We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana Key West

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3591 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-6400
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Benihana in Key West, Fl has been a staple in Key West for over 27 years...
Benihana in Key West, Fl has been a staple in Key West for over 27 years! Benihana Key West features the ONLY Oceanfront Sushi Bar in Key West and is completely redesigned for a premier dining experience where every table overlooks the sparkling Atlantic! Be dazzled as our talented chefs prepare the freshest steaks, shrimp, chicken, seafood and traditional meals expertly prepared and cooked to perfection on a steel hibachi grill - by a chef who is as much entertainer as culinary master, right before your eyes. Beverage bar with cafe seating and LCD TV's to catch your favorite sports scores. Private Kimono Room for parties of 15-20 people, we can accommodate parties from 10 to 110 people. Kids Menu also available. Bring a friend, a date, your children, your whole family - anyone who enjoys a delicious, freshly cooked meal with a little fun thrown in. Call Benihana today for the best Steak, Seafood & Sushi!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 327 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 190
    Excellent
  • 65
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Make a reservation!

We didn't make a reservation against my better judgement. It was a Tuesday night, how busy could this place be? What a mess. The hostess told us they will seat us in 20 minutes but we waited an hour! The food was delicious, our waitress was really nice but she was waiting like 3 huge tables all... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 24, 2015
Kisha W
Good for:
  • Scenic view
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Our family decided to try this restaurant since we enjoy Japanese steak houses. We are from NC and have never tried a Benihana. We have been to at least 2 dozen different Japanese steakhouses throughout the Carolina's and Tennessee. This was the "oddest" dining experience we have encountered. The restaurant did not have the usual sauces like any of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Our world famous Chicken Fried Rice is an additional $3.50 and everyone loves it. Your server is supposed to say, "steamed rice comes with your meal, or you can upgrade to our chicken fried rice for $3.50 extra". Sometimes they mention it to some people at the table and think that the rest of the table heard what they said... More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We had a good time. The food was very good and plenty. There is not kids menu so if your kids are young or picky eaters bring them something. we feed our girls before we went and then they had ice cream at the restaurant. The filet mignon was so tender. We loved it! Make sure you call to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. I am glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves. PS: we do have a kids menu. It is red and shaped like the chefs hat and can be worn by children during dinner. It also has puzzles and they can draw on the inside. Hope to serve you again soon. Arigato, Mark H - Owner More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

This place is delicious! Hands down my favorite dish would have to be the Spicy Tofu Steaks with fried rice. I have also tried the hibachi tuna (rare not medium rare) and the vegetable hibachi and all were equally fantastic. I have had just about every type of sushi roll they have to offer and honestly couldn't state which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoy the food and service at Benihana Key West. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you in the future. PS: The hostess you referenced in your comment gave proper notice and is moving away to further her education. Arigato, Mark H - Owner More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

We arrived at the restaurant and immediately got a good table which is big plus. We both ordered a five course dinner. For my husband the food was ok but I found it rather tasteless and oily (I had noodles with seafood. After we had received three courses the waiter brought the bill. Only after complaining did we receive the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

We do charge extra for our Chicken Fried Rice that is cooked by your chef at your table... The gratuity is split between your chef, server, bartender and busboy. We do include 18% gratuity for your convenience on occasion but this may be adjusted by management if you feel less or more is warranted. I hope you will dine with... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

The portions were smaller and then most hibachi restaurants. In the beginning they ask if you want fried or steamed rice, at the end you find out that there is a several dollar charge for fried rice. The chefs show was extremely minimal. The whole restaurant smelled like dirty rags. I do not recommend!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Steamed rice comes with everyone's dinner and Chicken Fried Rice is $3.50 additional. Our Fried Rice is world famous and I hope is was cooked to your liking and our servers are trained to inform you of the up-charge. Will retrain today. Sincerely, Mark H - Owner More 

West Chester, Ohio
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The food was great, the chef was very entertaining, and we had an absolutely fabulous server! I would definitely go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Great food, entertaining chef and fabulous server - you made my day. Our goal is to have every review read this way. Thank you, Mark H - Owner More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

We had a reservation, but still had to wait almost an hour. They were short chefs. We got a guy who did not know what he was doing! Burnt the chicken, onions and squash! He forgot about them and served them last after we where done with meat and rice! He did no tricks, no flaming volcano or tossing shrimp... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your less than pleasurable dining experience at my restaurant. We lost a veteran chef recently and your chef has been training for months and is getting better with each passing day. All of our chefs are wonderful and all started the same way. Your review has prompted a call to more action and we are... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

Food and service were great, had a wonderful evening. Chef was very entertaining, put on a great show.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

That is what we love to hear! Our team works hard to ensure your complete satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to write. Sincerely, Mark H - Owner More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We didn't make a reservation against my better judgement. It was a Tuesday night, how busy could this place be? What a mess. The hostess told us they will seat us in 20 minutes but we waited an hour! The food was delicious, our waitress was really nice but she was waiting like 3 huge tables all at once. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Reservations are highly recommended during our busy summer season. We have a lot of graduation celebrations this time of year and it is our goal to make everyone happy. Thank you for the kind review and we hope to see you again soon. Arigato, Mark H - Owner More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The service was fun at the grill table, but the food was just OK. There are many better places you can eat in Key West!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Food was just ok - I would love to hear what we could have done to make your food more enjoyable. Please understand - your chef is cooking at your table for approx 45 minutes and it is his job to make sure your food is seasoned and prepared to your liking. I hope you will try us again and... More 

Travelers who viewed Benihana Key West also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Benihana Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benihana Key West

Address: 3591 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number: +1 305-294-6400
Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Keys  >  Key West
Open Hours:
Sunday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 18 - 39
Cuisine: Japanese, Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3591 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Keys  >  Key West
  • Phone Number: +1 305-294-6400

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 18 - 39
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions

Description

Benihana in Key West, Fl has been a staple in Key West for over 27 years! Benihana Key West features the ONLY Oceanfront Sushi Bar in Key West and is completely redesigned for a premier dining experience where every table overlooks the sparkling Atlantic! Be dazzled as our talented chefs prepare the freshest steaks, shrimp, chicken, seafood and traditional meals expertly prepared and cooked to perfection on a steel hibachi grill - by a chef who is as much entertainer as culinary master, right before your eyes. Beverage bar with cafe seating and LCD TV's to catch your favorite sports scores. Private Kimono Room for parties of 15-20 people, we can accommodate parties from 10 to 110 people. Kids Menu also available. Bring a friend, a date, your children, your whole family - anyone who enjoys a delicious, freshly cooked meal with a little fun thrown in. Call Benihana today for the best Steak, Seafood & Sushi!
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Benihana Key West and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Benihana Key West staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?