We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 250 Davenport Restaurants

Bix Bistro

200 E 3rd Street, Hotel Blackhawk, Davenport, IA 52801
5634845900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 250 Restaurants in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: The See-and-be-seen Scene at Bix Bistro and LoungeRelax in the contemporary setting of Bix Bistro, on the first floor of the hotel, offering great food prepared simply and freshly. Accompanied by a side of outstanding service and topped off with a varied beer, wine and spirits menu. Enjoy live music, appetizers and cocktails at Bix Lounge, a perfect retreat after a day of meetings or sightseeing.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW

Two lovely meals - difficult to choose from so many lovely menu choices! Service excellent and great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Enjoyed the bar area, and the cocktail prior to dinner, however was not overly impressed with the food....it was almost as they were trying a bit to hard. it was busy. and service was a little slow, but you could see the server was trying. I will try for lunch sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Dear mel o, Thank you for your review of Bix Bistro on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on providing top notch service and quality products. I am sorry that we missed the mark in your eyes. We hope to have you dine with again soon so we have the chance to show you the top notch service I know we... More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We held our father's 90th birthday party here - 15 adults and 2 children. Obviously, we spent some money but it was definitely worth it. Our servers (James and Todd) were outstanding. They could answer every question and make excellent suggestions. They were attentive but not intrusive. We had drinks, appetizers and dinner with everyone making his/her own selection. Food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Robin C, Thank you for your outstanding review of Bix Bistro. I am elated to hear of your great experience with us. Our team prides itself on providing a great guest experience, along with a quality product. We deeply appreciate your patronage. I will pass along your kind words to the staff! We hope to have you dine with... More

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Staying here for the race this weekend, and came to town a bit early. Tried it out yesterday, and was relatively pleased. I liked the ambiance a lot, and the soft jazz in the background was a good touch. A little pricey when it came to having a few cocktails, but had a good liquor selection. Will try it again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Steph M, I am so glad to hear you had a good time while in town for the race! Thank you for taking the time to review the Bix Bistro. It is rewiews like your that help us to continue to improve and provide the best service and product we can. We hope to have you join us again... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had Blackhawk salad and tuna tartar. Service was spectacular - have to say more, I guess, to get my 50 characters. LOL

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Good afternoon Karen A, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bix Bistro. I am elated to heard that you enjoyed your visit! We pride ourselves on great service and the best product, so to get your review is awesome! I will be sure to pass along your kind worrds to the staff. Thank you for... More

Elizabeth, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Bix Bistro for several lunches, which we enjoyed. So we decided to try their Sunday Brunch at 10:30 a.m. for my birthday. The jazz band playing was wonderful, which was the highlight of our visit. Everything else was a disappointment from the start, with a young server who was trying much too hard to be overly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Good Morning tootles55, Thank you for dining at Bix Bistro. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience on TripAdvisor. It is only through candid feedback like yours that we are able to identify opportunities and work on perfecting our guests’ experiences. I would like to apologize for the negative experience that you had. It... More

Coralville, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We made a reservation for the first night we were there ( 9 of us), and each ordered a different entrée. From fresh Mt. trout, to pork chops, steak, lobster bisque, salads, all were wonderful. On Wednesdays they have 1/2 price bottles of wine. We were lucky enough to be dining on a Wednesday. Lucky us! It was wonderful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Hello ntune, Thank you so much for your positive review of Hotel Blackhawk and Bix Bistro! I am elated to hear that your experience with us was a great one! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff. We pride ourselves on excellent service and I know they will be glad to hear it was... More

chicago
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We enjoyed drinks and food from the bar menu while staying at the hotel. Everything was fantastic. The first visit involved their house salad and a grouper sandwich, and a local brew. This was followed up with their daily popcorn- cinnamon sugar. Now, this may sound strange, but it was like a dessert and probably the best popcorn we ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Good morning crazyplatter, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here at Hotel Blackhawk! I am thrilled to hear that your time with us was pleasurable and everything was up to your standards. We pride ourselves on excellent service and products. We hope you chose to stay with us again! Thank you for your patronage.... More

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our waiter was very attentive, he helped and added a special touch to our family celebration. The food was fabulous. The Pork Chop was delicious. The manager stopped by a couple of times to check on us. Did notice they were short on a hostess, a family member was mistaken for a server. Over all we enjoyed our meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Amuze2u, Thank you for choosing the Bix Bistro for your family celebration. I am thrilled to hear you received excellent food, service, and that the staff took the time to add a special touch for your family. I will be sure to pass along your review to the staff so we can continue to provide superb service. I hope... More

Davenport, IA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Went for Sunday brunch. Was seated and never had a server come to table for 1 hr. We ate had drinks and talked still no server. Finally had to grab a sever to get check. Food ok. Drinks good(unlimited bloody marys and mimosas). Price little high for quality. Service not good...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DonnaB1943, Social Media Specialist at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Zatz82 thank you for reviewing your experience at one of Bix Bistro's Sunday Brunches. Agreed that a problem with service in any restaurant sets the tone for the entire experience. Clearly Bix Bistro failed to impress with the level of service we strive to offer all our guests. For that we indeed are very sorry. Please accept our apologies. We... More

Travelers who viewed Bix Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bix Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Bix Bistro?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing