We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Des Copains

3782 Bohemian Hwy, PO Box 181, Occidental, CA 95465
707-874-2436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
5 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 NEW

We've been to Bistro des Copains a few times and have always found it to be very agreeable. If you want to be transported to a French country bistro instantly, this place does the job. The decor, service, and food all say France, starting with the onion soup and ending with the mousse. But it's not all cliches; the menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 NEW

This is a cozy, eclectic and delicious place to have a meal and enjoy the company of friends. The atmosphere is almost as if you are in the home (albeit a lively home,) of folks you know. It felt to my husband and I almost as if we were in Europe! Very good food. You will not be disappointed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakland, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

The food at this place is SOOOOO good you want to close your eyes while eating. It's a bit expensive so we save it for special occasions. It has a nice ambiance and the servers are friendly and attentive but not ostentatious, We had their cheapest merlot ($8/glass) and it was very good. I was disappointed in my dessert (burned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I liked the menu, so we went for dinner while staying at the Inn at Occidental. The dining room is tight, with tables close together, and comfort was lacking in general. The service was adequate, but the dishes were poorly crafted. I even remarked to the waitress that the chef ought to go back to school. Why?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I am a wine collector and in most restaurants I have been to in the county the service for customer who bring their own wine is not great. I think that in most cases the waiter/waiters do not get the proper tip with customer brought wine. The service was exceptional! The Heirloom tomatoes salad was great, interesting lemon dressing and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The dinner here was very tasty and we really enjoyed it after it was finally served. I had the duck very generous portion and cooked wonderfully with dried and fresh cherries....EXCELLENT! My partner had Braised Beef Shank also very delicious! However the waitress was terrible! Supper slow service and Never came to ask us how our dinner is/was ETC. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PammelJ, Owner at Bistro Des Copains, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for coming to dine at Bistro Des Copains and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased you were happy with your food. I am truly sorry and apologize for the poor service. This is definitely not what we want for our guests. As you didn't indicate when... More

Russian River, Wine Country California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The food was good, but for the price I expected more. I'd heard so much about the place I was looking forward to it. We say outside in a concrete alley. All in all I was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PammelJ, Owner at Bistro Des Copains, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for coming to dine at the Bistro and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed in your meal but without more specifics I can't really respond to your concerns/feedback. What you describe as a concrete alley is not what the vast majority of our guests... More

Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Bistro de Copains now changes its menu seasonally, dropping my favorite mushroom creme brulee and the traditional escorgot. And to make it worse, the beef tartar had no flavorings at all, no worcheshire, no capers or anything else. The scallops were fine but the mushroom base on which it was placed was dry and salty. Please please, go back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PammelJ, Owner at Bistro Des Copains, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming to dine at Bistro Des Copains and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with some parts of your meal. We have had the mushroom crème brulee on the menu for almost 18 months and we decided it was time to do something else... More

New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Dined with four women (5 total) during our "girls' weekend" in Sonoma. All were pleased with menu and meals. Really delicious and laid back. It was a Sunday night and they said short-staffed so it took longer than for food service than would be expected, but we weren't in a big rush. Plus, a very large party had departed immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Visited here twice and the food was very good. Lovely service and accommodated our vegetarian needs. A little bit of european loveliness in downtown Occidental!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Bistro Des Copains also viewed

Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bistro Des Copains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Des Copains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing