We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coast Bar + Bistro

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
10 Water St., Brunswick, ME 04011 (Federal St.)
+1 207-373-9299
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thu - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Coast Bar + Bistro serves elevated versions of classic comfort foods. The...
Coast Bar + Bistro serves elevated versions of classic comfort foods. The bistro offers a range of appetizers, sandwiches, salads, our signature pizzas and delicious entrees. We are open every day at 11:30am. Join us every evening (even weekends!) From 3-6pm for Happy Hour and every Thursday evening and Friday evenings for live music!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 33 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
A Nice Pub Meal with Very Good Entertainment

We were looking for a nice diversion of music and quick food and we found it here. My husband likes acoustic guitar music and Katie Daggett was playing on the evening we went. She was excellent. Unfortunately with the acoustics in the bar not being great and the chattering of the crowd we did our... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 10, 2015
Pauline G
,
Brunswick, Maine
Good for:
  • Bar scene
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We were looking for a nice diversion of music and quick food and we found it here. My husband likes acoustic guitar music and Katie Daggett was playing on the evening we went. She was excellent. Unfortunately with the acoustics in the bar not being great and the chattering of the crowd we did our best to make sure that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Pauline G., Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your time at Coast Bar & Bistro. I will be sure to share your lovely review with the servers and kitchen staff. Seeing you're local, we hope that you will visit us again soon. Please check out... More 

Central Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We specifically looked for a place to eat that had live entertainment while dining, which is actually not easy. Most places are chain restaurants and don't offer it or are privately owned and offer nothing. Nothing like a Friday night after work dinner to just enjoy some music while eating. We had wanted to eat there for quite some time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Momof2inMaine, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review AND for saying that you'll be back, even though your experience was not perfect. I take guest feedback very seriously and have spoken to both the kitchen staff and the restaurant manager regarding your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon and giving you... More 

brunswick, maine
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

This poor place has had a number of owners who have tried to rescue it. Its problem is very Mainer - "you can't get theyah from heeyah." It is hard to find and get to, in part because anti-business Brunswick town ordinances prevent good signage in town. I just went for a group of friends who gather monthly, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear kilboj, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a well thought out review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your food and have passed your positive comments along to the kitchen staff. You couldn't be more right about how much we, as a company, care! I have talked to the restaurant manager, as well as... More 

Brunswick, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

They were out of half of the appetizers, and out of 4 of the 6 draft beers. The special was prime rib, but after we ordered it, they told us they were out of it. I don't know who keeps track of stock, but that was rediculous. What we got was overcooked and overpriced. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jeff V., I am terribly sorry that you had such a disappointing time at Coast! There is no excuse for not having that number of items! Since you are local, I hope that you will give us another chance. Sincerely, Donna Whelden Executive Chef More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We stayed at this hotel Easter weekend but did not have a reservation for brunch. We sat in the bar area next to the fireplace and the setting was lovely. The food was delicious and the staff was so friendly. Valerie the hostess was so nice and full of great information. She also kept our water and coffee cups full.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear lpittroff, Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed Easter brunch and will pass your comments along to the kitchen staff. I hope that you will visit us again when you are in Maine. Regards, Donna Whelden Executive Chef More 

Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Went to check it out for our wedding. First let me say no one had anything good to say about this place. They were right. The staff gives the worst service. They should be ashamed of their attitudes. Drinks were poorly mixed and the food was awful. Over cooked and the textures on everything was not right. I really question... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Alicia C., I am shocked that you had such a bad experience across the board! Did you speak to a manager while you were there? Please feel free to call the hotel and ask for me. I would like to discuss the details of your meal and service. Sincerely, Donna Whelden Executive Chef More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

My husband ordered a med rare hamburger and got well done and burned. The ketchup helped to make it edible. I ordered cabernet and got chardonnay. This Is the third time we've tried this restaurant and have been consistently disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear HJV43, Three strikes and you're out! While I understand your frustration, I am, sincerely, baffled as to why this keeps happening to you. I'm, also, very sorry and hope that you will give us one more chance some time in the near future. Regards, Donna Whelden Executive Chef More 

Brunswick, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The atmosphere is really great, we love the high top tables by the fireplace. The staff is not great, but not poor either - they leave no impression. The menu is small which would make one assume that each item is worth the money and delicious. However, the past 3 visits we have had there we have left very disappointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Juan Islands, Washington
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We showed up at the Bistro at the Daniel for lunch. One table had two guests reading menus. Another had four guests, no menus, no food or drink. Nobody else around. We waited at the desk to be seated for 7 minutes. Nobody showed. My wife went to the hotel front desk, about 100 feet away. Nobody there either. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
West Bowdoin, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Joined by dear friends for a early luch on a Friday we decided to try the Coast Bar and Bistro and were pleasantly surprised. Joe, our waiter was top-notch and extremely knowledgable in all aspects from meal choices to beer availability. Mike and I both lovers of a good chowder had a bowl of their "coast chowder " which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
trocachef, Executive Chef at Coast Bar + Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Merle W., Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review! I have passed your wonderful comments along to both kitchen and service staff as they work extremely hard and deserve the accolades. Please feel free to visit our website as we have great specials every night of the week. We look forward to... More 

Travelers who viewed Coast Bar + Bistro also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coast Bar + Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 10 Water St., Brunswick, ME 04011
    (Federal St.)
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Mid Coast Maine  >  Brunswick
  • Phone Number: +1 207-373-9299

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 25
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Bar scene

Description

Coast Bar + Bistro serves elevated versions of classic comfort foods. The bistro offers a range of appetizers, sandwiches, salads, our signature pizzas and delicious entrees. We are open every day at 11:30am. Join us every evening (even weekends!) From 3-6pm for Happy Hour and every Thursday evening and Friday evenings for live music!
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Coast Bar + Bistro and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Hartford, Connecticut
Hartford, Connecticut

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Coast Bar + Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?