We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ocean's Edge Restaurant

159 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7100
+1 207-338-2646
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 51 restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ocean's Edge Restaurant specializes in quality cuisine served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere with exceptional views of Penobscot Bay.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ocean's Edge Restaurant specializes in quality cuisine served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere with exceptional views of Penobscot Bay.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    35
    11
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penobscot, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

What a comfortable atmosphere in a beautiful setting! Watching all the sailboats go by was a special treat! I shared a simple meal - red wine and a Mediterranean Pizza - with a friend at the bar. The staff was great! They really seemed to enjoy being there. The conversation at the bar was lively and fun. A comment from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding food and service in Ocean's Edge Restaurant. We are fortunate to have both a professional service team and culinary team who love what they do. I am glad that it showed in your dining experience. I agree with the other diner about the pork saltimbocca. It is amazing! Again, thank you for your... More

Grass Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We went to the restaurant late on a Thursday and their lobster specials were sold out. Since we really wanted lobster, we had a beer and left. The staff went into the kitchen to check and came up with clams, and then suggested two other nearby restaurants when we told them we really wanted lobster. The next evening we returned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you found the staff accommodating and that the food and view were to your liking. I see from your reviews on other restaurants in Belfast that you chose to return to us. Thank you. We hope to serve you again soon. Sincerely,... More

Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went to the masonic lodge it had a musical group there. That was really awesome. They offered wine, cheese, fruit for $20.00 per person. It was something different to do. They did a fabulous job. we weren't disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of the Belfast area. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Sanford, Michigan
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

By the time we arrived at Fireside Hotel we were very tired and did not want to drive into town. We probably should have. We had a voucher for a free drink with entrée and that was great. We both had pork with maple glaze. The pork was a little tough but the glaze was really flavorful. Garlic mashed potatoes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that overall, you enjoyed the food, the view, and staff. I'm sorry that the pork was tough. I'll pass on this information to the Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage Director for their follow-up. Again, thank you for letting me know. It is through comments such as yours that we make things... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had crab turnovers an appetizer, they were delicious. For my meal I had one of the specials, the Atlantic Haddock with sweet potato and maple glazed carrots. The whole meal was wonderful. Our waitress Sam was very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for coming in for dinner, and thank you for your kind words. I was pleased to read that you have visited us before and had a great experience. I am pleased to see that we have not failed to impress. I will pass on to your server, Sam and to Chef Orion how much you enjoyed your dining... More

Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Dined here on a business trip. We felt the food was expensive for what you got. The check out for our group took like 1/2 an hour since they were having trouble with their machine. When I checked my credit card statement, they had put the charge through 2 times. I need to contact them and ask them to remove... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for having your group join us for dinner. I am sorry that we were having issues with the system while you were here, and it slowed your departure. I am confused about what you found expensive. Our entrees range from $12.99 up to $22.99. There are even items less than that. We are comparable with other restaurants in... More

Hallowell, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The menu selections were just okay, but the selection of draft beers on tap was good. If you're just staying a night or two and you don't want to venture into downtown Belfast or Searsport, why not eat here? The chowder is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us for dinner. I am glad that you enjoyed your food and the selections of draught beers. To maintain the freshest food, we do limit our selections during the winter. However, in summer, we have the opportunity to add in specials featuring local produce and fresh off the boat seafood. Come join us! Sincerely, Barry Asalone... More

florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The atmosphere was very pleasant and we were offered two free drinks with our entrees. It was convenient to have such a good restaurant in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and the kind words you said about food and service in your hotel review. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Lower Sackville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I dined here while staying at the Ocean's Edge Inn. The restaurant is small but comfortable. The server was friendly and the service quick. I ordered the Black Angus burger with fries and coleslaw. I was disappointed in the burger. The menu (I just rechecked on-line) stated that the burger was a "full 1/2 pound of black... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and thank you for dining with us. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your burger. We are conservative with seasoning, as some people are more sensitive than others. Since we prepare each meal to order, we are happy to tailor our entrees to fit each diner's tastes. We would be happy to season your... More

Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I were staying in the motel and arrived late so we decided to eat at the restaurant in the motel. He ordered the lazy man's lobster and I ordered lobster turnovers with lobster bisque. He said it was great, while I thought the lobster turnover was too salty, probably due to the late hour. It came was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for dining with us and thanks for your review. I am glad to hear that you found the lobster bisque amazing. I am sorry about the lobster turnover. It is my favorite. Perhaps yours was over seasoned. I will give your feedback to the Chef. I hope that you will try it again next year when you come back... More

Travelers who viewed The Ocean's Edge Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine

Been to The Ocean's Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing