We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 136 Westport Restaurants

Sakura Japanese Restaurant

680 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-4520
+1 203-222-0802
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 136 Restaurants in Westport
Hours:
Sun 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Fri 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: Sakura Japanese Restaurant serves high quality, delicious Japanese fare in an exquisite environment. Give us a call and we'll create your ideal dining experience today. At Sakura, you can mold your dining experience to what you want it to be. We offer a variety of food options and rooms to offer you an unforgettable experience. Join us in our hibachi grill room for fresh steak, seafood, and chicken prepared right in front of you in a lively and fun environment. Try our sushi bar which offers an outstanding selection of fresh fish and rolls made to order. We also offer a full menu of traditional Japanese fare like sukiyaki, shabu-shabu and more. We have a number of Tatami private dining rooms for groups of two to groups of up to 14. We also offer a fun, refined bar dining area and a lovely outdoor patio for your enjoyment. Sit back, relax, and enjoy a great night with us. Give us a call to make your reservation today.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The happy hour food at the bar was awful. Very expensive for a small portion. even though the bartender was very friendly and made a good martini.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

While I'm happy you had a good experience with the bartender and enjoyed a nice martini, it's disappointing to hear your food left something to be desired. We always strive to get the highest quality ingredients, so I'd like to think that our food is worth every penny, but I'm sorry that you felt otherwise. I know we're definitely better... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

This restaurant has gone downhill from what it was years ago. We ate in the hibachi area and the chef was less than entertaining. He went thru the motions and finished as fast as he could. I never had a hibachi meal so fast. The food was ok but nothing special. Sakura used to be fun-- now it isn't.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

I'd by lying if I said I wasn't embarrassed to read this review. Hearing that your experiences here seem to have made a complete 180 in terms of fun is really disappointing, and I'm sorry you feel that way. I'd really like to think that your lackluster hibachi experience was an isolated incident and I know I can trust my... More 

Conn.
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

After reading all of the reviews we decided to try Sakura. The end result was a very disappointing experience…we left before ordering an entrée. We will more than likely return with friends in the Habachi side of the house, but we did not like the food on the regular side and it is now firmly on the NDR list. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We go with the kids and enjoy hibachi, traditional and the tatimi rooms. Service is good and they are always attentive to food allergies (nuts...) The food is consistently good and we always enjoy. We've been going to Sakura for years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

So glad we've been able to provide enjoyable experiences for you for years, Barry! I would expect nothing less of my staff, and we are always ready to accommodate you, especially when there is an allergy involved. I'm hoping we can continue to provide great services for more years to come! Thanks, Emily B., Manager More 

Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had dinner here last night with my nephew (5 y/o). He seemed to think it was fine, but he's also not exactly a tough critic. It's definitely a fine spot for younger kids and you certainly get your moneys worth for them (Kids portion seemed to be about the same as the adult portion, just cheaper). For adults, however, it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a popular birthday party spot for younger kids and teens, and that has probably kept Sakura afloat for all these years. The hibachi grill experience is fun for youngsters and adolescents for sure. But the food is mediocre at best and the place is normally crowded and chaotic. The sushi is nothing exceptional and there are multiple good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you felt underwhelmed with your experience. We always want to please the customer -- no matter the age -- so I'm disappointed to know you did not feel treated that way. We should certainly be able to keep up with any amount of people in the restaurant, but I would hope that you would understand how... More 

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Poorly managed, dirty, uneven Diner Review • Apr 10, 2014 Edit There's a joke about this place among the locals--people go every three years to remember why they never go--usually dragged there for kids parties. I have heard stories about everything from worms in sushi to dirty utensils. Definitely avoid this place if anyone in your party has dietary restrictions--there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

First went here 10 plus years ago and did not have a pleasant meal. Poor service, rude receptionist and had to wait for a long time even though we had a reservation. Glad to see nothing has changed in 2014. Probably the same people working there. Can't imagine how the town of Westport puts up with their attitudes, We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I love the food here, they have the best hibachi in Connecticut. The quality of the food and service is far superior to other hibachi establishments. Definitely need a reservation to get into hibachi tables in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Best hibachi in Connecticut? Wow -- what an honor! I'm so happy to hear that you've had such high-quality experiences with us; I would expect nothing less of our food and service. Any time you're looking to fulfill your craving, our doors are always open for you! Thanks so much, Emily B., Manager More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Returning to Sakura with friends for a Teppanyaki evening after 15 years was OK but not the memory we had hoped. It seems like nothing had changed, which include the furnishings that seemed to have absorbed decades of steaming oils. But the idea of preparing Teppanyaki is to excel in cook artistry, but at Sakura they have chosen to leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Address: 680 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-4520
Phone Number: +1 203-222-0802
Location: United States  >  Connecticut (CT)  >  Westport
Open Hours:
Sunday 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Cuisine: Sushi, Japanese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sakura Japanese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?