We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traditions on the Beach

3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-472-4559
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Casual fine dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Restaurant, bar and lounge with live entertainment and dancing. Serving breakfast, Sunday brunch and dinner.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    170
    72
    29
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening at this Sanibel institution. My husband and I were staying at the Island Inn and decided to save their restaurant for our last night of the trip. It couldn't have been nicer. The bartender and host were very efficient and friendly. Our waiter Rich was very attentive. The food was excellent - lamb chops... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ft' Lauderdale,Fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the great food and service we found at this little hidden gem of a restaurant. Our waiter was charming and extremely helpful in helping us with our dinner selections and all 4 of us enjoyed the evening of live entertainment and great food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed their meal and the entertainment. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon! More

Valrico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had reservations at 7pm and were greeted and seated immediately on July 5. We placed our order and were served an hour and a half later. I ordered the chefs special, Grouper. This fish was anything but grouper. I literally only took one bite of my $33.00 meal. When the waiter asked would I like a box I replied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I apologize that your visit to our restaurant did not meet your standards. I’m very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. I can assure you that we did not replace your Grouper with another type of fish. We do not carry... More

Willow Grove, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from our wedding on Sanibel Island. Our wedding planner recommended Traditions on the Beach and Thistle Lodge so after careful consideration, we chose Traditions because of the Trip Advisor ratings mostly. She made our reservations for us on a Tuesday night after our beach wedding. I heard June is the off season and when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Congratulations on getting married! Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I apologize that your visit to our restaurant did not meet your standards. I’m very sorry that you did not enjoy your drink and meal. Our cuisine is prepared with the finest and freshest local ingredients and is cooked... More

Mid-Atlantic
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We always begin and end our vacations with a tradition by eating twice at Traditions on the Beach. Everything about it is wonderful! The staff takes pride in the restaurant . The food is great. We love the Seafood specials with pasta. The veal is delicious, the fish is perfectly done. The bar is inviting & we love the drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed your meal. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon! More

Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

we were going to go elsewhere for dinner but decided on the advise of Lisa the mgr at beachview cottages to go here instead and glad we did relaxed old style dining at its best great entertainment excellent service...so good we went back a second night and dined light at the bar bartender was friendly and provided us with an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed their meal. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner last night with my wife, we we're surprised with the gentle reception, atention of staff and quality of the food ! We truly recomend and surely will return :) boníssimo !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad you and your wife enjoyed your meal. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon! More

New City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The food and service was excellent. Be aware that (1) they add an 18% gratuity to the bill, even for just 4 people; and (2) if you have a coupon make sure when the bill comes it reflects the coupon discount. Also be aware the wine is somewhat on the expensive side. We were there with another couple on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you nancyhughe95 for taking the time to review your meal with us and for your nice comments about the food and service. I apologize however that you were misinformed about the behavior of management. It is absolutely not our policy to take money from server tips - and we have never done so. The server made a mistake by... More

Peachtree City, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently returned from a stay at Island Inn and had the opportunity to dine at Traditions on four different evenings. The atmosphere was beachfront was warm and inviting, but the service was anything but relaxed. The staff is 5 star, and the food was consistently good with lots of fresh fish options!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I’m so glad your party enjoyed their meal and the entertainment. We hope you can return to Sanibel Island and Traditions on the Beach again soon! More

Santa Fe, NM
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This restaurant is on the beach but doesn't take advantage of the view. It is in a huge banquet-like room so if you are looking for a nice, intimate dining experience this is not the place. The food was decent but not worth the price although the wait staff was very nice and accommodating. We had just ordered our drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TraditionsOnTheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Traditions on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Traditions on the Beach and for leaving a review of your experience. I apologize that your visit to our restaurant did not meet your standards. Traditions on the Beach is one of the few restaurants on Sanibel that has live entertainment nightly and it is a big hit with our customers. All of our performers... More

Travelers who viewed Traditions on the Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast

Been to Traditions on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traditions on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing