We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockingham Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
British, Pub, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Canada Road, Wellow SO51 6DE, England
01794 324798
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Built in 1840, The Rockingham Arms is a charming old village pub full of...
Built in 1840, The Rockingham Arms is a charming old village pub full of character and situated right at the edge of the beautiful New Forest, in a designated National Heritage area. Located in the picturesque village of West Wellow in the Test Valley, near Romsey in Hampshire, the pub is just off the A36 between Salisbury and Southampton and with easy access from Junction 2 of the M27. Our pub is an ideal place to stop for great food and drink for anyone visiting the northern reaches of the New Forest and is just a few minutes' drive away from the popular Paulton's Family Theme Park, home to the famous 'Peppa Pig World'. Also nearby is the stunning Mottisfont Abbey, a National Trust property with magnificent gardens and a renowned gallery featuring various exhibitions by some of the country's leading artists and photographers. Excellent forest walks are available right from the doorstep of The Rockingham Arms, across Canada Common - ideal to build up an appetite or to walk off your hearty meal!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 116 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely lunch

We searched for a dog-friendly pub with good food for lunch. We were all made extremely welcome (including the dog) and the food was very good. We were looked after by Andy who was very attentive and made good recommendations for our choices as did Georgie and Alex. After lunch we had a walk on... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 17, 2015
ScoutWorcester
,
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

The menu is relatively simple, some would say limited, but the food we had was of reasonable quality. However, the dishes are sparse in their accompaniments (e.g. virtually no vegetables to speak of with main dishes). Keeping things basic is not necessarily a bad thing, especially if it means the quality of what is provided is high, and the quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

In short, our visit was spoiled by the luke warm food which was cold before we finished eating it . The plates were not even warm! No one asked if our meals were ok, either after they had been served, or when we paid for them- which, if you want to know if customers to be happy and if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria G, Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this review

Hello Jenny000000 Thank you for your feedback and my apologies your dining experience failed to impress. We did have an issue with our serving hotplates in the kitchen on your visit which would explain why your meal was not at the hottest temperature. That said, our staff are trained to check back with all guests, once a table is served... More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We searched for a dog-friendly pub with good food for lunch. We were all made extremely welcome (including the dog) and the food was very good. We were looked after by Andy who was very attentive and made good recommendations for our choices as did Georgie and Alex. After lunch we had a walk on the common at the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We moved to the area end of last year and have eaten at The Rock a couple of times and visited for drinks more often!! The food is very nice - slightly overpriced but given location that is understandable. The Uphams beer is very good. So recommended for real ale drinkers. Take time to try all 3! I think the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wimborne UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Stopped here for lunch and my main of Caesar Salad was very good but was disappointed by the cheeseboard - it was the most expensive dessert but a poor quality and quantity item for the price, nevertheless a lovely bar and a hostelry following a walk on the heath

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We went last year when it was just refurbished and we left an excellent review. It was not a local visit we had travelled quite a way. We returned today the staff just as friendly but oh how disappointing was the meal. We ordered roast beef which was fine but the veg was not freshly cooked it had been warmed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria G, General Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Susan P Thank you for your comments and I'm sorry to read that your most recent trip to The Rockingham Arms didn't live up to your first. I can assure you that our kitchen team take huge pride in the dishes they create - on your visit, I know we were experiencing issues with our service hotplates which may... More 

Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Considering this is a country pub and not a restaurant, we had a very good lunch. I had ham, eggs and chips (you will find no better chips on the planet) and my wife had pie of the day with mash and cabbage. Uninspired veg but evidently the pie was delicious. All the staff were first class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilthire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Just returned after dining at the Rock . I ate the lemon sole (fish of the day) the other two diners chose the liver. I'm baffled as to what the restaurant got wrong, well apart from forgetting I asked for chips instead of the new potatoes listed on the menu, but this was rectified within minutes . Anyway they presented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Landford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

We went for an evening meal as a couple. Having been before and had a lovely meal we were disappointed with both the service and the meal this time. The whole pub was packed and we were pleased for the new owners. However, we were shown to our seats and then had to wait for 25 mins before anyone took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria G, Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this review

Dear HaryandMoby Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry your recent visit didn’t match your previous positive experience. Unfortunately, your visit coincided with the arrival of a wake, which we had no prior warning of, and an above-expected number of customers throughout the pub. This stretched our kitchen and table service team and, despite calling in additional staff on... More 

Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We chose the Rockingham Arms as a meeting place with friends and we weren't disappointed. Food was very good and staff very courteous and helpful. After lunch we left our cars in the car park and walked through the gate at the back and into the New Forest where you can walk for miles. A great place to take children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Rockingham Arms also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to Rockingham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Canada Road, Wellow SO51 6DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Wellow
  • Phone Number: 01794 324798

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 45
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Gastropub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Description

Built in 1840, The Rockingham Arms is a charming old village pub full of character and situated right at the edge of the beautiful New Forest, in a designated National Heritage area. Located in the picturesque village of West Wellow in the Test Valley, near Romsey in Hampshire, the pub is just off the A36 between Salisbury and Southampton and with easy access from Junction 2 of the M27. Our pub is an ideal place to stop for great food and drink for anyone visiting the northern reaches of the New Forest and is just a few minutes' drive away from the popular Paulton's Family Theme Park, home to the famous 'Peppa Pig World'. Also nearby is the stunning Mottisfont Abbey, a National Trust property with magnificent gardens and a renowned gallery featuring various exhibitions by some of the country's leading artists and photographers. Excellent forest walks are available right from the doorstep of The Rockingham Arms, across Canada Common - ideal to build up an appetite or to walk off your hearty meal!
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rockingham Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?