park. The restaurant was fairly normal, the staff were friendly and the service was good. I had the Chicken Florentine and it was one of the best meals I had eaten on our three week trip. Also the price was resonable so in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure reading your review. We have many items to choose from and chicken has been on the menu for a long time and is still very popular in a village that prides itself on seafood. This dish is also one of my favorites as I love chicken. Thanks again for taking the time out to write a... More

Meredith, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food and service were excellent. The menu was very creative and had something for everyone. Everyone in our large multigenerational group loved their selections. The fantastic first courses should have been shared because the portion sizes were huge. We enjoyed baked brie and lobster puff with boursin. I had an excellent sauteed lobster. Even the young burger lover in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure serving all of you. I am glad you chose us for your large party and being a family style restaurant we do have something for everyone. I did not get a chance to stop by and say hi, but our server was on top of it. We have a great... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We left almost immediately. In a fishing village known for lobster and seafood, the menu was pretty limited. We stayed for a drink, then went elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

Let me respond by saying we don't have, Cape Cod oysters, quahogs or chips, Maryland Crabs or Southern oysters, Texas shrimp, Washington and Oregon salmon, Idaho trout, Prince Edward Island oysters and mussels, Florida Mahi Mahi, or some of the various fish other restaurants in the area have. What we do have this week is fresh swordfish from here, oysters... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had to make a quick decision as our son was over hungry so we basically just decided on this place since there was no wait. He got grilled cheese and was happy w/ it. I got the Mussels margarita, which came over bow tie noodles - it was pretty good. Husband got burger - $10 kinda pricey as it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We buy fresh ground burger daily and it is a higher quality and is reflected in the cost. You also did not mention that this burger came with pasta salad, chips and pickle which is really a meal for $9.95. There are many other places on the island that will sell you a burger for... More

NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stumbled onto this restaurant without expecting much, because I don't eat fish, meat, or shellfish, and there weren't many options for pescatarians. We were pleasantly surprised. Pros: Halibut sandwich was great. A good piece of fish that was well prepared, and the Moroccan rub was good. The accompanying pasta salad was also a good surprise. Didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have long believed that good food is not complicated. Obtaining the best products to start will give good results in the end. We buy as much local items, especially seafood and some of our meats, right in town. Our gardens supply some of our produce as do farmers markets in the area. it takes... More

Milford, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Since we weren't looking for an outdoor seating due to the rainy weather, this seemed like a nice change of pace. Very wide variety on the lunch menu, and that includes the kids menu. Reasonable prices, but the portions were a little small and the sides were limited. We enjoyed our sandwiches - blackened chicken, chicken salad, BLT, and bacon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our menu covers just about everyone's food taste and we try to change items depending on what is available from our gardens or from fishing boats. When it rains here we are extremely busy as many restaurants depend on outside seating. We are the largest restaurant in town and many people come here to get... More

Travelers who viewed Cafe Dry Dock & Inn also viewed

Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Cafe Dry Dock & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Dry Dock & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing