We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Claws Seafood House

167 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971 (Formerly Claws Crab House)
3022272529
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 231 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Hours:
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    65
    63
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

The 14 of us were treated to truly Jumbos crabs A little pricey but easy pick'en. The seafood platters were generous and delicious, crab imperial, jumbo shrimp, shrimp with penne. Informal setting and very casual. Everyone enjoyed the fare.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The Jumbo crabs that we've been getting this year have been some of the best we've seen at least in the last couple of years. Last year was a little down in terms of quality of crabs, and we kept our prices nearly the same this year even though the quality... More

Connecicut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have been here before and had to return. We had crabs of course while seated on the porch section of the restaurant. Loved that. Not fancy at all. They put paper on the table and drop your crabs on it and give you lessons on how to open crab and a hammer. A lot of work for your food,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

Glad to see you had a nice experience. A lot of people come down here for a vacation to get away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Although we are busy almost all of the time, we try to keep our rustic, laid back, atmosphere to keep customers happy! Our crabs have been great this summer! Hopefully we... More

Hanover, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

They have a lobster special available from 4-6pm. Pound and half lobster with two sides for $18! It was big and meaty and delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

Thanks for dropping a review! As long as our doors are open for the year, we run the special from 4pm-6pm! Can't beat it! More

Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The food is good. We were disappointed that happy hour only applies at the bar only. Too bad. We would have doubled our bill by sampling the seafood items only offered with happy hour prices. I guess they are trying to get the Dewey crowd and discourage families with kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for writing a review. The Happy hour special is shown as a 21+ promotion at the bar only between 3 and 6pm Mon-Thurs and Fri-Sun 12p-6p. When the off season is in full swing, we do open our walls into the dining room to provide extra space for our customers to enjoy happy hour. During the... More

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Sorry guys but I don't get it? Granted food was acceptable but just can't rave about it. Biggest draw back and reason enough we should have just avoided eating here was the fish smell. Smelled it as soon as we walked in the door and was worse when they brought us our claw crab dip (w stale nachos) and my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave a review. There's no need to apologize. I wanted to let you know that we gladly would've replaced your tortilla chips if we had been notified and would've certainly exchanged your entree if you didn't feel that it was up to your standards. If you do choose to return to Claws, please... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The fresh blackened halibut was wonderful, following an equally superb mussels appetizer. All in a friendly and efficient service manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our first time here and it was recommended by the hotel as a great family seafood restaurant. It did not disappoint and certainly exceeded our expectations. Try to arrive by 6pm for dinner if you don't want to wait too long. It can get really busy after that. The food was absolutely delicious. In fact, some of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

Glad we could provide you with a good experience! Thank you for leaving us a review, and I am glad that you were able to get in. These last 8 weeks of summer are super busy and we are so happy to have you. Thanks again! More

Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Like many of the other reviewers, the four adults in my party had the lobster special. Really reasonably priced for an excellent meal. We had different sides ranging for mashed potatoes to coleslaw to broccoli and all were very good. The non-seafood eaters (teenagers) had chicken dinners and also were pleased. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We try to keep our menu and atmosphere as family friendly as possible. Sometimes it's tough to get the younger people to eat seafood, so we try to have a few nice choices for the people who don't eat it. Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you... More

Delaware
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hubby and I had the lobster special. Served daily from 4-6 p.m., it's just $17.99 for a 1 1/4 lb. lobster and 2 sides. I was especially impressed with the vege of the day. It was a combo of 2 types of squash & broccoli. It was cooked just right, not mushy like lots of restaurants. There are lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review

Glad you had a great time at Claws! The "Sunburnt Margarita" is, as you stated not a margarita because it is made with peach vodka, but it is still offered with the standard fixings of a margarita, just for the people who cant do tequila! It's becoming one of our most popular drinks and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'll... More

Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Our family eats here about twice a year while visiting Rehoboth. It is difficult to find the places to go that provide more than the average meal. This is one of them that delivers. They have a great Lobster special, (though ours were a tad well done), have great salads, excellent fried shrimp, and have some good creative soups of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Claws Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Claws Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claws Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing