We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great American Fish Co

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1185 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2002
+1 805-772-4407
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Great American Fish Company overlooks the Morro Bay Harbor serving...
Great American Fish Company overlooks the Morro Bay Harbor serving Mesquite Broiled Fish and Steaks that we've been famous for since 1980.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Large groups
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 171 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Waste of time and money

The name had us stop, the food and service made it so we will never return. The fish was not fresh we could have made our meal at home and been more satisfied. We had everything from fish, shrimp, scallops and pork sandwiches. The fish and shrimp were ok the scallops very tough and the pork... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed March 2, 2015
ndfam
,
Lakota, North Dakota
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lakota, North Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

The name had us stop, the food and service made it so we will never return. The fish was not fresh we could have made our meal at home and been more satisfied. We had everything from fish, shrimp, scallops and pork sandwiches. The fish and shrimp were ok the scallops very tough and the pork sandwiches unedible. Out waitress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falmouth
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

This is our third season at the Fish Co. We ordered the broiled salmon and it was super: tasty and delicious. Our friends had fish and chips and chowder. Theirs was alright but nothing special. The deserts (key lime pie) wasn't anything to write home about. So choose wisely. The service on the other hand was excellent. We'd go back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FB, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Lovely little rustic restaurant with a great panoramic view. I had some very succulent fresh oysters on the half shell- sweet! I also had a cup of the clam chowder, and my companion has a bread bowl of the chowder as well. Nothing special- very thick, but nice flavor. I asked for half and half to thin it down- not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I'm so happy you gave our place a try and enjoyed the food and view so much! Thanks for the wonderful compliments. I do hope you'll come back to give us another visit after you check out the competition -- I know you'll want to come back here afterward! Best wishes, Jimmy L More 

Hemet, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Had the fish and chips and they were nothing special . Service okay, it was a little chilly inside but the view was breath taking. Don't eat the slaw awful, fish just had no flavor. They were small pieces and just didn't enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

Yikes -- I'm truly sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the slaw and found the fish to be flavorless. That's certainly not the norm for us, and I'm so disappointed that you didn't get to experience our normal high quality food and service. I do hope you'll come back to give us another shot in the future to prove to... More 

Hitchin, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We were a walk-in on Christmas night, so Hobson's choice! We accepted the hour wait, and the place was heaving with friendly people - as you'd expect on Dec 25th. The food was sadly much less memorable. Bashed-out fish with little finesse and less taste. We couldn't complain as we had to eat somewhere but this definitely would not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

This is so disappointing to read, Tony. It's certainly not the norm for us to have fish that lacks taste, so I'm truly sorry that your experience didn't live up to our high standards. I know we're capable of much more than that, so I do hope you'll give us another try the next time you are in town so... More 

grover beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Went last year and had seniors fish&a chips. We're able to get a baked potato instead of fries. Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, Susan! I do hope you'll come back again in the near future so we can show you an even better time. Cheers, Jimmy L More 

West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We loved the fresh seafood selection and the prices. Plus they have a hearty senior menu that won't leave you hungry for under $15. The grilled salmon with rice pilaf and choice of cabbage salad or potato with sour cream and chives is my choice. Hubby had the special of the day, fresh snapper with veggies and potato, a much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I can't thank you enough for the wonderful compliments on our food and atmosphere! It's so great to hear you enjoy coming here so much. I hope you'll come back again soon for some more grilled salmon! Cheers, Jimmy L More 

San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

The family went for dinner to ring in the New Year with deliciousness, and ended up hating every bite. The scallops were completely under cooked, as was the shrimp skewers that we could barely cut with a steak knife. The side dishes were cold and the baked potatoes were old tasting. The lettuce in the salads was old and droopy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

Nothing is more disappointing than losing a loyal customer after so many years of dining with us. I'd like to offer my sincerest apologies for your meal not living up to the high quality dishes you've come to expect from us over the years. It is 100% understandable for you to be upset with us after what was clearly an... More 

Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

The service was quick and at the same time polite. We liked the quality of the food materials as well as the cooking. It is good value for money. While the environment is well groomed and well kept. The location is excellent with a sweeping view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

Amazing views and excellent food? Sounds like a win/win to me, Anna! Thanks for taking the time to share such a wonderful review here -- your feedback means the world to a small business like ours. See you next time! Best, Jimmy L More 

Camarillo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

So many really good fish choices, but the rice is a little salty. Usually plenty of parking. We had salmon with asparagus and bearnaise, and halibut, stuffed with crab and shrimp, and a steak, cooked to perfection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I'm so glad your seafood entrees hit the spot! It sounds like you sampled some of our house favorites, which is great. Next time you come in, be sure to ask your server about more of our sides -- we have a wide variety of choices, and would be happy to find you something more to your liking. Thanks for... More 

Travelers who viewed Great American Fish Co also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Great American Fish Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1185 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2002
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  San Luis Obispo County  >  Morro Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 805-772-4407

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine

Description

Great American Fish Company overlooks the Morro Bay Harbor serving Mesquite Broiled Fish and Steaks that we've been famous for since 1980.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great American Fish Co staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?