We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe de France

526 S Park Ave, Winter Park, FL 32789-4322
407-647-1869
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #39 of 263 restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Cafe de France opened its doors to Park Avenue in July 1982. Since then it has always been owned and operated by French natives, following the pattern of many little restaurants in Europe. Cafe de France takes pride in serving the freshest ingredients brought in daily. All dishes are freshly prepared on premises. Our specials change everyday, according to market availability. Full bar and wine cuvinet We hope you'll enjoy your dining experience in our quaint restaurant, and we look forward to your future visit. OPEN FOR LUNCH AND DINNER, TUESDAY THRU SATURDAY! Open for lunch. Sunday from 11:30am to 2:30pm Bon Appetit!
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    36
    7
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Rain falling, watching people walk by on Park Avenue. My server, Gabriel, recommended and I agreed. Enjoyed cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic. And I savored every bite of my filet hamburger on baguette with rugula salad. A hint of bacon, blue cheese and a hint of fig. The combination of flavors was incredible. I was not disappointed! Gabriel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Don't waste your time or money here! The owner is so rude to customers. There are far better French restaurants around town. Will never be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
dgutierrez5, Owner at Cafe de France, responded to this review

Hello Mr. T. In our defense, it might be good to know for all the good people reading Tripadvisor, that you ate your dinner, had your drinks and proceeded to give us a gift certificate which had been reported to us "lost or stolen" by the person who actually bought it. We tried to explain as politely as possible, but... More

Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went for the monthly dinner and wine tasting and were excited when our table mates (we were seated family style which turned out to be quite fun) spoke of past delicacies enjoyed here. Just reading the menu (calamari in lemon zest and saffron cream, baked ratatouille topped with quail egg, confit de canard and house made honey and lavender... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dgutierrez5, Owner at Cafe de France, responded to this review

Sir, We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. We usually receive good feedback on our monthly wine pairing dinners, and we try to please everyone. We take your comments at heart and will definitely make sure to put them to good use. We change the flavor profiles according to the wines, and sometime fail to please... More

Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant for lunch. The simple decor and white linens are pleasing. We enjoyed a seat in the window. The staff us friendly. We ordered the Coq Au vin with a side of artichoke hearts. When the Coq Au vin arrived it looked great! I then cut into the chicken to find I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dgutierrez5, Owner at Cafe de France, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the server's comment. This is not how we expect our staff to address our clientele. It has been discussed with him, and will NOT happen again! We use only dark meat for our Coq au Vin, it has a more appropriate texture and flavor for this kind of dish. When we stew the chicken, and... More

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had dinner with my wife at café de France and overall it was very good. We had the escargot which had a slightly different presentation, but they were tasty. The beef tartar was very good, the capers gave it a nice taste. For our main course we had the special...Tile fish. It had an almandine sauce with figs. Very good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dgutierrez5, Owner at Cafe de France, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you are taking the time to write such kind words! And thank you very much! We sincerely apologize for the slower pace, it has been a very busy week end indeed, and it proves challenging for our small kitchen. Sometimes we just wish we had enough space in our modestly sized kitchen for one more person!... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a coffee around 630 on a nice Saturday night. Staff was great!! We were in transition to the next place on the list that evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Familiar with the vouchers from other reviews. Other patrons did not read the expiration date on the vouchers and tried to take advantage of the situation. Shame. My wife and I live back and forth from Virginia to Florida. We frequent this establishment every trip to the sunshine state. After 7 years, it is still one of our favorites ANYWHERE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary there and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, cuisine, and service. The romantic ambiance was created by a tasteful and chic decor, great lighting, small and intimate setting, the lovely panorama of Park Avenue! My hubby simply loved the steak tartare and ordered an extra glass of their Reisling. We chose the pork chops and mallard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

While trying to redeem a TravelZoo voucher (a promotion this restaurant signed up for), we were told that the voucher could not be honored this year and we could use it next year but only for the value spent - not the promotion. This is not just inconsiderate, but also quite dishonest - the voucher does not expire until the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dgutierrez5, Owner at Cafe de France, responded to this review

Travelzoo customers had made reservations for the month of December months ago! This is a very busy time of the year for any restaurant, and one of our size gets overwhelmed very easily. We had several buy outs for Holidays parties as well, and are only open 5 days a week. Travelzoo vouchers (coupon) holders who waited till the last... More

Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

In anticipation of returning to France later this month, I bought a Travelocity voucher for this retaurant.We hadn't been there in awhile, and though we live 60 miles away we thought it might be a nice change. It wasn't. Even though I made a reservation, I didn't advise them that I would be using a voucher. When we arrived, on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dgutierrez5, Owner at Cafe de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We understand that you are upset, and rightfully so! We have redeemed plenty Travelzoo since the deal was offered in June, and have very happy customers. The rules of use of the voucher are clearly stated on the voucher itself. We also ask everyone over the phone if a voucher will be use, so we can keep track.... More

Travelers who viewed Cafe de France also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Cafe de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing