We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Tybee Island Restaurants

Dolphin Reef Restaurant

Oceanfront at 15th St, Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-8400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Located Oceanfront at 15th Street inside Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
Description: You are invited to dine at the Dolphin Reef Oceanfront Restaurant & Bar where you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and nearby sandy beaches. Dolphin Reef features a flavorful fusion of American and Southern cuisines with an emphasis on fresh seafood, all presented in a unique underwater themed environment to make your dining experience memorable. Located in the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, we are open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We are also Tybee Island's premier banquet and special event facility. Come to Dolphin Reef where the only thing more spectacular than our food is the view. Tour groups are welcome, and we offer a kid's menu. Advance reservations are requested for groups of 8 or more people. Dolphin Reef is located 20 minutes East of Savannah, Georgia on U.S. Highway 80. Parking is free. Be sure to park inside Ocean Plaza Resort's parking lot.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    40
    37
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Great food, great staff visited for an anniversary and had a great meal - you can watch the ocean and stay warm inside they also offered a breakfast buffet which was great and large selection

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

Awful food and service what a waste of that view did not receive the food as listed on the menu items werr

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Breakfast buffet with omelets made to order. Greek yogurt parfaits and Gevalia brand coffee. Less than ten dollars. Pretty delicious. Not to mention a third story view of the ocean. Didn't have dinner here but breakfast is a must if you're on Tybee Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPBR Management T, Owner at Dolphin Reef Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for having breakfast with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you loved our new breakfast. After experimenting with a breakfast buffet and ala carte breakfast, we came up with a hybrid that our guests have been raving about. We offer a deluxe continental breakfast for $6.99 and a "Rise and Shine" option that includes the... More

Savannah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Being savannah locals, we wanted to try somewhere new on Tybee. I wish we didn't come here. The food was okay. The fish is battered in something that taste like an elephant ear. The service was AWFUL. We were one of two tables in the entire restaurant. We TOLD our server we wanted the nachos as an appetizer and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPBR Management T, Owner at Dolphin Reef Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and please accept my most sincere apologies. There is absolutely no excuse for your experience. I will be reviewing your post with my team members and taking corrective steps immediately. We purchased the hotel on July 31st and have been working around the clock to make improvements. We are focused... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

If you want a nice romantic restaurant with a great view, this is it! The prices are a little steep for what you get but the view makes up for that. Share a meal and reconnect your romance with your significant other :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPBR Management T, Owner at Dolphin Reef Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at the Dolphin Reef and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We do offer an AMAZING view. In the morning, we have stunning sunrises and dolphins swimming in the surf. At night, as the sun sets on the other side of the island, we get an ever changing kaleidoscope of colors. The restaurant offers a stunning back... More

Clay City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our first night we ate here. It took forever to get our drink order, tea, water and soft drinks. Then waitress took forever to take our orders. Price was ok but expect to wait on meals. We were staying at ,the Ocean Plaza resort connected to restaurant so we tried the morning breakfast/brunch and had the most wonderful staff and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPBR Management T, Owner at Dolphin Reef Restaurant, responded to this review

We really appreciate you dining in the Dolphin Reef and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Slow service (even on "island time") is completely unacceptable. I apologize and promise to focus our teams efforts on improving service. I'm glad you enjoyed your meals and our breakfast. We hope you will give us another opportunity to share our improvements... More

Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

So, my fifth wedding anniversary was coming up and I was looking for a quiet place to eat a nice meal with my wife. Then someone told me about Dolphin Reef and that it is directly on the beach. I called them and asked to make a reservation for 2 on a Friday at 8. As is normal they said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OPBR Management T, Owner at Dolphin Reef Restaurant, responded to this review

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for letting us be part of your special day. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your dinner. We are in the process of reinventing the Dolphin Reef. We are asking our guests a lot of questions and learning in the process. We want to provide guests and locals a restaurant that consistently offers... More

Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

They had great prices, wonderful food, and the restaurant was very clean. The service was also great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPBR Management T, Owner at Dolphin Reef Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for eating at the Dolphin Reef and taking time to post a review. Since purchasing the hotel on July 31st we have been focused on food quality and cleaning. Both levels of the restaurant needed maintenance and some serious deep cleaning. I'm thrilled to say that the staff has done an amazing job of improving the overall quality... More

Monticello, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The first thing you hear is how many awards this restaurant has recieved. We were staying at the hotel and decided to give it a try. We had basic burgers with fries, and the price was around 13 per person. Not bad, we were also getting takeout so I did not expect the not caring and absolutely unnatentive service. Immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPBR Management T, Owner at Dolphin Reef Restaurant, responded to this review

Can't thank you enough for staying with us and dining from the Dolphin Reef. Please know that the hotel and restaurant were purchased on July 31st. We have been working around the clock making improvements. Service in our restaurant is a major focus. The team in the restaurant is incredibly caring and simply needs training and to be held accountable.... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After looking at this location online we decided it would be great for a family dinner, since it advertised a children's menu was available and it had the bonus of overlooking the beach. We were appalled by the lack of ambience and service. The dining room was not very busy and we asked for a table by the window. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Reef Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Dolphin Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Reef Restaurant

Address: Oceanfront at 15th St, Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number: 912-786-8400
Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Tybee Island
Cuisine: American, Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing