We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island Bistro

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
605 Brickell Key Dr., Miami, FL 33131
Take the Miami Trolley
+1 305-364-5512
Website
Improve this listing
Tuesday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Enjoy classic Continental Bistro cuisine on the beautiful island of...
Enjoy classic Continental Bistro cuisine on the beautiful island of Brickell Key. Located just off downtown Miami, "the Key," as it's called by locals, is a serene getaway from the busy downtown area. Come enjoy a business lunch, glass of wine on our terrace or share a romantic candle lit dinner with the special person in your life. We offer a full bistro menu with over 80 items. Parking is complimentary in the attached Courvoisier garage, just behind the restaurant.
read more
Good for:
Casual Dining

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 19 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 6
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good Enough but please no dessert

The food was very good, I was impressed with the taste of the beef carpaccio and the perfect combination of spices in my cod were simply amazing. The real problem comes with the dessert, go elsewhere

3 of 5 starsReviewed October 26, 2014
Labne
,
Guayaquil
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Just a short stroll from the Mandarin Hotel. Looked like a nice little Bistro. However the service was slow, then got worse when the waiter spilt a whole pint of beer and glass of wine all over my wife - he never really apologised and was slow to clean up the mess. The Manager also did not seem to care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roberto R, Owner at The Island Bistro, responded to this review

Certanly we were sorry for your expirience, but it will be nice if you write your review complete as it happened, , it is truth our waiter had an accident,(it happens), and you were very angry, our manager went immediately to apologize to you, your wife was very upset too, and both of you were using loud language, this happend... More 

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

We booked for an outside table, which was ok, but just a bit grubby. My husband ordered a beer, which wasn't available, ordered something else, wasn't available. Decided on a cert, was available! My sprite, can of, was flat, not chilled, so a poor start. We then went on to order food. We asked if poss to have spaghetti instead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roberto R, Manager at The Island Bistro, responded to this review

Deer customer, I want to start off by apologizing for your experience. The Island Bistro appreciates your feed back.We were in the process of changing the wine list at that time as well as our selection of beers.I'm deeply sorry you had a bad experience, that week just wasn't our week to be honest. I would love to meet you... More 

Guayaquil
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The food was very good, I was impressed with the taste of the beef carpaccio and the perfect combination of spices in my cod were simply amazing. The real problem comes with the dessert, go elsewhere

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
2,072 helpful votes 2,072 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was hoping that this was going to be our "go to" restaurant on Brickell Key. I went in wanting to give this place a high rating, but unfortunately, the experience merited a three star rating (which is generous). The food was just average. Runny and tasteless lasagna. Small portions. The service was equally uninspired. It seemed as if the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We been in this place many times. The service is excellent always with a smile. The food is really nice and very good price. They have a lunch menu which is nice and different every day

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

What a great place to have a nice dinner, secluded in this exclusive and gated community, this nice restaurant offers the best of the French cuisine. I fully recommend indulging yourself in this restaurant for a romantic dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura G, PR at The Island Bistro, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you at the restaurant again soon! Have a great weekend :) Kind regards, The Island Bistro More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We went to the island bistro for the 2 4 1 happy hour and a bite to eat. First,the restaurant was run by two people - A newly hired waitress and an artist. No bussers,no runners,no hostess or a bartender. When seated, I got a kir royal and my boyfriend ordered a dirty martini. Our drinks were made by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura G, PR at The Island Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Nicol, While we strive to always improve and elevate our customers' experiences – we thank you for taking the time to post this review. To clarify a few things for our prospective customers, the “jean clad man” is a very friendly and lively bartender and was merely referring to himself as “not just a bartender, but an artist.” Should... More 

Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Service here is abominable. Now, service in Miami is bad, but The Island Bistro just takes it to a whole new level. We were seated and the hostess was nice as was our waitress at first. The busboy came to give us water and spilled water all over my menu. The menu is made of paper so it began... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura G, Owner at The Island Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Elle, Here at The Island Bistro we take all reviews very seriously and are disappointed to hear about your experience as our service team undergoes rigorous training, which (based on our previous Trip Advisor reviews) is proudly showcased by our positive feedback. In hopes to rectify your experience, we had our team - from service to management and ownership... More 

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our son recently got married in Miami, and The Island Bistro was the perfect choice for brunch the morning after. The management kindly catered to our needs almost to perfection, and our guests had a wonderful time and a superb meal. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
emeraldisle,nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great food, great staff, great times! We ate here twice. Staff remembered us so we were quite impressed with that..easily entertained I guess! Our waiter remember our wines, likes and needs! Great training on the part of management!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Island Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 605 Brickell Key Dr., Miami, FL 33131
  • Public Transportation: Take the Miami Trolley
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Miami
  • Phone Number: +1 305-364-5512

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 32
  • Cuisine: Continental

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining

Description

Enjoy classic Continental Bistro cuisine on the beautiful island of Brickell Key. Located just off downtown Miami, "the Key," as it's called by locals, is a serene getaway from the busy downtown area. Come enjoy a business lunch, glass of wine on our terrace or share a romantic candle lit dinner with the special person in your life. We offer a full bistro menu with over 80 items. Parking is complimentary in the attached Courvoisier garage, just behind the restaurant.
Open Hours
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Island Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?