We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ocean's Edge Restaurant

159 Searsport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-7100
+1 207-338-2646
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #18 of 49 restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ocean's Edge Restaurant specializes in quality cuisine served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere with exceptional views of Penobscot Bay.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ocean's Edge Restaurant specializes in quality cuisine served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere with exceptional views of Penobscot Bay.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    32
    11
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had crab turnovers an appetizer, they were delicious. For my meal I had one of the specials, the Atlantic Haddock with sweet potato and maple glazed carrots. The whole meal was wonderful. Our waitress Sam was very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for coming in for dinner, and thank you for your kind words. I was pleased to read that you have visited us before and had a great experience. I am pleased to see that we have not failed to impress. I will pass on to your server, Sam and to Chef Orion how much you enjoyed your dining... More

Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Dined here on a business trip. We felt the food was expensive for what you got. The check out for our group took like 1/2 an hour since they were having trouble with their machine. When I checked my credit card statement, they had put the charge through 2 times. I need to contact them and ask them to remove... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for having your group join us for dinner. I am sorry that we were having issues with the system while you were here, and it slowed your departure. I am confused about what you found expensive. Our entrees range from $12.99 up to $22.99. There are even items less than that. We are comparable with other restaurants in... More

Hallowell, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The menu selections were just okay, but the selection of draft beers on tap was good. If you're just staying a night or two and you don't want to venture into downtown Belfast or Searsport, why not eat here? The chowder is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us for dinner. I am glad that you enjoyed your food and the selections of draught beers. To maintain the freshest food, we do limit our selections during the winter. However, in summer, we have the opportunity to add in specials featuring local produce and fresh off the boat seafood. Come join us! Sincerely, Barry Asalone... More

florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The atmosphere was very pleasant and we were offered two free drinks with our entrees. It was convenient to have such a good restaurant in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and the kind words you said about food and service in your hotel review. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Lower Sackville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I dined here while staying at the Ocean's Edge Inn. The restaurant is small but comfortable. The server was friendly and the service quick. I ordered the Black Angus burger with fries and coleslaw. I was disappointed in the burger. The menu (I just rechecked on-line) stated that the burger was a "full 1/2 pound of black... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and thank you for dining with us. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your burger. We are conservative with seasoning, as some people are more sensitive than others. Since we prepare each meal to order, we are happy to tailor our entrees to fit each diner's tastes. We would be happy to season your... More

Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I were staying in the motel and arrived late so we decided to eat at the restaurant in the motel. He ordered the lazy man's lobster and I ordered lobster turnovers with lobster bisque. He said it was great, while I thought the lobster turnover was too salty, probably due to the late hour. It came was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for dining with us and thanks for your review. I am glad to hear that you found the lobster bisque amazing. I am sorry about the lobster turnover. It is my favorite. Perhaps yours was over seasoned. I will give your feedback to the Chef. I hope that you will try it again next year when you come back... More

Elyria, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been staying at the Comfort Inn for years; in the beginning the restaurant was not very good, but over the last several years, it has soared way up on the rating scale. I believe the changed occured when Chef Hightower took over the reins. What an amazing woman and chef. As for the review by Lenny B, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Carol B. for setting the record straight. In the past, we struggled to find just the right Culinary team. Two years ago, we hired the right combination of people in our restaurant. Folks like you have been telling us how much they appreciate the changes that we have made. Thanks for trying us again. We hope to see... More

HERTFORDSHIRE, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were staying in the hotel and therfore an easy walk to! we had a very well cooked meal and effective service, just could not manage a dessert to much main course! still next time!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

It is so nice to see a world traveler such as yourself with such kind words for our food and service. Thank you for writing. Should your travels bring you back to the USA, we hope to be one of your stops. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Oakland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the second we walked in the door, the feeling was very off. The hostess never smiled, was very unfriendly, not rude, but never smiled, or said Hello or Welcome. The waitress was just as bad, never smiled, was NOT helpful in any way. The food we wanted was not available, the "homemade" dessert was CLEARLY store bought, .There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us, and than you for writing. I am sorry that you didn't have the same great experience that others have had. Yes, we do eliminate live lobster as we go into winter. They don't do well when removed from their natural environment for any length of time. We serve copious amounts of lobster in the... More

Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The food and service in this restaurant was simply awesome! I had stuffed haddock one evening, and it was one of the best meals I ever ate. Another night I had lobster turnover, and once again, it was a delicious meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us, and thank you for writing. The lobster turnover is my summer favorite as well. You have chosen well, too with the baked stuffed haddock. It is our most popular dish. I am glad that you enjoyed both. We hope to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Travelers who viewed The Ocean's Edge Restaurant also viewed

 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Ocean's Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing