We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The SandBar and Grill - CLOSED

711 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0831
912-635-7906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Sandwiches
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert

190 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    50
    58
    45
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We ate, dined, and played at the Sandbar the first week of June, 2013. Good stuff! The food and service were excellent. Served quickly and plenty to eat. Afterwards, a couple of games of 8 ball and ice cold beers, along with being on the beach...doesn't get much better than that. We highly recommend this spot which is right there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went for lunch and had a great time and wonderful food. But went back later that night for a couple of drinks, and what a shock--one beer and one vodka and sprite cost $10.87 and the service was less than average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miamisburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I vacation frequently here on Jekyll and the SandBar has been one of our favorites for breakfast. Each weekday, Monday thru Friday they have a different breakfast special which is both tasty and a bargain. The service weekdays is excellent and prompt. The food is always good. We have found however that when they are busy, good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family and I actually ate here the first and last night of our Jekyll Island Stay. The menu was quite extensive and everyone's plate was delicious. The Peruvian Chicken dishes, corn fritters, baked potato soup and fish were all fantastic. Only downside was the Philly Cheesesteak was sold out both visits! Would recommend in a heartbeat and the servers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a really nice waitress! She was very friendly. We met with a couple that live on the island and eat there at least 1 time a week. The hamburger was fresh and good. Ask about the nightly special. The Hilton has recently bought and will be remodeling according to them by spring 2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Three buds and I were down for a fishing trip and to check out the local RV parks. We were staying across the street but wanted a quick lunch so we came over. I had the pound of peel & eat shrimp and they were very good. The service was great from Lance. He is a quiet fellow, but nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I live on Jekyll Island and eat at the SandBar and Grill regularly. My husband and I are always treated with respect and welcomed each time we visit. The food has always been consistent in taste and appearance - very good. One of my favorite items on the menu is the onion loaf - it is yummy! I also like... More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The servers were sweet. That was not the problem. I ordered a salad, just as it was on the menu, except I changed the dressing. When it arrived the protein was wrong. Sent it back. For the next 8-10 min. I got to listen to the chef talk negitively about me and the way I wanted my meal. (I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukekelly80, General Manager at The SandBar and Grill, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your experience at The SandBar was not one of the highlights of your vacation. I will absolutely address the issues that you pointed out. We pride ourselves on being more that you would expect from a hotel restaurant and it sounds like we failed to achieve this... More

little town GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

First off, I have to say, they were busy and I don't think they are used to handling high volume. All workers looked a little stressed. We walked in and the "Host" said "as you can see we are busy, can you grab one of those paper menus? Our server was fine, but the fish and chips platter smelled and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukekelly80, General Manager at The SandBar and Grill, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for providing your feedback even if it is not what we would like to hear. I can assure you that we only use quality seafood. I assume that you caught us this past labor day weekend when we were running at max capacity. I am delighted that the service was good. Sometimes the cod does... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Our "server" was Rachel. However it was another server who really took care of us because Rachel was completely unconcerned with taking care of us, bringing our food out ect. I wanted pickles told Rachel when I ordered yet again another server had to put in the order for pickles. When it was time to pay Rachel shorted me a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukekelly80, General Manager at The SandBar and Grill, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for providing this feedback regarding your service at The SandBar. I will certainly address the quality of service that you experienced. I also appreciate your input about the menu prices not being correct. I have addressed this issue and it is being corrected. We do adjust our prices with the fluctuating market as well as the season... More

Travelers who viewed The SandBar and Grill also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SandBar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing