We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Brew Pub

225 South Pine Street, Telluride, CO 81435
+1 970-728-5620
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #30 of 63 restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Gastropub, Pasta, Brew Pub, Sandwiches
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Friendliest bar in town! Microbrewery serving delicious American cuisine in a lively atmosphere. Award-Winning Ales, Lagers and Sodas. Hamburgers, Ribs, Wings and Prime Rib are just a few of our specialties. Join us for a beer, an appetizer, lunch or dinner. Awesome outdoor deck. Great for groups, families and a belly up to the bar. See you at Smugglers!
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Friendliest bar in town! Microbrewery serving delicious American cuisine in a lively atmosphere. Award-Winning Ales, Lagers and Sodas. Hamburgers, Ribs, Wings and Prime Rib are just a few of our specialties. Join us for a beer, an appetizer, lunch or dinner. Awesome outdoor deck. Great for groups, families and a belly up to the bar. See you at Smugglers!
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    39
    47
    18
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 NEW

As other reviews have stated the menu and restaurant have been updated. The food was good, I would definitely go back. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered (mostly burgers) and I enjoyed my pasta. We ordered the fried pickles as we are from Texas and it is a regular on menus here, but they do theirs differently with spears, I think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red River, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A very short walk from the Ice House, Smugglers was the place to be, especially after a long drive. We didn't make a reservation, but, after a short wait, we had the friendliest waiter, the best food (wedge salad and ribs) and an Abbey Wheat Bier (so tasty too). I would totally eat/drink there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have always had prompt drink service at the bar. Food comes pretty quickly, depending upon how busy they are, which they are all the time! Our favorites are the pork green chile, burgers, and the fish and chips. They have a huge selection of micro brews. The bartender gives every customer an update on which ones may be out,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I went here about 5 years ago and then again just last week. I remember the food was just OK last time, and it was no better this time. It took a long time to get seated and an even longer time for our food to arrive. I asked the waiter if the fish 'n chips had a heavy beer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
san antonio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

They've gentrified it. New decor, menus, cloth napkins. Very crowded, hot and uncomfortable. Wait staff slow. Menu didn't have expected pub food like last year, and food quality wasn't good. I'd skip it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy V, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Brew Pub, responded to this review

Sorry that you didn't like Smugglers this year, As you say, we have gentrified the pub experience. In a response to customer requests, we have changed our menu to include fresh, house made ingredients.We have less fried foods but still offer the traditional wings, BBQ ribs and hamburgers. We hand-cut fresh potatoes for french fries, house make fried pickles, hand... More

Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Here's the thing, if you read reviews that tell you that the service is terrible and the food not much better, you should expect to get just that. Despite that fact, our group wanted local brews, so we gave it a shot. It took a ridiculous amount of time to get drinks (each round). The food took a long time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy V, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Brew Pub, responded to this review

It is always difficult to respond to such an unhappy customer. We apologize that you didn't care for your Smugglers experience. Although we would like to, it is impossible to please everyone all of the time. TripAdvisor is a blessing and a curse. A consumer can anonymously criticize a restaurant in an attempt to turn away prospective diners. I wish... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great spot. We had a group of 6 and there was a long wait, but it was worth it. The mac and cheese was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We decided to have a burger and all recommendations lead us to Smugglers. We actually sat at the bar which was our choice and the bartender took very good care of us for beers and the house burgers. Really good. This place is great for couples or larger groups and the price is right if you want to take a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place was packed everytime we passed and I read good reviews so we went. The food and beer was great but I have a couple of criticisms otherwsie my rating would have been better: 1. slow service - there are few staff so it takes time to be served, we waited ages for our drinks 2. they charge you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy V, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Brew Pub, responded to this review

Carline, We are glad that you liked your food and beer - once it arrived. You are 100% correct that our service has been less than you deserve. Our kitchen is small and we have struggled to keep up with a very busy season. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We plan on expanding our kitchen this April to keep... More

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I and a group of friends have been coming to Telluride every year for the last 12 years or so. We have always looked forward to a Saturday night meal at Smugglers, usually the ribs or steak or prime rib, along with their very good beers. However, I've been disappointed with the new menu, because these basic choices are gone.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy V, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Brew Pub, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thanks for the compliments. We are glad you enjoyed most of your experience at Smugglers. Although our menu has changed to include some healthier, fresh food choices, we still have a 12 oz NY Strip, a Top Sirloin "Baseball Cut" and a Grilled Rib-Eye Sandwich and numerous burgers as well as Baby Back Ribs and our local-favorite Chicken... More

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Brew Pub also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing