We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Stanton Restaurants

Leaping Hare

Wyken Vinyards, Stanton IP31 2DW, England
01359 250287
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stanton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

3 course Christmas lunch - DELICIOUS Kernling wine - SCRUMPTIOUS Service spot on as usual What else can we say?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Having been here for Farmers' Market breakfasts on a number of occasions, we looked forward with eager anticipation to dining in the restaurant as a birthday celebration. We were far from disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed virtually everything about our visit. The welcome was warm and very friendly with an excellent brigade front of house who kept up their professional but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We ate in the a la carte restaurant though there is an informal cafe available as well within the converted barn. For a high ceilinged building, the feel is still cosy with a wood burning stove in the middle and interesting artwork. The food was delicious - perfectly cooked fish and steak. Pheasant tagine that was delicious. The service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The views expressed by many about this place were encouraging so we decided to try it. On first impression it looked good and it was half full of diners. What a huge let down. The time from ordering our meal to the time it took to get to the table was terrible, the table staff were woefully inadequate (no eye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francis G, Manager at Leaping Hare, responded to this review

It is always disappointing if a guest is less than 100% happy and naturally we are sorry that on this,your first visit, you left underwhelmed. Whilst initially very upset by your completely false suggestion that a PR Agency is employed to enhance the reviews we receive we have since realised what a tremendous compliment you have paid to the only... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This little restaurant is very charming, wonderful ambiance, excellent value for money and in such a perfect rural setting. Not to mention the shop that can help while away many an hour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diss, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

As Shakespeare once wrote--ambition is a grievous fault--but here is a restaurant that is ambitious in its menus, its attention to food , its clarity in its delivery of the aforementioned by an incredible knowledgeable waitress. Where it falls down is that apart from a couple of members of the front house the others require a LOT of training to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Dinner on a Friday night 3 x courses £29.95! This is 5* dining at pub prices! Beautiful venue, excellent and helpful service, with advise on the dishes the staff have tasted! Comfortable, full nappery , delicious home made rosemary focaccia bread, choice of 5 x starters, cod fishcakes with poached egg and velouty sauce, followed by choice of 5 x... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The leaping is a very special place, it is a combination of wonderful food (I would describe it as modern British with a small but perfectly balanced menu, based on the seasons & local produce beautifully cooked. The home made focaccia bread served warm sets the scene. Last time we went I had mussels, which some the best I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

That says it all - a well thought out venue with a restaurant, cafe, shop and garden, seemingly 'in the middle of nowhere' but apparently not as it was full on a wet Wednesday. Very nice light lunch and the wine was pretty good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We had a anniversary dinner on Saturday evening as well as sunday breakfast. The restaurant has a great ambience with very professional, friendly staff. The food was delicious - I had seared mackeral with pickled sweet potato and mint yoghurt starter (star ingredient some sort of marinated lemon), local pork belly with ham hock croquette. Had to share desert as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Leaping Hare also viewed

Stowlangtoft, Bury St. Edmunds
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Leaping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaping Hare

Address: Wyken Vinyards, Stanton IP31 2DW, England
Phone Number: 01359 250287
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Stanton
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Leaping Hare staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?