We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buckhead Mountain Grill

$$
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
35 Fairfield Ave, Newport, KY 41073-1036
859-491-7333
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 165 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 35
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Call Ahead!!!!!!

I did not know you could call ahead. After waiting 45 minutes, I was told there were still 7 people ahead of me. When I asked how could that be, I was informed of their policy that you could call ahead. Everyone that called ahead jumped the line, even when people were already waiting for a... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 29, 2015
ellsee74
,
Florence, KY
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

I did not know you could call ahead. After waiting 45 minutes, I was told there were still 7 people ahead of me. When I asked how could that be, I was informed of their policy that you could call ahead. Everyone that called ahead jumped the line, even when people were already waiting for a table. This policy stinks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Fun place to go. Lots of TVs and beautiful view of the river and downtown Cincinnati. Great number of TVs for game days of your sports teams

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

My wife and I were staying at the Comfort Suites nearby and ate at Buckhead. We got a little discount by showing our room key, which was nice. We went during happy hour and I had two 32 oz. beers with my meal, which were very reasonably priced. Our server, Brandon, we really cool and helpful. The only knock I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Good food great service a wide selection of items. Adult beverages. I like the Kentucky Hot Brown. Most tables have a Great view of the Ohio River and the town across the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

If the weather permits, we always enjoy eating on the deck with a view of the river and Cincinnati Skyline. The menu selection is varied with considerable choices. The food we have ordered has always been great and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

They have an excellent variety of foods to choose from on their menu. I had the penne pasta with marina sauce topped with grilled chicken. It was a huge portion and delicious. Everyone at my table enjoyed their dinner. It is a very popular restaurant and was quite crowded, but we didn't have to wait for a table. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

The food and service we've gotten has always been good. We enjoy eating outside in warm weather with the view of Cincinnati. In winter we love the table by the fireplace. It's a good idea to call ahead to get put on a wait list on the weekend evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

This used to be a good restaurant. Last night it was terrible. Service was slow, drinks were terrible and the food came out cold. The service was so slow, we waited about 15 minutes to get waited on and about 45 minutes to get served. By that time, it was dark out and we had to eat in the dark-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wes J, Manager at Buckhead Mountain Grill, responded to this review

Hi Char, We're so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on your last visit. We strive to provide pleasant, attentive service but it's clear that we had an off night when you visited. Thank you for leaving a review so we can improve, and we hope to be able to win your patronage back in the future. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

The food was average. I got cheese boulders (yum) and a portabella sandwich (needs to be jazzed up somehow). The place was jammed with people but our server was accommodating and timely. The main thing is that you can sit outside in the evening and see a beautiful sky over the Ohio river. That made it worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I have been here 3 times now and all 3 times I have been disappointed. The service is usually poor and the food is just so, so. They have such a great location, it could be so much better. Twice I have gone an the order has been messed up, the waiter never goes out of his way to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Buckhead Mountain Grill also viewed

 

Been to Buckhead Mountain Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 35 Fairfield Ave, Newport, KY 41073-1036
  • Location: United States  >  Kentucky (KY)  >  Newport
  • Phone Number: 859-491-7333

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 20
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Buckhead Mountain Grill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Springfield, Ohio
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Buckhead Mountain Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?