We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Back 40 Urban Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
$
Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
40 South Dixie Highway, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904 824 0227
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 535 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 399
    Excellent
  • 107
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Funky little spot with great food!

I had never eaten at The Back 40 until just recently. I always heard great things about it, and finally decided to give it a try. They are located back in a residential area in a funky old house that was built back in the late 1800's.Brightly painted and featuring some beautiful work from a few... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
emcr224
via mobile
Good for:
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

Small neighborhood area, so parking was tricky. Menu limited, but that makes sense due to the size. The salad was yummy, the nachos average. Overall, it just wasn't a satisfying experience for any of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

I had never eaten at The Back 40 until just recently. I always heard great things about it, and finally decided to give it a try. They are located back in a residential area in a funky old house that was built back in the late 1800's.Brightly painted and featuring some beautiful work from a few different local artists, providing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

We thought the food was good, I had the island bowl my husband the back 40 burger. He was hoping for burger but it was meatloaf and too unique for his taste. I guess if you like unique dishes this is the place for you. Prices were decent for the are, portions healthy, just don't expect to get in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We have been wanting to try this place for several years and we finally made it on this trip. It's a bit out of the way, but that's one of the things we like so much about it. My husband got the burrito and I was sure he couldn't finish it. He thought it was so good that he found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I had to do the wet burrito (chicken)!!! Cant go wrong...it was huge, cheap and delicious; its good for 2 people but if youre like me who barely eats the tortilla and rice then its good for one. I also ordered the mud pie whoch was excellent, the brownie was not overly sweet, perfect blend between the brownie and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phisher812, Owner at The Back 40 Urban Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We truly appreciate your business. Thanks Again! More 

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

The food was good at this restaurant. Had the grouper which was excellent and they had a nice kale salad. The service however was poor. Started out when we asked for a table and the hostess took forever as she kept trying to convince another couple the chef could cook for their baby. After that she finally gave us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phisher812, Owner at The Back 40 Urban Cafe, responded to this review

I think you have us confused with another restaurant. We have never served grouper or kale. Thanks, Brian More 

from NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Ate there last night for dinner. Had the Shrimp Curry Salad which was excellent and flavorful. My husband had the Chicken Jerk Tacos. He said they were tasty. We were there in time for Happy Hour, so $1 off of our beer and wine each.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Not having been to St. Augustine in over 50 years and just passing through, I wanted the best bang for my buck. I found it at Back 40. The very unassuming exterior--looks like grandma's house---had me momentarily second guessing my choice, but went inside anyway. The interior is simple and small---sit where you want---and the menu is uncomplicated. We ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

First off the FOOD IS WONDERFUL, no complaints whatsoever. Timely orders and tasty food but we've been a few times and I've held my tongue for long enough. The service is absolutely terrible. The seat yourself arrangement comes off as lazy when your wait staff is standing around chatting about personal issues. Its awkward to meander around looking for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phisher812, Owner at The Back 40 Urban Cafe, responded to this review

I do believe this to be a former disgruntled employee. I sent an email to you calling you out and I did not get a response. If I was wrong I believe you would have told so. Sincerely, Brian More 

Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We visited St. Augustine for Easter Weekend and built the trip solely by Trip Advisor Reviews and this place was spot on. Not sure how long its been in the #3 or within the top ten spot but if it keeps this up , it will always stay on top. The guy that bought this place in 2011, Brian has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Back 40 Urban Cafe also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Back 40 Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 40 South Dixie Highway, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Saint Augustine
  • Phone Number: 904 824 0227

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 11
  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Back 40 Urban Cafe and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Back 40 Urban Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?