We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
680 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-4520
+1 203-222-0802
Website
Today
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Fri 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sakura Japanese Restaurant serves high quality, delicious Japanese fare in...
Sakura Japanese Restaurant serves high quality, delicious Japanese fare in an exquisite environment. Give us a call and we'll create your ideal dining experience today. At Sakura, you can mold your dining experience to what you want it to be. We offer a variety of food options and rooms to offer you an unforgettable experience. Join us in our hibachi grill room for fresh steak, seafood, and chicken prepared right in front of you in a lively and fun environment. Try our sushi bar which offers an outstanding selection of fresh fish and rolls made to order. We also offer a full menu of traditional Japanese fare like sukiyaki, shabu-shabu and more. We have a number of Tatami private dining rooms for groups of two to groups of up to 14. We also offer a fun, refined bar dining area and a lovely outdoor patio for your enjoyment. Sit back, relax, and enjoy a great night with us. Give us a call to make your reservation today.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 45 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 16
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
First visit

Taken by our friends as this is one of their favourite places. On our first ever visit to the US, we made our first ever visit to a Japanese restaurant. We ate at the hibachi and really enjoyed the whole experience. The chef made it fun and the food was really good. An experience to remember!

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 22, 2015
Sue W
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Taken by our friends as this is one of their favourite places. On our first ever visit to the US, we made our first ever visit to a Japanese restaurant. We ate at the hibachi and really enjoyed the whole experience. The chef made it fun and the food was really good. An experience to remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Sakura will always be my all time favorite restaurant. It was always a special place that my family went to celebrate Birthdays, graduations, etc.The food and service have always been top notch. There is a great atmosphere. I always enjoyed walking over the little bridge to the restrooms and seeing the birds. I cant' say enough good things about this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Your all time favorite restaurant?! Wow -- I can't begin to tell you how amazing that is to hear! Knowing that we've always been here to host the happy moments in your family's lives is straight up awesome. I certainly hope we'll be lucky enough to count you as a loyal fan of ours for many years to come! Until... More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The one good thing about this noisy, loud, crowded joint is your hibachi chef will have you out the door in an hour! The hibachi tables seat 8, so it's good with a bunch a people you really don't want to talk to much. The food was fresh, service sloppy, nothing special. A waiter splashed cold water on my silk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

While I'm glad that you enjoyed our hibachi, I'm sorry to hear that the rest of your experience left something to be desired, Martha. I sincerely hope you can forgive your server for spilling some water on you -- after all, we are only human, and mistakes can be made from time to time. Overall, I know we're certainly better... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Went for dinner, prices were $10 higher than their lunch menu at 4 PM. Food was not as good as normal. Charged us $2.25 for each soda refill. Ridiculous when they give you a tiny glass. I've noticed the last few times that I have been that the quality of staff and food has gone down. This is not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

As you can imagine it's definitely concerning to hear you feel this way, John. Feedback like this is crucial to our improvement, so I thank you for taking the time, but I'd be lying if I said this wasn't disappointing to read. Know that we'll be taking this feedback to heart, and I'd love nothing more than another chance at... More 

Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The happy hour food at the bar was awful. Very expensive for a small portion. even though the bartender was very friendly and made a good martini.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

While I'm happy you had a good experience with the bartender and enjoyed a nice martini, it's disappointing to hear your food left something to be desired. We always strive to get the highest quality ingredients, so I'd like to think that our food is worth every penny, but I'm sorry that you felt otherwise. I know we're definitely better... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

This restaurant has gone downhill from what it was years ago. We ate in the hibachi area and the chef was less than entertaining. He went thru the motions and finished as fast as he could. I never had a hibachi meal so fast. The food was ok but nothing special. Sakura used to be fun-- now it isn't.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

I'd by lying if I said I wasn't embarrassed to read this review. Hearing that your experiences here seem to have made a complete 180 in terms of fun is really disappointing, and I'm sorry you feel that way. I'd really like to think that your lackluster hibachi experience was an isolated incident and I know I can trust my... More 

Conn.
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

After reading all of the reviews we decided to try Sakura. The end result was a very disappointing experience…we left before ordering an entrée. We will more than likely return with friends in the Habachi side of the house, but we did not like the food on the regular side and it is now firmly on the NDR list. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We go with the kids and enjoy hibachi, traditional and the tatimi rooms. Service is good and they are always attentive to food allergies (nuts...) The food is consistently good and we always enjoy. We've been going to Sakura for years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

So glad we've been able to provide enjoyable experiences for you for years, Barry! I would expect nothing less of my staff, and we are always ready to accommodate you, especially when there is an allergy involved. I'm hoping we can continue to provide great services for more years to come! Thanks, Emily B., Manager More 

Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had dinner here last night with my nephew (5 y/o). He seemed to think it was fine, but he's also not exactly a tough critic. It's definitely a fine spot for younger kids and you certainly get your moneys worth for them (Kids portion seemed to be about the same as the adult portion, just cheaper). For adults, however, it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a popular birthday party spot for younger kids and teens, and that has probably kept Sakura afloat for all these years. The hibachi grill experience is fun for youngsters and adolescents for sure. But the food is mediocre at best and the place is normally crowded and chaotic. The sushi is nothing exceptional and there are multiple good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you felt underwhelmed with your experience. We always want to please the customer -- no matter the age -- so I'm disappointed to know you did not feel treated that way. We should certainly be able to keep up with any amount of people in the restaurant, but I would hope that you would understand how... More 

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 680 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-4520
  • Location: United States  >  Connecticut (CT)  >  Westport
  • Phone Number: +1 203-222-0802

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Japanese, Sushi

Description

Sakura Japanese Restaurant serves high quality, delicious Japanese fare in an exquisite environment. Give us a call and we'll create your ideal dining experience today. At Sakura, you can mold your dining experience to what you want it to be. We offer a variety of food options and rooms to offer you an unforgettable experience. Join us in our hibachi grill room for fresh steak, seafood, and chicken prepared right in front of you in a lively and fun environment. Try our sushi bar which offers an outstanding selection of fresh fish and rolls made to order. We also offer a full menu of traditional Japanese fare like sukiyaki, shabu-shabu and more. We have a number of Tatami private dining rooms for groups of two to groups of up to 14. We also offer a fun, refined bar dining area and a lovely outdoor patio for your enjoyment. Sit back, relax, and enjoy a great night with us. Give us a call to make your reservation today.
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
4:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sakura Japanese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?