We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill

103 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2448
+1 941-779-1930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are a small family owned and operated restaurant that specializes in fresh seafood, jerk chicken, ribs, fish tacos and some of the best curry and pasta dishes you will ever taste. we sell beer and wine along with our Banana Cabana specialty frozen cocktails and Cabanatinis. We are located across the street from the Gulf of Mexico and have a great beach and sunset view. The weekends offer live music on Fri and Sat from 7-10 and our Sunday Funday open mic from 3-6. Happy hour Mon to Fri from 3-5 $2.50 beers and drinks, $1 dogs / $5 burgers / .50 cent wings. So don't miss out, we take reservations and do take out!
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    109
    58
    21
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

Took a bit to be seated as no one was in resteraunt when I walked in and hostess was outside. Once I was seated though the server was attentive and friendly. I ordered the sampler plate which had grouper bites coconut shrimp and conch fritters they where all a bit over fried but good. The tuna tacos where amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 NEW

My husband and I were staying nearby so we dropped in for lunch. There was only one person at the bar and we were the only patrons in the restaurant. Our order of fried grouper bites, coconut shrimp and conch fritters was left in the fryer too long. It was obvious by looking at it and yet our waitress still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PJ S, Manager at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

First let me apologize, that entire scenario is completely unacceptable. We had 2 chances to serve you a delicious sampler platter and both my employees dropped the ball. Thank you for your feedback so I can fix that asap. In the future use your good judgement when dining out and if it looks wrong send it back. We are so... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Was there recently with the family, the fish tacos were great! Also had the corn fritters and they were yummy. The crab cakes were also very tasty. For dessert we had the fried banana, and that was yummy, we ordered a second. Sad to say the frozen drinks were terrible. The food was great though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PJ S, Manager at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping in and I am glad the food was to your liking. As far as the frozen drinks they can sometimes loose flavor due to all the crushed ice, our drinks on the rocks are much better. More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Service lacks tremendously. Hostess/server was rude and loud.....no class whatsoever. The food is overpriced and tasteless. The salad was not caribbean nor the dressing which was served to me in a broken bottle. For 2 people it was $30 for the lunch without any drinks....we had water. Avoid it at all costs.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

Julia M, I am sorry you did not like our restaurant but I do not appreciate you attacking one of my employees personally just because you did not like her personality. People in our industry work very hard and don't deserve to be treated like that. More

Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We took a sunday drive to ana maria and strange enough the reviews of this place drew us from the sunset. So thankful. the food was authentic and delicious, we felt like we were in the islands. Not to mention the staff was warm and friendly, justlike the islands. We loved us some Long Island Irene! We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
PJ S, Manager at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing the Banana Cabana while you were visiting AMI. We try very hard to cook with Caribbean flavors and run a casual fun place, I am happy that you liked that. Irene is cool, we all like to have fun on the job, its that kind of place More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

3 out of 4 of us had great food! The only meal not enjoyed so much, was the scampi, lovely large prawns but layed ontop of plain spaghetti with a slice of lemon. Lacked flavours for the price. But was still nice. All of the other meals were probably the best meals we've had on our whole trip. Crab cakes,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PJ S, Manager at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We try to put our own spin on many traditional dishes and the Paella is one of them. We are glad you enjoyed it More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a lovely meal here- not what wr expected visually when ordering paella but lovely just the same.Beware it does close around 9pm

Was this review helpful? Yes
PJ S, Manager at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

It's always nice when a real "Foodie" stops in and enjoys our place. Glad you listened to Jim he is an Amazing Chef. More

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stopped in for lunch because the owners of Arts & Eats Cafe (who are amazing foodies) told us this place had great casual beach food. WOW! If you are are tired of Chili's , Applebees, and all that Sysco food service heated up stuff and like great fish and chicken: this is the place for you! We will definitely return.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for coming in and if Jim says its good...it is good, he is one of the finest chef's in the area Arts and Eats is the highest rated restaurant in Bradenton. I appreciate the kind words from you and the recommendation from him. More

Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Tried out this place on a Thursday. It is a nice little laid back place with a lot of art to look at and my 5 yr old daughter enjoyed checking it out. Tina was our server and the bartender as it was about 2pm when we came in. I had a grilled grouper salad, hubby had a crabcake sandwich... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PJ S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our little island place...we like the laid back style and relaxed atmosphere. More

Northport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We miss you already! we go to Bradenton Beach every year for five days and we always look forward to having fresh and delicious meals. the owners and staff are super cool and friendly. Thank you for a wonderful weekend and we will see you next year..

Was this review helpful? Yes
PJ S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review

Thanks we enjoyed having all the Long Island Ladies all week. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to AMI and hope to see you again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing