We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn

15951 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
239-472-5161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    230
    105
    41
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

We eat breakfast at the Old Captiva house each stay in Captiva. The breakfast buffet always has an array of delicious fresh fruit, breads and the BEST pastries. Their bacon omlet and breakfast sandwich are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Old Captiva House restaurant was a wonderful dining experience from the moment we walked in the door. We arrived about 15 minutes after their Wednesday dinner hours started. The hostess, Mary, from Youngstown, Ohio, greeted us warmly. We asked to see the menu and she briefly described many offerings. When she learned that we are from Cleveland, we chatted about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Poynton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Treated myself to a fine dining experience here at sunset. Good food; attentive staff; worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jason m, General Manager at Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence B Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and I am glad to hear you had a wonderful dinning experience with us at the Captiva House. Please come back and see us again soon. More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were celebrating our friends birthday and were very excited to come here after hearing all of the great reviews. We were quickly let down. We sat for about 10 minutes before we were even greeted by our server. We had brought our own wine which we were aware of the corkage fee...not a problem but our waiter hadn't poured... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

On a good note, we did enjoy the piano player. He did a real nice job. We also enjoyed the sunset from our table. We did decide on the location since they were the #1 ranked Resturant on Captiva by Trip Advisor. However, food was very disappointing. The Grouper was over-cooked. The Tuna was over-salted. The carrots were not even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jason m, General Manager at Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn, responded to this review

Dear JRH68 I am glad to hear you did enjoy our wonderful pianist but I'm sorry our culinary team had missed the mark with your experience. We take your responses very seriously and use them as a tool to improve our guest’s experience. Thank you for your comments and you time. It seems that you have enjoyed our restaurant in... More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We ate breakfast here everyday, for the week we stayed at the Tween Waters Inn. The breakfast menu was limited, but that made it easy to order! Fresh fruit, cereal, and other things included in the breakfast bar. Everything was very good! My sister also had her reception upstairs. The dinner was amazing! Everything looked and tasted delicious! We really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Good food, great fun, good prices! Go to the Crab Races, and see the band on the weekend! We will be back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had 2 great dinners last year, one of them was a special. Food and service were good. We are traveling to Sanibel/Captiva in a few days and plan to have dinner at the Old Captiva House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Food & Service was top notch a few years back, hopefully will still be when we return for our anniversary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My family & I had dinner Wednesday evening at Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn. We travel to Captiva every year, and usually for a special dinner, we go to Sanibel Steak house. But this year we picked off the Trip advisor list and we hit the bulls eye. I had steak tartar as an appetizer, steak salad, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jason m, Manager at Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jim L, Thank you for such a glowing review. We pride ourselves on being consistent in providing our guests with a wonderful dining experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope to see you back again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast

Been to Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Captiva House at 'Tween Waters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing