We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great American Fish Co

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1185 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2002
+1 805-772-4407
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Great American Fish Company overlooks the Morro Bay Harbor serving...
Great American Fish Company overlooks the Morro Bay Harbor serving Mesquite Broiled Fish and Steaks that we've been famous for since 1980.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Large groups
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 175 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 56
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good place to enjoy the view of the water and seafood

After menu shopping for a while we decided on the Great American Fish Co for dinner. The prices are right in line with the other dinner stops along teh Embarcadero and the choices for kids was good too, a must with a pre-teen. I ordered the Giant Squid, my wife the seared Ahi, and my daughter... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 7, 2015
BBitter
,
Madera, California
credit card Amex Card Member Review
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 credit card Amex Card Member Review

After menu shopping for a while we decided on the Great American Fish Co for dinner. The prices are right in line with the other dinner stops along teh Embarcadero and the choices for kids was good too, a must with a pre-teen. I ordered the Giant Squid, my wife the seared Ahi, and my daughter just had a bowl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I'm so happy that your whole family were able to enjoy your meals here! Thank you so much for letting us know how your visit was. I'm already looking forward to your return! All the best, Travis L, Co-Owner More 

Grand Terrace, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Loved the ocean view. we liked the food. Didn't care much for the servers. My reviews is based on the food and not the service. Fish was cooked perfect and had decent flavor. The baked potato was amazing and a good size. The veggies while okay, couldve been cooked a bit longer tho. Overall, might go back if we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

Thanks for all your wonderful compliments on the food! That said, I'm certainly disappointed if you didn't receive service to match. I do hope you'll give us another chance in the future to give you both the food and service we're capable of providing! All the best, Travis L, Co-Owner More 

Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Went here tonight after an awesome day! Got a table by the window within 5 minutes! The hostess and wait staff were friendly and helpful, the service was great! That being said, I used to say I had never met a clam chowder I didn't like - and now I have. Both my daughter and I had the bowl and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I'm so disappointed to hear our clam chowder didn't live up to your expectations during your visit. That's certainly not the norm for us, and I'm truly sorry you didn't experience the wonderful dish I know we're capable of. I hope the next time you're in the area you'll give us another chance to prove what we can do. Best... More 

Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

My family and friends for years have made the Great American Fish Co a place to have at least on dinner each summer while staying in near by Cayucos. In February we had dinner there, when we entered we were told we had to wait 25 minutes, not a huge request but there were many open tables. We went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

Larry, we take complaints like yours seriously -- which is why we wanted to let you know that we are now in the middle of a service team makeover and are working to hire and create the best team possible. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit, and hope that you will give us another... More 

Lakota, North Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The name had us stop, the food and service made it so we will never return. The fish was not fresh we could have made our meal at home and been more satisfied. We had everything from fish, shrimp, scallops and pork sandwiches. The fish and shrimp were ok the scallops very tough and the pork sandwiches unedible. Out waitress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I'm both surprised and disappointed to read this -- your experience doesn't sound like us at all, and I'm truly sorry if your visit was so poor. That's not the norm for us and you can be sure I'll follow up with my team to see what may have happened during you visit. Please feel free to reach out to... More 

Falmouth
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

This is our third season at the Fish Co. We ordered the broiled salmon and it was super: tasty and delicious. Our friends had fish and chips and chowder. Theirs was alright but nothing special. The deserts (key lime pie) wasn't anything to write home about. So choose wisely. The service on the other hand was excellent. We'd go back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

Thank you for all of this wonderful feedback, Charles! That view really is something, isn't it? We'll keep your feedback about the fish & chips and chowder in mind moving forward so we can continue improving! We're looking forward to your next visit, Jimmy L More 

FB, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Lovely little rustic restaurant with a great panoramic view. I had some very succulent fresh oysters on the half shell- sweet! I also had a cup of the clam chowder, and my companion has a bread bowl of the chowder as well. Nothing special- very thick, but nice flavor. I asked for half and half to thin it down- not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I'm so happy you gave our place a try and enjoyed the food and view so much! Thanks for the wonderful compliments. I do hope you'll come back to give us another visit after you check out the competition -- I know you'll want to come back here afterward! Best wishes, Jimmy L More 

Hemet, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Had the fish and chips and they were nothing special . Service okay, it was a little chilly inside but the view was breath taking. Don't eat the slaw awful, fish just had no flavor. They were small pieces and just didn't enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

Yikes -- I'm truly sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the slaw and found the fish to be flavorless. That's certainly not the norm for us, and I'm so disappointed that you didn't get to experience our normal high quality food and service. I do hope you'll come back to give us another shot in the future to prove to... More 

Hitchin, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We were a walk-in on Christmas night, so Hobson's choice! We accepted the hour wait, and the place was heaving with friendly people - as you'd expect on Dec 25th. The food was sadly much less memorable. Bashed-out fish with little finesse and less taste. We couldn't complain as we had to eat somewhere but this definitely would not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

This is so disappointing to read, Tony. It's certainly not the norm for us to have fish that lacks taste, so I'm truly sorry that your experience didn't live up to our high standards. I know we're capable of much more than that, so I do hope you'll give us another try the next time you are in town so... More 

grover beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Went last year and had seniors fish&a chips. We're able to get a baked potato instead of fries. Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis L, Owner at Great American Fish Co, responded to this review

I couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, Susan! I do hope you'll come back again in the near future so we can show you an even better time. Cheers, Jimmy L More 

Travelers who viewed Great American Fish Co also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Great American Fish Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1185 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2002
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  San Luis Obispo County  >  Morro Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 805-772-4407

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine

Description

Great American Fish Company overlooks the Morro Bay Harbor serving Mesquite Broiled Fish and Steaks that we've been famous for since 1980.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great American Fish Co staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?