We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8,413 Chicago Restaurants

Sushi Samba Rio - CLOSED

504 N Wells St, Chicago, IL 60654-7112 (Near North Side)
312-595-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
CLOSED
Price range: $40 - $60
Neighborhood: Near North Side
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Merchant Mart el stops
Description: Only at SUSHISAMBA will you find a unique blend of Japanese, Brazilian and Peruvian cuisine, music and design. Inspired by early 20th century interactions in South America between these cultures, SUSHISAMBA serves traditional dishes, plus more inventive fare. Hearty moquecas and colorful seviches have found a place at the table alongside simple miso soup and tender sashimi. Innovative creations such as Sashimi Seviche, Tuna Tataki and our South American Beef Maki Roll are also on the menu, as are our creative signature cocktails.

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    66
    38
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We went with a bunch of friends during a convention and it was for after hour music and drinks. It had a great ambience and has a great after hour bar and music vibe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Loved that they created a menu for our large group based on the likes of the overall group. A bit on the pricey side, but worth it! Great food, great service!! Very accommodating for large group!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This place was recommended to us and I love sushi. The menu isn't easy to follow and you have no idea how much you'll get. A bit difficult if you're on a budget. Our waiter was very attentive until he realised we weren't going to spend over $100. Saying this the sushi is amazing. The spicy tuna rolls - OMG!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roscoe, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was a little worried about booking this restaurant since the last few reviews all complained of service. Our service started off great. We had Danielle who was amazing at making recommendations and helping us pick items from the menu. He was also very patient and accommodating with our children. We came for an early dinner to avoid the crowds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUSHISAMBAgroup, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Samba Rio, responded to this review

Dear Lovenlife77, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant. We always appreciate it when our guests give us feedback because it is instrumental in helping us continue to grow. Despite not having a perfect experience, we hope you will return for another meal with us some day soon. Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager More 

Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our service was terrible, Food came out very slowly and one dish at a time. If we had not reminded the waitress that we were missing food that we ordered we would still be there. Sushi was good and OK, Atmosphere is cool

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUSHISAMBAgroup, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Samba Rio, responded to this review

Dear Susan L., We appreciate your review. We take every bit of feedback from our guests to heart because it is very important to us that we continue to grow. Despite not having a perfect experience, we very much hope you'll return and try another meal with us in the future. Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager More 

Kennesaw, Georgia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place was recommended by a friend! It was an extremely pleasant surprise. Every bite was mouth watering! You will not be disappointed by any means! I ordered the salmon roll and my date had the beef tenderloin roll. FANTASTIC!!!!!! I ordered the coconut rice and plantains...they were the best! The staff was magnificent! Carlos was our waiter and he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUSHISAMBAgroup, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Samba Rio, responded to this review

Dear Melissa211, We're delighted that you chose to spend part of your stay in Chicago with us. Many thanks for your kind words about our food and and service. Please be sure to visit us again whenever you are in town. Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Aside from the average size TV and lack of places to sit to actually watch the game! The sofas and tables in the lounge area are in terrible condition. May be I have become picky about the quality of sushi since we have a lot of good sushi places in Chicago but this place is really bad. Sushi is so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUSHISAMBAgroup, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Samba Rio, responded to this review

We extend the sincerest of apologies for your experience and we'd like to connect with you. Can you email us at guestrelations@sushisamba.com? More 

raleigh, nc
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I went with a large group on business. We mainly ordered drinks and appetizers. The small plates were much better than the rolls. We ordered the rock shrimp tempura and the crispy taquitos - both yellowtail and lobster. Between the two, I would order the rock shrimp tempura, but both (all three?) were good. We ordered the samba rio rolls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUSHISAMBAgroup, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Samba Rio, responded to this review

Dear bbk3e, It's wonderful to hear that you and your party chose to dine with us during your visit to Chicago. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our small plates. Despite not having a perfect experience, we hope that you will return for another meal with us again in the future. Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager More 

Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The kitchen here is first rate. The blending of cultures and tastes is fantastic and unique to these guys. The service is very very good. I've been here several times. Make a reservation. Be picky about where you sit - the banquettes are not comfortable to me. My request to the host is that they stock a good non alcoholic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUSHISAMBAgroup, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Samba Rio, responded to this review

Dear Mitch R., We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. We also appreciate your critique as we always give high regard to feedback from our guests. Hopefully, you will come back for return for another visit soon. Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The food was great!! We tried the Tuna Tataki, the Wagyu Gyoza, Bobo Brazil roll, Topo roll and the Yellowtail tiradito. Amazing! The crispy tacos not so much though. Service was excellent, our server Daniel was on top of everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUSHISAMBAgroup, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Samba Rio, responded to this review

Dear Aimee A., It's wonderful to hear that you and your party enjoyed delicious food and excellent service at our restaurant. The happiness of our guests is very important to us so both your compliments and critique will be kept in mind as we continue to grow. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Sushi Samba Rio also viewed

 

Additional Information about Sushi Samba Rio

Address: 504 N Wells St, Chicago, IL 60654-7112
Phone Number: 312-595-2300
Location: United States  >  Illinois (IL)  >  Chicago>  > Near North Side
Average Prices: USD 40 - 60

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing