We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dove Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Plum Pudding Lane, Dargate, Faversham ME13 9HB, England
+44 1227 751360
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Description: The Dove is a small country pub with a big reputation for outstanding food...
The Dove is a small country pub with a big reputation for outstanding food and service.Whether you want superb food, fine wine, local ales,The Dove welcomes you
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 176 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 110
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Delicious as always

We were here for midweek dinner and as ever the food was delicious. Dee is so welcoming as are all the staff, it is like coming home every time we go which is becoming more and more . The quality of the produce is first class always always a treat and never disappoints .

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Alison R
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointing The Dove is trying to be something it is not - a gastropub. Food below par burnt tasteless fishcakes, terrine was very hard. Lack of decent jus or sauce with mains.Best off sticking to simple stuff. Overpriced for what it was.

Helpful?
Thank Eriks P
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went this evening for a 30th birthday meal for 8 and had previously called to book. When we arrived it was clear they had forgotten but seated us. The food took a long time to come out and by the time we had got our dinner people had started arriving for a party in the pub which soon took over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethany c
Dove I, Manager at The Dove Inn, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry about your experience at The Dove, there was indeed a mix up with the date of your booking. When you booked you made the booking for the last Saturday in the month and we were expecting you the following week, if the mix up was our fault I sincerely apologise. I am pleased you enjoyed your food... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for midweek dinner and as ever the food was delicious. Dee is so welcoming as are all the staff, it is like coming home every time we go which is becoming more and more . The quality of the produce is first class always always a treat and never disappoints .

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

Amazing food, live music, brilliant service. Try it! Tasty Sunday dinners and midweek snacks.Garden in summer with live music.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim V
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

The pub itself is in a lovely setting and the interior was very oldeee world with lots of original features. On the night in question the pub was fairly empty. The food was of standard pub fair and I think a little overpriced. Drinks were also very expensive ,west end prices in a country pub. The service was ok but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Altnc
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch with some friends at the weekend. Lovely location, lovely food and lovely family atmosphere. The staff were really friendly and the food was really good. We were sat by a log fire which made all the difference on a windy cold wet day! Would advise booking as it git busy in the afternoon- already planned... More 

Helpful?
Thank natasha t
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Came for a Sunday roast last Sunday, we were late due to traffic and were accommodated no problem with a lovely table by the fire. Gorgeous food and exceptional service. Not cheap but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Emily P
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Sited in the hamlet of Dargate, the Dove is a lovely country pub that serves a limited, but exciting, menu. The ribs as a starter, is a meal in itself. With proper English food on the menu you can enjoy a good pint of beer and a filling and enjoyable meal in a clean tidy and almost old fashioned English... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benny B
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere good to eat in a pretty Kent village and we'd been directed to the Dove Inn. Thank goodness we persevered (Satnav got it wrong first time!) The Dove really is a remarkable place: warm and welcoming with a very friendly feel. We both opted for something from the sandwich menu: smoked salmon and steak, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Petrazeena
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We booked for a Monday night and the restaurant was fairly busy which is a good sign. The food was great and the staff were very friendly. It was exactly what we wanted and if we are in the area again we shall certainly come back.

Helpful?
Thank Ray-Jaynor

Travelers who viewed The Dove Inn also viewed

 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The Dove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Plum Pudding Lane, Dargate, Faversham ME13 9HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Faversham  >  Dargate
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 751360

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 58
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic

Description

The Dove is a small country pub with a big reputation for outstanding food and service.Whether you want superb food, fine wine, local ales,The Dove welcomes you
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Dove Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dove Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?