We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
200 E 3rd Street, Hotel Blackhawk, Davenport, IA 52801
5634845900
Website
Today
6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The See-and-be-seen Scene at Bix Bistro and LoungeRelax in the...
The See-and-be-seen Scene at Bix Bistro and LoungeRelax in the contemporary setting of Bix Bistro, on the first floor of the hotel, offering great food prepared simply and freshly. Accompanied by a side of outstanding service and topped off with a varied beer, wine and spirits menu. Enjoy live music, appetizers and cocktails at Bix Lounge, a perfect retreat after a day of meetings or sightseeing.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 105 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 52
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good food, great service

We ate at the bar on a Friday night - we ordered the shrimp and grits and the Bix loaded fries. The fries were good and the shrimp and grits were excellent, probably the best dish we had at the restaurant. The bartender, Dylan, was very friendly and did a great job. They were out of a particular... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 3, 2015
Megan B
,
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Good for:
  • Bar scene
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Not only did they accommodate our party of 32 people, they did it with grace and precise timing. The staff was efficient yet friendly, attentive but not overbearing. The food was some of the best I've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Gretchen S, Thank you for your recent dining experience at Bix Bistro. I am so happy we were able to accommodate your large party. Thank you for your kind review about the food and our staff. I will be sure to pass along, your kind words. We hope that you visit Bix Bistro again soon! At your service, More 

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

We ate at the bar on a Friday night - we ordered the shrimp and grits and the Bix loaded fries. The fries were good and the shrimp and grits were excellent, probably the best dish we had at the restaurant. The bartender, Dylan, was very friendly and did a great job. They were out of a particular wine, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Megan B, Thank you for your recent dining experience at Bix Bistro. I am so happy that you enjoyed our award winning food. I am also so happy to hear that Dylan provided you with spectacular customer service. I will be sure to share with him, your fantastic review! At your service, More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Wonderful salads outstanding main dishes. Great, friendly service. All four meals were perfectly prepared. We would absolutely recommend this as a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

TravelinBuckI, Thank you for your recent dining experience with us at Bix Bistro. Also, thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to hear that you had a great experience! I will be sure to pass along to my Food and Beverage staff, your kind words. We hope to welcome you... More 

Chicago suburban area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

great creative food in the restaurant and the jazz brunch is a don't miss. They do an awesome Bloody Mary!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Chicagotraveler1956, Thank you for your recent dining experience with us at Bix Bistro. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our famous Sunday Jazz Brunch from the wide variety of food to our amazing bloody Marys. We hope to welcome you back again soon! At your service. More 

Carbondale, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I got the Grilled Portobello. The mushroom was overcooked and not very flavorful. The Gouda cheese on top just seemed weird. Service was pretty slow for a Monday night. It almost seemed a bit intentional -- maybe to make it seem more like a fine dining experience? I did enjoy the atmosphere and hate to knock a restaurant too much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

gemini8200, Thank you for your recent dining experience at Bix Bistro. I am happy that you liked the ambiance of our beautiful hotel and restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your entrée. We hope that you can give us another chance soon! At your service, More 

Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

DO NOT EVER GET BRUNCH HERE. it was a terrible experience and not worth it at all. weak drinks, bad food, band stopped playing. I like this restaurant but the brunch is terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

CaptainRome, Thank you for your recent dining experience at the Bix Bistro. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy our Sunday Brunch. We pride ourselves on our Sunday Jazz Brunch where we offer an array of food and drinks. Please let me know if there's anything we can do to change your mind. Feel free to reach... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

My wife had the shrimp and grits appetizer and it was excellent. No dislikes, we would like to come back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Taz1040, Thank you for your recent dining experience with us at Bix Bistro. Also, thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at the fabulous Bix Bistro! We hope to welcome you back again soon! At your service, More 

Quad Cities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Ate at the Bix Bistro before going to Jersey Boys at the Adler. We keep eating at the Bix because the food is usually really good and it's convenient before Adler events, but service is always a mess. This time the food was an issue, but we had great service. Our apps, salads, and dessert courses were fantastic, but our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Katie S, Thank you for your recent dining experience at Bix Bistro. I am sad to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. I will be sure to pass along to my Food and Beverage staff, your review. We are always appreciative of any feedback as it will help guide us and improve so we can... More 

Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We usually try to stop at the Bix Bistro whenever we are visiting the Quad Cities and it has usually been very good. This time, however, we were disappointed. The four of us arrived in early evening, planning to have a couple of their Prohibition Era cocktails, along with some small plates. We were told that all of the small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Karen L, Thank you for your recent visit with us at Bix Bistro. I am sorry to hear that your experience at Bix was disappointing. We pride ourselves in giving guests a unique and memorable experience. It sounds like we have fallen short of this. I will be sure to pass along to my Food and Beverage staff, your review... More 

Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

I ate breakfast here twice while staying at The Blackhawk. The first morning was a real disaster in terms of the service. One person in our party of 4 was served her breakfast and we all waited for another 4 minutes before the rest of the table was served. This is a pet peeve of mine: I see it as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Chip K, Thank you for your recent dining experience at Bix Bistro. I am unhappy to hear that you had such a terrible experience at with us. We pride ourselves on creating a unique and memorable experience for our guests. It sounds like we have fallen short on this for you. I will be sure to share this with my... More 

Travelers who viewed Bix Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bix Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bix Bistro

Address: 200 E 3rd Street, Hotel Blackhawk, Davenport, IA 52801
Phone Number: 5634845900
Location: United States  >  Iowa (IA)  >  Davenport
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 9 - 35
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 200 E 3rd Street, Hotel Blackhawk, Davenport, IA 52801
  • Location: United States  >  Iowa (IA)  >  Davenport
  • Phone Number: 5634845900

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 35
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene

Description

The See-and-be-seen Scene at Bix Bistro and LoungeRelax in the contemporary setting of Bix Bistro, on the first floor of the hotel, offering great food prepared simply and freshly. Accompanied by a side of outstanding service and topped off with a varied beer, wine and spirits menu. Enjoy live music, appetizers and cocktails at Bix Lounge, a perfect retreat after a day of meetings or sightseeing.
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bix Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?