We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Cape Elizabeth Restaurants

Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge

40 Bowery Beach Road, Inn By The Sea, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
207 799 3134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $40
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    39
    20
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Great view out over the grounds to the ocean, comfortable appointments, excellent staff--very interesting and varied menu, with small items which my wife appreciates. Not cheap, but about as expensive as it looks, and the food and service make it a very good deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JGVT, General Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Capnbob67, So glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at Sea Glass! You will be pleased to know that we are completing a full renovation of the restaurant in the coming weeks with a grand "re-opening" soon to follow! Hope to see you soon and thank you again. Jim Glanville, General Manager More 

Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Dinner on Christmas Night. Yes, I know, nobody wants to work on a holiday. Certainly received that vibe from the staff at the hotel and this "acclaimed" restaurant. Waited 40 minutes for our table that we had reserved. Drinks came after a good 30 minutes after we were seated. Had to ask REPEATEDLY for everything from a glass of water,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JGVT, General Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear hiportland 125 Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you’ve had previous positive dining experiences with us, but am very disappointed to see that we failed to meet your expectations during this holiday visit. I have shared this review with the team and am sorry that I... More 

South Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We had the pleasure of a wonderful brunch with a clear view of the ocean. The food was done perfectly and the wait staff was wonderful. We will definitely be back for dinner at some point!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JGVT, General Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear TravelinGal1964, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sea Glass Restaurant on Trip Advisor. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us and were able to take advantage of some of the wonderful weather we had over the holidays. The views have, in fact, been spectacular! Hope to have you with us again in the... More 

West Barnstable, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Without a doubt, the service, attentive and friendly is remarkable. Ones order is taken in a timely manner beginning with the beverage. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. The courses are served with perfect timing. The food is prepared well and served hot. The experience is delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JGVT, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Happy Holidays, Jim Glanville General Manager More 

Scarborough, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This is a lovely spot in Cape Elizabeth, right on the water. Although it was dark when we were there as we are locals we know how beautiful the view is. The food was good to very good with the chef excelling with his entrees and desserts. The staff was attentive but not obtrusive. We did have to ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JGVT, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Kim F Thank you so much for your thorough review and ultimate endorsement of Sea Glass Restaurant at Inn by the Sea! I’ve shared your feedback with our Culinary Team and appreciate the finer points you have made. I look forward to your next visit and the chance to say hello. Warmly, Jim Glanville General Manager More 

Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Food was very good.Server was particularly friendly and competent. Really enjoyed the paella. The Fall decor was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JGVT, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Pat C I’m delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience with us at Sea Glass Restaurant and appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor. Look forward to seeing you with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Jim Glanville General Manager More 

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We ate at the Sea Glass Restaurant during our recent stay: Positives: Bar and bartender Waitress Negatives:Plain white bread (cold) served as rolls, fish, although fresh, was swimming in butter and sent me to the bathroom. Can not comment on the view as it was very foggy but, I'm sure it is gorgeous .. just don't expect to leave feeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JGVT, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear LikesInns, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your dining experience with us on Trip Advisor. While I’m thrilled to see that you had positive interactions with our staff and enjoyed our beautiful setting, it is unfortunate to read that you left feeling disappointed overall. I have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef, Mitchell Kaldrovich.... More 

Richmond, Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The food is beautifully prepared and presented. The service is excellent. Whatever seafood is being served is fresh. Breakfast is also a treat with many wonderful selections. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear cearly, Thank you for your review of Sea Glass Restaurant at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to the quality cuisine and excellent service at Sea Glass. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Glass and Inn by the Sea... More 

Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

agreements made with local fishermen to promote and cook to perfection plentiful fish such as Hake and Pollock.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JGVT, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you Mary M! Look forward to seeing you with us soon. Best, Jim Glanville General Manager More 

Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Quite Average. Have gone for dinner during both stays and have been disappointed both times. We had the Salmon, the Steak and the Pasta. None were anything but ordinary. Simply not what you would expect or should.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Lynnesjackson, Thank you for your review of Sea Glass Restaurant at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor . We are disappointed to read that Sea Glass failed to impress during your stay at the Inn. We’ve shared this with our Executive Chef Mitchell Kaldrovich and he’s love to hear you thoughts directly so we can correct the matter. He... More 

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Cape Elizabeth, ME
Cape Elizabeth, ME
 

Been to Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Inn By The Sea, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number: 207 799 3134
Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Cape Elizabeth
Open Hours:
Sunday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 16 - 40
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?