We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shipwreck's Bar and Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
45 Garden Cove Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
+1 305-453-3153
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Description: Key Largo's Hidden Treasure! And the locals would like to keep it that way....
Key Largo's Hidden Treasure! And the locals would like to keep it that way. Shipwrecks is located off the beaten path, on a deep water canal, on the ocean side. Come enjoy great food, good prices, and friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere. Happy hour is everyday 4-6 pm when beer starts at $1. Seating is available inside, outside, or under the tiki. Locals, tourists, bikers, families, divers, and all other friendly people welcome!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 560 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 324
    Excellent
  • 171
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great " dump"

This place is a hidden gem. It is not fancy to say the least. We stopped for lunch. They told us it would be 35 minutes before they would take our order because the kitchen was so busy. We sat outside by the water and had a drink. They eventually took our order which was crab cakes with... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
Theshoper1
,
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went for lunch one day in January. Weather was chilly so we didn't expect the attack of gnats. We sat at a table outside and found swarming gnats and dead ones all over the table. Moved to another table and had the same problem. Moved inside to the porch and the beer was served with a floating gnat. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank italiantraveler2013
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is a hidden gem. It is not fancy to say the least. We stopped for lunch. They told us it would be 35 minutes before they would take our order because the kitchen was so busy. We sat outside by the water and had a drink. They eventually took our order which was crab cakes with coconut onion... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theshoper1
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wait staff does not acknowledge customers immediately. A lot of customers but we Waitied 2 hrs for order cause of lack of organizing tickets. Had to order second set of silverware, first ones dirty. Did give us a free drink at end. We did not want to take up residency at table outside, just wanted a quick lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Raymond D
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thus is a bar strictly for the locals, no signage and a real dump inside and out. Do not, I repeat do not go to the washroom. They are outside of the restaurant and for good reasons - they stink to high heaven and appear to be hosed down once a year whether they need to be or not. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CobourgGuy
Jessi0922, Owner at Shipwreck's Bar and Grill, responded to this review

I normally do not respond to reviews because I believe they represent the opinion of the writer, and their opinion is their right to have. However, I would like to address the untrue statements that you have written as a courtesy for future patrons who may read this and believe what you have written. First, we are known to be... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband had heard about this so we went. It is very small and was very crowded but did manage to get a seat at the bar. Very unique place. They only serve beer and wine but that was fine with us. Had a light dinner and was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This typical Keys style restaurant goes for the ramshackle look and is located by the water at a somewhat out of the way location. Service was pleasant, though a bit delayed and scattered at times. No major problems, there's just a lot going on. The food was fresh though a bit bland, regardless of the style you ordered your fish.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuperCourier
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is an out if the way hidden gem. Conch fritters were fresh, hot and tasty. The Mahi Reuben was the best with a very large portion of black beans. Do not miss this one.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I think this place was made primarily for locals (there is no even sign), but we're got a good advice from a Miami fisherman and came for dinner tonight. Coconut onion rings were fresh and crispy, grilled mahi-mahi was fresh and juicy, and seared sushi-quality tuna was really outstanding! Price was at least 30% less than other local restaurants. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank sihote
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Busy place on Fridays with all-you-can-eat Mahi. If you have a large group, they do not take reservations. Food was good and fresh. Waitress was a little snippy to our party.

Helpful?
Thank Oded C
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

Stopped in on a busy Saturday night, as we were hunting sustenance on the way from Miami to Marathon. The atmosphere was very pleasant, overlooking a narrow canal. They were busy, and service was slow but friendly. The food was the definition of average, nothing really to complain about, but wouldn't get it again either. Two people, 3 drinks, 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank slimjim7

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck's Bar and Grill also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Shipwreck's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 45 Garden Cove Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Keys  >  Key Largo
  • Phone Number: +1 305-453-3153

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 15
  • Cuisine: American, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children

Description

Key Largo's Hidden Treasure! And the locals would like to keep it that way. Shipwrecks is located off the beaten path, on a deep water canal, on the ocean side. Come enjoy great food, good prices, and friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere. Happy hour is everyday 4-6 pm when beer starts at $1. Seating is available inside, outside, or under the tiki. Locals, tourists, bikers, families, divers, and all other friendly people welcome!
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shipwreck's Bar and Grill and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Shipwreck's Bar and Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?