We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Water Kitchen

$$$
Neighborhood:
Downtown / The Loop
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
225 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60601 (Wacker)
Lake St. stop on the Red Line.
+1 312-236-9300
Website
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 11:30 pm
Sat 7:00 am - 12:00 am
Good for:
Casual Dining
Families with children
Romance
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 280 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 84
    Excellent
  • 115
    Very good
  • 58
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good Place to Eat

We ate at the South Water Kitchen while in Chicago...mostly because they were the only ones with room for 18 of us. I decided on the Pappardelle meal for dinner. I was told that they were out of that option but that they had a nice Penne Pasta with chicken dinner as a substitute. Well, I love... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
Kurt C
,
Phoenix, Arizona
Good for:
  • Casual Dining
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Takeout
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

We ate at the South Water Kitchen while in Chicago...mostly because they were the only ones with room for 18 of us. I decided on the Pappardelle meal for dinner. I was told that they were out of that option but that they had a nice Penne Pasta with chicken dinner as a substitute. Well, I love Penne pasta and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

Kurt C., Thanks much for your honest feedback! We took your comments and are using them as a training tool with our team. The next time you’re back in town, let me know! I would love the chance to personally make sure your next visit is an all-out success. Cheers! Charlotte O'Donahue - GM charlotte.odonahue@southwaterkitchen.com More 

Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Son had pumpkin french toast, I had scrambled eggs and bacon. Delicious. Friendly staff, fast service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

J B, So glad you loved your breakfast. South Water Kitchen is lucky to have Chef Waysok in the kitchen grilling, frying, mixing, chopping and all of the other brilliant things he does. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be sure to share your review with our team. Warmly, Charlotte O'Donahue - GM More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I sat at the bar and had drinks and shared plates with a colleague. The food and drink choices were creative and did not disappoint. I was very happy with this as a choice for a quick, casual lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

Lauren H., We’re thrilled you chose South Water Kitchen and had a great time. Sending happy, shiny thoughts right back at you! We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago Cheers! Charlotte O'Donahue - GM More 

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We made our Inner Circle reservation after we booked our room and we were not disappointed. We had some of the best service along was some really great food. The chef sent us out a special order of scallops which were just perfect. It was a great start to our meal. It was followed up with my Cornish Hen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

siggs99, So glad you loved your dinner. South Water Kitchen is lucky to have Chef Waysok in the kitchen grilling, frying, mixing, chopping and all of the other brilliant things he does. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be sure to share your review with our team. Cheers! Charlotte O'Donahue - GM More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Ate here twice and had a remarkable experience both times. Atmosphere is great and it's attached to the Monaco Hotel (Kimpton). Burger was one of the best I've ever had. Staff was incredibly attentive, but did not feel like they were smothering. Best part-- very safe for people with food allergies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

Hello Sweetie11, So glad you loved your dinner. South Water Kitchen is lucky to have Chef Waysok in the kitchen grilling, frying, mixing, chopping and all of the other brilliant things he does. We’re really proud of the warm, intimate atmosphere we created and love that you noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Imaginative menu well done, good wine selection and all fairly priced. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

twb951, We're thrilled you chose South Water Kitchen and had a great time. Sending happy, shiny thoughts right back at you! Cheers! Charlotte O'Donahue - GM More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

The food was good and the service was average. We were disappointed that all 3 salmon options on the brunch menu were not available at 11:00 on Sunday; it seems a little early to run out of salmon when you offered on so many options on the menu with this item. The seasonal mimosa carafe was a nice add-on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

Catherine P., So sorry! The situation you encountered at our restaurant was pretty rare, but that doesn’t make it any more right. We always try to do our best and hope you will let us prove this to you during your next visit. Running out of an ingredient is never something we hope to have happen, and unfortunately that is... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco and this is the connected restaurant. It was a cold windy night and we had just arrived, so a drink and dinner without going back out seemed like a good plan. Like other reviewers said, the bar is fantastic. Dan and Brent were working and have concocted some fun original cocktails. We each tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

BruceG01, We love to hear our guests say that they enjoy our relaxed vibe. We’re glad you got that feeling. Dan & Brent are definitely our go-to masters at the bar! Dan is working on a few new items for spring - hopefully he'll be ready to show them off the next time you visit. Cheers! Charlotte O'Donahue - GM More 

Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Tried the duck, based on recommendation of server. Meat was not seasoned and skin had no crisp. Risottos flavor was good but some was cold and the rest warm - stir the pot! Bread pudding was similarly lukewarm. Was not a busy night - kitchen should do better for these prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

Acowles, Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We take honest comments from people like yourself very seriously. It pains us to hear the not-so-good stuff, but it helps us learn and improve! We really want to win our guests over, so I have reviewed your feedback with our Executive Chef to make sure this isn’t repeated. We... More 

Kitchener, Ontario
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We were staying at The Trump and wanted a change from their breakfast menu and researched restaurants a close walk away that might fit the bill. Would highly recommend the delicious and varied breakfasts that South Water Kitchen serves, the cleanliness and the prompt service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthWaterKitchen, General Manager at South Water Kitchen, responded to this review

celticmoon, We’re thrilled you chose South Water Kitchen and had a great time. Sending happy, shiny thoughts right back at you! Cheers! Charlotte O'Donahue - GM More 

Travelers who viewed South Water Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to South Water Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 225 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60601
    (Wacker)
  • Public Transportation: Lake St. stop on the Red Line.
  • Location: United States  >  Illinois (IL)  >  Chicago>  > Downtown / The Loop
  • Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
  • Phone Number: +1 312-236-9300

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20 - 35
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
6:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Water Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.