We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amami

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
224 Espanola Way, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Washington Avenue & Collins Avenue)
Bus lines S, 120, 150 Washington Avenue, Collins Avenue, Lincoln Road
305 397 8577
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: AMAMI through the window

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 411 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 244
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great Little Italian Find

It doesn't look like much from the outside. It was empty, save one table, when we arrived and there was a line up outside by the time we left. I would rate this restaurant closer to 3 and 1/2 stars than 4. The appetizers were excellent. We ordered family style and shared. The buratta and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 6, 2015
TheGentleGourmand
,
Toronto, Canada
Good for:
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I can only review Amami on the food I ordered. We are Vegan and went there based on a review on Happy cow. We went here for a Vegan Pizza,and it was terrible. The upside is the owner did not charge us for it. Would not recommend this place for Vegans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

It doesn't look like much from the outside. It was empty, save one table, when we arrived and there was a line up outside by the time we left. I would rate this restaurant closer to 3 and 1/2 stars than 4. The appetizers were excellent. We ordered family style and shared. The buratta and prosciutto dish and the meatballs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I had really high hopes for this restaurant. I left very disappointed. The bread wasn't very good, the calamari was worse than some chain restaurants I have eaten at, and the seafood ravioli and spaghetti we ordered were both funny tasting and somewhat bland. The food took forever to arrive and it was over 30 minutes after we had finished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Went to eat at Amami with a friend. The location is a bit loudy since it is just along the street. Got some bread before the food which was nice but the food overall was nothing special. Poor seasoning and my mussels were overcooked. For the price you pay you could definetly get better food at another restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We came here whilst staying on SoBe for our honeymoon. We'd had quite an expensive visit, so we were looking for somewhere with a bit more affordability. So.... On arrival, we were asked whether we wanted to be sat in or outside. The restaurant isn't on the nicest street so we opted for inside. The restaurant is fairly small, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AMAMIrestaurantMiami, Proprietario at Amami, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we apologizes for the misunderstanding, but we saw you not comfortable in that table where you were seated so we asked if you liked to move to a better one, more intimate and comfortable. The waiter came to you more then once to make sure that everything was right with you and you say always yes, you say... More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Just had dinner there. Ordered the spaghetti with seafood in tomato sauce. Had them not include the mussels. Got about 8 clams but they all contained only shells, no clams inside. And the shrimp was a combination of 3 fresh un-skinned shrimp and the balance frozen. The calamari was much better. On the clams I think they are reusing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AMAMIrestaurantMiami, Proprietario at Amami, responded to this review

Dear Sir, sometimes i really laugh a lot reading some people review, and I really become aware the great lack of food culture and the lack of respect for people who work hard to give you the best experience in Italian real food. The things that we are re-using the shells it’s one of the most funny things I ever... More 

Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We had a great meal here. The place is small & quiet on a side street but also more affordable than many other places. I had a pizza--it had a thin, cracker-like crust but very tasty. My husband had the gnocci. It was a bit rich for me but we could tell the pasta was home-made. Maybe I was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We were welcomed in drinks ordered and we waited for our dinner. I have to say to this point all was good, food arrived without a smile or word. In general the food was good, the salmon was slightly undercooked but this was sorted immediately, which was good. Then our plates were taken, dropped food, cutlery on one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Based on good trip advisor reviews, we stopped in for a light breakfast; coffee and a croissant. Coffee, as in most places in South Beach, was great. The croissants tasted like they were bought at a run of the mill grocery store. Might be better to reserve this place for Italian fare for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I read the reviews of this place - good and bad. The place was exactly what I expected reading the good reviews and nothing like the bad ones. First, the place is a small restaurant but not tiny or crowded (although that is subjective). The owner greeted us as soon as we walked in as did our server. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Amami also viewed

 

Been to Amami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 224 Espanola Way, Miami Beach, FL 33139
    (Washington Avenue & Collins Avenue)
  • Public Transportation: Bus lines S, 120, 150 Washington Avenue, Collins Avenue, Lincoln Road
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Miami Beach
  • Phone Number: 305 397 8577

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 25 - 50
  • Cuisine: Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Fine Dining
  • Good for: Doing business

Description

AMAMI through the window
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amami staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?