We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atwater's

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Seafood, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15 South River Lane, Geneva, IL 60134
+1 630-208-8920
Website
Improve this listing
Today
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fine dining on the waterfront at this gem, tucked inside the Herrington...
Fine dining on the waterfront at this gem, tucked inside the Herrington Inn & Spa. Al fresco dining in season. Serves three meals daily, open 365 days per year. Advance reservations highly recommended Private waterfront Gazebo for 8 guests is also available.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 78 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 56
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Romantic Dinner

We have eaten there and it is great. I have food problems and the chef made we something special. It is very romantic. I went for my birthday and my husband's birthday too because we liked it so much. I will go back every year because it is such a special place for couples.

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 4, 2015
w0nderfultime
,
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 NEW

We have eaten there and it is great. I have food problems and the chef made we something special. It is very romantic. I went for my birthday and my husband's birthday too because we liked it so much. I will go back every year because it is such a special place for couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

If you are looking for a very nice place to eat while in Geneva, this is the place for you. Great atmosphere for a couple or group. Wait staff is excellent. I had steak the night I ate here and it melted in my mouth. Very favorable and was cooked to order.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
herrington_geneva, Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments on our food, we appreciate that you took the time to share them! We hope to welcome you back to Atwater's very soon. More 

Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

The service was excellent and there was a wide range of food choices. All meals were well presented and tasted wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
herrington_geneva, Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope to have you back again! More 

Manhattan, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

The food was wonderful, and the wait staff was attentive. Just a little disappointed that they did not give us anything for celebrating my birthday. They had a card on the table, but we didn't get any sort of goodie, which is surprising at such an expensive restaurant. I've been to restaurants that give a dessert or a drink, even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
herrington_geneva, Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry that we did not provide a little something sweet for you on your birthday, as this is typically something we do. Please let me know if you return, I am happy to attend personally to your reservation and make sure your birthday is celebrated in grander fashion. We hope to see you again! Sincerely,... More 

Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

I had breakfast in the dining rom several times and used room service for a late night light dinner. Excellent every time....better than your standard hotel fare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
herrington_geneva, Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know about your excellent experience in Atwater's. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon! More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

What fabulous service! From the beginning our water server Temo to our server were excellent. Our food was just as good. We started with crab cakes, had carrot soup and salad. Our entrées were Ahi Tuna with Forbidden rice and Red Snapper with white rice. What a fabulous evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
logwes, General Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Congratulations on your anniversary. I am very pleased you selected Atwater's to celebrate your special occasion and I am glad you had a good experience. Thank you for the wonderful comments. Sincerely, Paul Ruby, GM More 

Sylvania, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Had dinner here last night and even though the restaurant was pretty empty the staff was on top of every empty glass and clearing off finished plates. The sturgeon was very good as was my wife's filet. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was the chef was heavy with he salt shaker last night and the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
logwes, General Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I appreciate your feedback and I will pass on your comments to the chef and service staff. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Paul Ruby, GM More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Atwater's standard for good customer service is above and beyond any other restaurant I have ever been to! All staff members (from hostess to bartender to phenomenal waiters) are to make sure your experience is the best and your dinner is perfect. The food is absolutely amazing. You can not go wrong with anything on the menu. Prepared perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
herrington_geneva, Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on our food and service, we hope to welcome you back sometime soon! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Dined here last Thursday for our 10 year anniversary and couldn't have been more pleased. Excellent service from start to finish. Congratulatory card signed by entire staff on our table was a nice, personal touch. Window table overlooking the courtyard, gazebo, and river. Our server, Renee, was fabulous and gave wonderful recommendations. Room felt intimate, even with full tables. Chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
herrington_geneva, Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we strive to exceed expectations here in Atwater's, and we are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful! More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Service was impeccable. Selection on the menu is varied with seafood, lamb, beef etc. I had the CA sturgeon fish which was flavorful and perfectly cooked. The ahi tuna portion was huge and was rare as ordered. They have a lengthy wine list. The dining room is very beautiful with tables sufficiently spread out from one another. Nice view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
logwes, General Manager at Atwater's, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your experience at Atwater's. I am very pleased to share your review with the staff responsible for making your dinner special. We hope you have an opportunity to return soon. Sincerely, Paul Ruby, GM More 

Travelers who viewed Atwater's also viewed

 

Been to Atwater's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 15 South River Lane, Geneva, IL 60134
  • Location: United States  >  Illinois (IL)  >  Geneva
  • Phone Number: +1 630-208-8920

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20 - 60
  • Cuisine: Seafood, International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Romantic

Description

Fine dining on the waterfront at this gem, tucked inside the Herrington Inn & Spa. Al fresco dining in season. Serves three meals daily, open 365 days per year. Advance reservations highly recommended Private waterfront Gazebo for 8 guests is also available.
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Atwater's and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Atwater's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?