We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bix Bistro

200 E 3rd Street, Hotel Blackhawk, Davenport, IA 52801
5634845900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 248 restaurants in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: The See-and-be-seen Scene at Bix Bistro and LoungeRelax in the contemporary setting of Bix Bistro, on the first floor of the hotel, offering great food prepared simply and freshly. Accompanied by a side of outstanding service and topped off with a varied beer, wine and spirits menu. Enjoy live music, appetizers and cocktails at Bix Lounge, a perfect retreat after a day of meetings or sightseeing.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    39
    13
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Had Blackhawk salad and tuna tartar. Service was spectacular - have to say more, I guess, to get my 50 characters. LOL

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Good afternoon Karen A, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bix Bistro. I am elated to heard that you enjoyed your visit! We pride ourselves on great service and the best product, so to get your review is awesome! I will be sure to pass along your kind worrds to the staff. Thank you for... More

Elizabeth, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

We have been to Bix Bistro for several lunches, which we enjoyed. So we decided to try their Sunday Brunch at 10:30 a.m. for my birthday. The jazz band playing was wonderful, which was the highlight of our visit. Everything else was a disappointment from the start, with a young server who was trying much too hard to be overly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Good Morning tootles55, Thank you for dining at Bix Bistro. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience on TripAdvisor. It is only through candid feedback like yours that we are able to identify opportunities and work on perfecting our guests’ experiences. I would like to apologize for the negative experience that you had. It... More

Coralville, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We made a reservation for the first night we were there ( 9 of us), and each ordered a different entrée. From fresh Mt. trout, to pork chops, steak, lobster bisque, salads, all were wonderful. On Wednesdays they have 1/2 price bottles of wine. We were lucky enough to be dining on a Wednesday. Lucky us! It was wonderful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Hello ntune, Thank you so much for your positive review of Hotel Blackhawk and Bix Bistro! I am elated to hear that your experience with us was a great one! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff. We pride ourselves on excellent service and I know they will be glad to hear it was... More

chicago
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We enjoyed drinks and food from the bar menu while staying at the hotel. Everything was fantastic. The first visit involved their house salad and a grouper sandwich, and a local brew. This was followed up with their daily popcorn- cinnamon sugar. Now, this may sound strange, but it was like a dessert and probably the best popcorn we ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Good morning crazyplatter, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here at Hotel Blackhawk! I am thrilled to hear that your time with us was pleasurable and everything was up to your standards. We pride ourselves on excellent service and products. We hope you chose to stay with us again! Thank you for your patronage.... More

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our waiter was very attentive, he helped and added a special touch to our family celebration. The food was fabulous. The Pork Chop was delicious. The manager stopped by a couple of times to check on us. Did notice they were short on a hostess, a family member was mistaken for a server. Over all we enjoyed our meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Amuze2u, Thank you for choosing the Bix Bistro for your family celebration. I am thrilled to hear you received excellent food, service, and that the staff took the time to add a special touch for your family. I will be sure to pass along your review to the staff so we can continue to provide superb service. I hope... More

Davenport, IA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Went for Sunday brunch. Was seated and never had a server come to table for 1 hr. We ate had drinks and talked still no server. Finally had to grab a sever to get check. Food ok. Drinks good(unlimited bloody marys and mimosas). Price little high for quality. Service not good...

Was this review helpful? Yes
DonnaB1943, Social Media Specialist at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Zatz82 thank you for reviewing your experience at one of Bix Bistro's Sunday Brunches. Agreed that a problem with service in any restaurant sets the tone for the entire experience. Clearly Bix Bistro failed to impress with the level of service we strive to offer all our guests. For that we indeed are very sorry. Please accept our apologies. We... More

Davenport, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We just wanted to write in to say thank you for the wonderful way our family was treated after the tragic loss of a family member a couple of weeks ago. Our whole family went to Bix Bistro after the funeral service and the attention we received was second to none. Todd went above the call of duty to ensure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DonnaB1943, Publicity and Social Media at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Bix Bistro, the food, and our staff. We were happy to serve you and your family, and we look forward to seeing all of you any time you join us. Our thoughts are with you as the healing process begins in the days ahead. More

Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were a little hesitant about trying Bix due to some of the reviews posted here, but I'm so glad we did. Seriously, our food was perfect. Every bite .Our cocktails were generous and properly cold. The tuna tartare starter was really flavorful and unique--kind of like an architectural ceviche in presentation. Different types of bread and 3 butters were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DonnaB1943, Publicity and Social Media at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Good Morning SandyOma, Thank you for taking the time to review Bix Bistro. The tuna tartar, beef medallions, and the Presidential pork chops are favorites on the menu. Chef Josh and our staff will be pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us. We will be sure a copy of your review is posted on the employee board. More

Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We did a carry out for lunch here and although the food was good, our orders were messed up. My chicken caesar wrap did not have any bruschetta tomatoes as it was supposed to. My wrap was supposed to come with fresh fruit but instead they put my friend's pasta salad in with it, while my fruit was placed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DonnaB1943, Publicity and Social Media at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Silverchairchick, thank you for reviewing Bix Bistro. We are sorry to hear we did not get your food to you the way it should have been. Our apologies to you and your guest. Customer service is very important to us, and we take to heart what our customers have to say. There is always a senior staff member on duty,... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I travel very often to the QC area and one of my favorite places to go is Bix Bistro. As a business woman it is easy to miss your family when you are away...... Here, I feel at home! The menu is extraordinary and the service makes you stay longer just enjoying the place. Congratulations to the new Chef, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DonnaB1943, Publicity and Social Media at Bix Bistro, responded to this review

Claudia R, Bix Bistro is always glad to welcome you on your return visits to Hotel Blackhawk and Bix Bistro. Thank you for taking the time to review Bix Bistro. We will be sure Chef Josh sees your compliments to the chef. Bix Bistro looks forward to seeing you again! More

Been to Bix Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bix Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing