We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reef

Certificate of Excellence
$$
American, Bar, Seafood, Eclectic
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
4100 Coastal Hwy, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-1419
904-824-8008
Website
Today
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 554 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 266
    Excellent
  • 138
    Very good
  • 67
    Average
  • 50
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Perfect end to a wonderful trip!

I recently spent a week in Florida with a friend, her granddaughter and my daughter, visiting the beautiful beaches and sampling some great southern seafood! The highlight of our restaurant experience had to be Reef! The views were gorgeous and the food perfection! Our lunch was made all the more... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 17, 2013
coralb311
,
Duluth, Minnesota
Good for:
  • Entertaining clients
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Delicious food, great view, wonderful service--who could ask for more? The seafood risotto was divine. One of our party had the "standard fried shrimp"--he said one of the best he'd ever eaten because of the light batter and flavor. We were a large party of 10, plus an almost one year old, and all were happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for visiting us here at The Reef. We enjoy what we do and glad to see it shows. Warmly, Jeremy Ticehurst General Manager More 

Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We so enjoy Sunday Brunch at The Reef, great views and marvelous selection of food. We particularly like the steamed crab legs, prime rib, shrimp and not forgetting the bottomless champagne! Always a nice family experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate your continued support Warm Regards Jeremy Ticehurst General Manager More 

Valrico, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Food was great. Nice restaurant on the beach . We had outside seating and enjoyed eating oceanfront. Would Recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments, positive feed back is always welcome and serves as motivation to do an even better job More 

Snellville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to the reef for dinner during the week on June 16 - 22nd. The Saffron Mussel appetizer is still great, but the rest of the dinners were not very good. My daughter ordered the black and blue salad and the meat was really fatty. My son ordered the Seafood Trio. It came with 1 scallop and the Mahi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Hello, Let me start by saying thank you for your honesty as without input we are unable to correct any problems that occur. I am sorry for the disappointment with the prime rib salad and the overcooked Mahi...I assure you this will be addressed, as far as the seafood trio we have recently switched to the larger scallops instead of... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The fish special was very expensive and dry. Other food was okay. Service was mediocre but 18% gratuity was added because there were at least 6 people. It's $3 to share a meal. Would not recommended and will not be going back! The only good thing was the atmosphere which was beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

I am very sorry you felt your experience was less than great. If something is not right, I encourage you to bring it to managements attention at the time to give us an opportunity to correct the matter immediately and avoid spoiling the occasion. If you feel your service was inadequate, again please bring it to our attention and we... More 

Chester County, PA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I think this is very appropriately slotted. The guy who led us to our table acted like he was doing us the world's biggest favor. When we mentioned that our chairs were wet from a recent sprinkle, he dropped a towel on the table and walked away. Chris out server, on the other hand, was terrific. Personable, upbeat, and friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, I'm sorry you chose to not stay and let us show you how good we really are. The server who seated you was distressed to hear you were unhappy. Busy as he was, he had noticed you waiting in the lobby for a few minutes so stopped what he was doing to make sure you... More 

Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently spent a week in Florida with a friend, her granddaughter and my daughter, visiting the beautiful beaches and sampling some great southern seafood! The highlight of our restaurant experience had to be Reef! The views were gorgeous and the food perfection! Our lunch was made all the more enjoyable by our waitperson Laura. Her smile was infectious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeremy T, Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Hello, We are so happy to have been part of your wonderful trip to The South. Please remember us next time you are in town. It is our pleasure to have served you. Warmly, Jeremy Ticehurst General Manager More 

Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You can't beat the view at The Reef -- and the food makes your visit pretty memorable too. Although of the the entrees seem a bit steep and a tad overdone for what really is not a formal restaurant, you will find the quality of the food is great. Casual dress is fine -- sadly too many people didn't take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Good Morning, Always nice to hear from our diners. Chef Bob and our staff aim for the ultimate experience. We look forward to your return. Always Jeremy Ticehurst General Manager More 

Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was recently at the Reef and the food was just so delicious. I had the Shrimp & Lobster Risotto and it was the bomb. It was a great place to eat and the view isnt bad either...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind words as we aim to please....We love what we do here at The Reef and are very lucky to have a view to share. Our weekly dinner specials change Fridays as chef Bob is always surprising us with something new. See you again soon Warmly, Jeremy Ticehurst General Manager More 

Canton, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

this place has great atmosphere and excellent food. Beautiful veiw of the ocean while you eat or just sit at the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy T, General Manager at Reef, responded to this review

Good Morning, So glad you enjoyed yourself, we do have live entertainment every Friday and Saturday evening from 6:30-10pm as well as Happy Hours 3-7pm 7 days a week. Hope to see you again soon. Jeremy Ticehurst General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Reef also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4100 Coastal Hwy, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-1419
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Saint Augustine
  • Phone Number: 904-824-8008

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 29
  • Cuisine: American, Bar, Seafood, Eclectic

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Reef and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Reef staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?