We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront

720 Justison Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
302-652-FISH
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 472 restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    59
    72
    28
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

Saw trip advisor rating and decided to give it a try. Not disappointed. They had a wine special $29 / bottle for a pino noir from Oregon. .... the first entree I ordered was a Mahi w crab cake topping. The Mahi tasted like grouper or sea bass and was too thick. It went back to the kitchen but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know we were able to replace the Mahi with something you enjoyed! Hope to see you again soon! Brooke Bennett Big Fish Restaurant Group Management More

Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

First impression started off bad when we tried the dip that was placed on the table when we were seated. OMG it was awful. Tasted like it was something spoiled so we asked the server just in case. Turned out to be pureed smoked tuna fish. Yuck! Moving on - the crab chowder was way over salted. The Arugula salad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, General Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thanks for following up your recent visit with your comments. We use this constructive criticism to strengthen our restaurant so that we can best serve you, our guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed some of our new craft beers. I apologize you did not like the smoked tuna dip we serve free to every guests. It is a... More

Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I went here on a lazy sunday to enjoy some shrimp i was craving. Upon arrival the place seemed kinda sad as if the world forgot about it. The place was empty which i did not expect. I had the wonderful coconut shrimp which was good but also something i could simply make at home or buy at a store.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, General Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your comments. We appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you did not have impeccable service, or that we were not very busy when you arrived. We will work on those things and we always strive to make it feel warm & welcoming even if you may be the only table in the joint. We... More

Atglen PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Spent some time in Wilmington working into the evening and felt like some seafood. Looked at my tripadvisor app and chose Big Fish Grill. Located in a nice part of town, on the river and next to the ballpark. It sits in a row along Joe's Crab Shack and Iron Hill Brewpub. That should have been a big hint that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for offering us some feedback on your most recent visit. All of us at the riverfront location would like to apologize for your situation. We never want our guests to feel rushed & it is part of our mission that that every guests receives the same treatment regardless of when they dine with us. We take these situations... More

Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Technology is now over the top. The Big Fish Grill takes you name and notifies you via a text message to tell you your table is ready. What happens if you don't have a cell or don't use the text capabilities ? They were busy but not overwhelmed on Sunday Eve, Fathers day. We arrived and were told that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, General Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent experience. We appreciate your feedback and always use these situations to train & coach our staff so we can learn from our mistakes I would like to apologize for the way you were treated, and how we miss-handled your quoted wait time. We do offer pagers... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Last month was our first visit to Big Fish. Excellent food & appetizers (Suchi), pleasant staff, attentive bartenders - very welcoming!, clean restaurant; a date night ambiance. The GPS took us "one block over", but we found it. We too are restaurant owners & know what customers want, we highly recommend Big Fish-will tell our family & friends. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to your return! Brooke Bennett Big Fish Restaurant Group Management More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We enjoy dining at the Big Fish and we always went to the one in Rehoboth, so we knew it would be good. We all like the complimentary smoked tuna and crackers for starters. Soups are delicious. Surprised how inexpensive the salads are, I was expecting a small one for the price, but it was a meal in itself. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon! Brooke Bennett Big Fish Restaurant Group Management More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stopped here after a car show in Wilmington and were not disappointed. We arrived between lunch and dinner and were seated immediately. The restaurant was quite busy for that time of day. The waitress gave us the lunch menus, but we requested the dinner menu, no problem. I had the grilled grouper, as good as any I have eaten... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know you and your friends had a great first experience at the Big Fish on the Riverfront! Brooke Bennett Big Fish Restaurant Group Management More

New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Saturday evening and the waiting time was around 45 minutes; the place was packed! Good service and great meal. Sea bass was deliciously savory. Main lobster tail was not 8oz but it was good indeed. Get ready to share the dessert with 3 people as it's big and I mean BIG! Definitely will go back to enjoy fresh seafood!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed everything! Brooke Bennett Big Fish Restaurant Group Management More

Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I always enjoy dining here, never get a meal that's disappointing. If you are a seafood fan this is a great place for a meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon! Brooke Bennett Big Fish Restaurant Group Management More

Been to Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing