We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hungry Tarpon

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
77522 Overseas Highway, Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-0535
Website
Today
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Good for:
Families with children
Romance
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 799 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 442
    Excellent
  • 209
    Very good
  • 80
    Average
  • 44
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Just OK

This was my only visit to a seafood restaurant during my five-day stay in the Keys. It was recommended to me by someone who had dined there the evening prior who was also staying at my hotel, and she thought it was great. For me and my parents, it left something to be desired. When we arrived, we... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
Kelli S
,
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Takeout
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

799 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

This was my only visit to a seafood restaurant during my five-day stay in the Keys. It was recommended to me by someone who had dined there the evening prior who was also staying at my hotel, and she thought it was great. For me and my parents, it left something to be desired. When we arrived, we had trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review

Dear Kelli, I am sorry you did not enjoy your first experience at a seafood restaurant. We strive to provide the best customer service and are really disappointed that our staff did not make a great lasting impression. We do try to accommodate the needs to sit near the water, although we have a rotating seating chart. Simply ask to... More 

Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Went for breakfast had eggs Benedict. Hollandaise was cold but food was decent. Good service reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review

I would like to apologize that your sauce on your benny was cold. We would have definitely brought you out another one if the server was told. Knowing that we hope to see you back again in the future to give us another try. Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to leave us a review. More 

Island Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

Had to stop in for breakfast during our visit. We ate inside as we always do because breakfast foods cool off fast and I'd rather be right near the kitchen. We each had the Cowboy, because the steak they serve is the best steak we've e er been served with a steak and egg breakfast. It's a 6 oz NY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review

You're spot on with our steak and eggs being the best in town (I personally think it's the best steak and egg combo in all of Florida). If you have a great breakfast, you're likely to have a great day with a full belly. Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a great review. Next time you... More 

Monticello
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

if you are looking for an off the beaten path type of resturant this will fit the bill. It's located within Robbie's Marina and surrounded by tshirts and souvenir stands. It has a real nice view of the water and all the activities generated by the marina. Our waitress was very attentive and the service was great. My wife had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We've eaten wonderful, memorable meals at rundown, casual places. This is not one of them. The service was very slow and highly inaccurate--there were mistakes on about a quarter of dishes ordered by our table of 8--one dish delivered long after everyone was finished, several dishes ordered only to be told when the plate was served that they were out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review

First and foremost thank you for your business and your feedback. We care deeply about our business and want to ensure the best experience to our customers. We apologize that our kitchen failed to communicate between wait staff and you were unable to receive your Mac and Cheese. Unfortunately our kitchen was overwhelmed with a large private party. To ensure... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Dined at the Hungry Tarpon twice. Really liked the fritters. Also enjoyed the Cuban sandwich and grilled mahi basket. It's a very busy restaurant. Nice view, good service, quality food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We picked up food. Service wasn't friendly. Although we only had to travel 5 minutes everything was cold. Lobster Bisque was clumped. The seafood basket appeared to have been cooked a while. The conch fritters were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and value our customers opinions. We do have heat lamps we keep the food under until it is picked up. I'm am not sure why your food was cold with that being said. We make our Bisque in house and do use real pieces of lobster. Never heard a complain about it being clumpy but i... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Server misunderstood my order (it was loud & I understand why that could happen) but she almost wanted to argue with me that it was my mistake even though the rest of my party agreed on what I said when ordering. Ordered a frozen margarita. It was watery and had an artificial taste. All 3 in our group were unimpressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review

Dear Becky, We value the opinions of our customers and we want to thank your taking the time to review our restaurant. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. Our granita mix for our frozen margaritas is made with real fruit and have been checked to ensure the highest quality. We want you to know that we have addressed... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

we were on our way to Key West looking for a place to grab a bite and came upon this place. smelled great from 100 yards away. simply a great hole-in-the-wall. we sat at the bar and ordered quickly. ended up splitting a cuban sandwich and a salad. the cuban was one of the best i have ever had. friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent visit with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your Cuban sandwich and many vendor booths. We apologize the wait was longer than expected, our food is fresh, and made to order. We hope to see you back again soon! Safe Travels. More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We sat at the bar along the beach. Beautiful view and very entertaining watching the people feed the tarpon from Robbie's. The shimp tacos were fabulous. I recommend getting the shrimp blackened. The fried fish basket was delicious too.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 77522 Overseas Highway, Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Keys  >  Islamorada
  • Phone Number: +1 305-664-0535

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 50
  • Cuisine: American, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hungry Tarpon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?