We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cook's Lobster House

68 Garrison Cove Rd, Bailey Island, ME 04003
(207) 833-2818
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
12 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    65
    52
    47
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

They are out on a peninsula on the Maine coast overlooking the only Cribwork bridge (between Orr's Island and Baily's Island) in the world, built in 1928 it's design allows the free flow of water between tide changes, and it stays up without any mortar of any kind holding it together, that's a plus. The staff is great, service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Short Hills, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

Stopped by after a visit to Bowdoin. Cooks is on Bailey Island on the Maine Coast. The area is very scenic and beautiful. Stopped by for dinner. Looks like a classic touristy Lobster place. The difference is that the cooking was quite good. Didn't order lobster since I thought the prices were too high. My wife had stuffed sole with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

If you want to take in a nice ocean front seafood restaurant but not break the bank and not have to dress to the nines, then this is the place for you. The atmosphere was casual and relaxed, and quite busy to be honest as we had a half hour wait. BUT, the wait was very pleasant as Kevin, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

Stopped in for lunch. Raw bar menu stated you could order oysters on the half shell ala carte. Was told I had to order at least six. Didn't feel like eating six oysters for an appetizer. Ordered the clam chowder instead. Basically got potatoes in milk. Haddock sandwich was disappointing as well. Way over priced for poor quality food. What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowdoinham, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The outside seating is in the back with trash not far away - no view. The dining room is a bit dark and old fashioned. The food is ok but there are better choices in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gray, Maine
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I admit....A little tourist trappie.....But it's convenient and the food is plentiful.My wife and I ordered the haddock sandwich.I got the fries and see got the coleslaw.I also ordered a cup of fish chowder. the time between ordering and when the meals where served was reasonable. Now...The reason for the title....I have never seen a whole haddock filet on one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We only stopped in for a few drinks and a snack after the Bailey's Island Cruse, the drinks were great and varied, especially good was the lobster bloody marry, and that alone would make it worth the trip out to the island. We also had a few fried dinners (clams and haddock) as finger snacks, that were equally good. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The food here used to be very good. I don't mind if it is pricey, if the food is excellent. Well, the prices were high, and the food was almost mediocre. You are paying a LOT for the view. There are plenty of other great places to eat in the area. Don't waste your money here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CooksLobsterHouse, Owner at Cook's Lobster House, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience. I appreciate you sharing your feedback so that I can address it with our management. More

McPherson, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have eaten at Cooks every year for the last 5 years while we are on vacation. The first time we had the lobster dip, fish and chips and blueberry pie for desert. It was delicious and the blueberry pie was the best we have ever had. Last year I had the very same thing and the blueberry pie was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CooksLobsterHouse, Owner at Cook's Lobster House, responded to this review

I'm very disappointed to hear about this. I thank you for being such loyal customers and I really appreciate you sharing this detailed feedback with us. I hope you'll give us a try again next year and get the Cook's experience that you remember! More

Orrs Island, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a pathetic excuse for a restaurant! First, I'd fire the cook and then the manager would go too on general principles. A lousy meal for two at $70.00. I gave the waiter 15% thinking that it wasn't his fault, but it surely was someone's fault. Mine for one, for not reading the reviews on here first. Two glasses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CooksLobsterHouse, Owner at Cook's Lobster House, responded to this review

Harry, I'm very sorry to hear this. We find reviews from our customers very constructive and I do appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. I sincerely apologize for your experience. More

Travelers who viewed Cook's Lobster House also viewed

 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine

Been to Cook's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Lobster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing