We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1347 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574 (Formerly Gail's Oldies & Goodies) (Spring and Adams)
+1 707-963-3799
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience...
Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Located on Main Street in St. Helena, the historical building features exposed stone walls and an antique bar dating back to the turn of the century. The menu features American classics with a fresh seasonal approach and the wine list offers a diverse selection of wines to complement Chef's creations, with an emphasis on wines from local Napa Valley vintners. In addition to a locally inspired and reasonably priced wine list, Market never charges corkage.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 662 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 431
    Excellent
  • 173
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great food, great service

We came in for a light bite yesterday and loved the ceviche so much we wanted to come back. Unfortunately, it was not on the menu today, but we asked anyway. Despite being busy, the chef said 'of course' so we had a great starter! We had fish and chips for the main course and the batter was very... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 23, 2015
sussex_sometimes
,
West Sussex
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We came in for a light bite yesterday and loved the ceviche so much we wanted to come back. Unfortunately, it was not on the menu today, but we asked anyway. Despite being busy, the chef said 'of course' so we had a great starter! We had fish and chips for the main course and the batter was very light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to serve you the other day. We always accommodate our guests in any way possible. thank you so much for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We had gone to another restaurant the evening before in St Helena and were definitely disappointed. The table, service and food were not what we felt deserving of the fees. We were not sure if that was what was expected in the region, because it was a popular named restaurant. We had reservations for another establishment, but the owners of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at one of the areas other restaurants as I know we all strive for excellence. I am pleased to know that we turned you evening around and that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please come and see us again sometime. More 

Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Very enjoyable evening with friends and family. Excellent service provided a long and relaxing evening. Appetizers were tasty and shareable while entrees were equally tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Cheers! More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Let me start by saying that the service was excellent, no issues there. The food... whole other topic. 1) Oysters, served off-cold even somewhat warm... No Go 2) Wedge Salad.... limp....in the LAND of fresh produce. 3) Lobster Rice Paper Rolls... disappointingly bland 4) Steak Medallions..... Undercooked and uninspiring Check please I love St. Helena and the great locally focused... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate your feedback. I do hope that you will come back and give us another chance soon. Thank you. Have a wonderful weekend. Ernesto, Chef/Owner More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

We were looking for a place to eat something light, the Market was exactly what we wanted! We choose ceviche and lobster roll and they were delicious!!! 😄

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

Two of our most popular dishes! Thank you so much for dining with us and for your sparkling review. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Wow. This restaurant is great. We had the vegetable pasta dish, the swordfish dish and the short ribs. All spectacular! Our server Alfie was amazing. Chelsea, our bartender, made the best Old Fashioned. She was on her game. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass the message along to Alfie and Chelsea. It would be our pleasure to serve you again. See you soon. More 

St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Great local place for a business lunch in St. Helena. Love the fish and chips. Others had the Beer Battered Prawns. Ceaszar Salad with the best Croutons. Great for families with kids. Nice a quiet for a business meeting in an historic building.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

Thank you. We appreciate your endorsement. Monday through Friday we also have a cup of soup/whole sandwich/treat special designed for locals and working folks in a rush for a yummy filling lunch. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

We came upon this lovely restaurant while walking down the Main St. of Napa Valley in St. Helena. The architecture is very appealing, with stone walls rising to the ceiling on both sides and a glass storefront that looks out onto Main St. We had no trouble finding parking right outside the front door. Our server was enthusiastic and helpful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

Thank you so much for dining with us. It is our goal to provide the experience that you described. If you save room for dessert next time please enjoy the butterscotch pudding. More 

Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

A friend and I decided to try this restaurant based on past reviews and we were NOT disappointed. The waitress suggested the Lobster roll appetizer which was fresh and fabulous. I followed up with the short ribs, which were cooked to perfection and the garlic mashed potatoes that came with it were excellent. I wish I'd had room for dessert.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. if you save room for dessert next time try the our butterscotch pudding! More 

Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
228 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

In the heart of St Helena this place is situated on a quaint street with shops and restaurants. Good service and good food. We were in a rush and they accommodated us perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market_StHelena, Owner at Market, responded to this review

Good afternoon! Thank you for dining with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. It would be our pleasure to serve you again. See you soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1347 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574 (Formerly Gail's Oldies & Goodies)
    (Spring and Adams)
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Napa Valley  >  St. Helena
  • Phone Number: +1 707-963-3799

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 50
  • Price Range: $ $ $
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine

Description

Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Located on Main Street in St. Helena, the historical building features exposed stone walls and an antique bar dating back to the turn of the century. The menu features American classics with a fresh seasonal approach and the wine list offers a diverse selection of wines to complement Chef's creations, with an emphasis on wines from local Napa Valley vintners. In addition to a locally inspired and reasonably priced wine list, Market never charges corkage.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Market and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
16 days ago
1 month ago
California
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Market staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?