We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonny's BBQ

$$
American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
30975 Highway 441 South, Commerce, GA 30529 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
706-335-4741
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today...
In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 40 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 7
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Just. Ok

Went here recently and the service was really slow , plus they were out of regular ribs! They offered baby backs instead but they were not as good as their regular ones. It will be awhile before we visit again .

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 5, 2014
Marsha41
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

We usually try to shop and eat at a Sonnys for lunch on our way to Helen. The food is always good and tasty. Their ribs are always cooked to perfection and the pulled pork is fantastic. When I cook at home I only use sonnys sauce. It's not quite as good ad the restaurant but it gets me by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, Rizzo8520. See you again soon! More 

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Love me some BBQ and Sonny's hasn't disappointed me either time I have stopped in. The staff has always been excellent. Place is always crowded so that tells me others must also like it also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, Tommy H. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and we can't wait to see you again! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful service Friendly Staff very good food Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and he joked around with us. I would visit this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, coreydclark. We'll see you again soon! More 

Cold Spring, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Went to Sonny's while we were spending the night in town on the recommendation of our Days Inn Hotel person. I'm not a meat eater (my wife is) but I was told they have the best Macaroni and Cheese. They do! My wife loved her pulled pork sandwich. Service was great. The salad bar was very complete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Brian O. We're glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your meal, and we hope we'll see you again soon! More 

Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Went here recently and the service was really slow , plus they were out of regular ribs! They offered baby backs instead but they were not as good as their regular ones. It will be awhile before we visit again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear this happened, Marsha41. Please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details from your experience, your contact information, and the location you were at so we can try to make things better. More 

Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

they actually didn't have any pulled pork, they blamed it on the football game letting out earlier than expected but it wasn't even busy in the store and it was approximately 6:45pm when we arrived. Other than that it was average for sonny's. Server seemed slow, saw more of the other server on our isle, Julia was our server on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you may not have had the best experience with us, Tammy W. We'd like to hear more about how we can make your next visit better - please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with more details from your experience, your contact information, and the location you were at. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I just had the worst meal ever. Food took awhile and when delivered to table it was cold. And the bread and fries were not just cold but also hard. When you spend $10 for a dinner you expect better service and quality than fast food. Meal was so bad I most likely will never darken door of Somny's again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Bamagritsgirl79. Please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, along with your contact information and the location you were at. We do appreciate your feedback, and we’d like to make sure your next visit is better. More 

Sautee, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We go there at least (1) per month to take care of business and most of the time we eat at Sonny's for our main meal. I had seen their ad for the Chicken Wings and so I ordered thru our server Ashtyn and my Wife ordered the smoked turkey (lunch menu) and we were promptly served. Our surprise since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, Von K! We're glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your meals. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we can't wait to see you at your next visit! More 

Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

#1 This place is way outdated. #2 When I ordered I gave instructions on how I wanted my wings prepared (not fatty, double fried) after 20 minutes what do they bring? Fatty wings. The waitress is clueless and has ZERO people skills. Another table sitting in front of us complained to her also about their food being messed up. Now,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

bostickgirl24 - We're sorry to hear our wings and customer service didn't meet your expectations at your last visit. Please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with details from your experience so we can look further into the situation and try to make things better. Also, please include your contact information and the location you were at for your visit. We appreciate you taking... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

He service we received we rediculous! A bunch of grown women talking out in the open about things not appropriate for work conversation. Grow up people and do your job! Do not act like an animal and make goat sounds for the whole restaurant to hear. Don't talk about how you signed yourself out of the loony bin and you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Akpruitt, thanks for the review. We're so sorry to hear that your service was not exceptional. We highly appreciate your feedback and always look for ways we can improve. Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, including the location you visited, so that we can address the issues with management. We hope that you can give us a... More 

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 30975 Highway 441 South, Commerce, GA 30529 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Commerce
  • Phone Number: 706-335-4741

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 20
  • Cuisine: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sonny's BBQ staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?